At page 82 Applying six-factor test for benefit eligibility determinations26 citing casessubstantially the same test
- 320 Fall River, LLC v. Town of Seekonk, No. 1:25-cv-10171 (D. Mass. Apr. 7, 2026).Id. at 181 & n.3 (first citing Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir. 1992); and then citing Lanioke v. Advisory Comm. of Brainerd Mfg.
- Schuman v. Microchip Tech. Inc., 139 F.4th 1045 (9th Cir. 2025).published (substantially the same test)
- Schuyler v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Canada, No. 1:20-cv-10905 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 7, 2023). See Frommert, 535 F.3d at 122 (reversing the district court’s finding that the ERISA release was unenforceable in part because the defendant “encouraged [the plaintiffs] to consult an attorney”); Finz, 957 F.2d at 82 (affirming the distric…
- Bryant v. Cmty. Bankshares, Inc., 265 F. Supp. 3d 1307 (M.D. Ala. 2017).publishedFinz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir. 1992) (citation omitted); see also Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 70 F.3d 173, 181, n.3 (1st Cir. 1995) (treating the Second Circuit’s list of factors as “helpful rather than…
- Frommert v. Conkright, 535 F.3d 111 (2d Cir. 2008).published“an individual can waive his or her right to participate in a pension plan governed by ERISA only if his or her waiver ‘is made knowingly and voluntarily”
- Laurenzano v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mass., 191 F. Supp. 2d 223 (D. Mass. 2002).published“We have found helpful in this endeavor a set of six factors identified by the Second Circuit in Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir.1992).” Morais, 167 F.3d at 713.
- Hogan v. E. Enter./Boston Gas, 165 F. Supp. 2d 55 (D. Mass. 2001).published We have found helpful, but not exclusive, a set of six factors identified by the Second Circuit in Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir.1992). [FN4] FN4.
- Reighard v. Limbach Co., 158 F. Supp. 2d 730 (E.D. Va. 2001).publishedSee United Mine Workers v. New River Co., 842 F.2d 734 , 737 (4th Cir.1988); Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 70 F.3d 173, 181 (1st Cir.1995); Rodriguez-Abreu v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 986 F.2d 580, 587 (1st Cir.1993) (holdi…
- Morais v. Cent. Beverage Corp. Union Employees' Supplemental Ret. Plan, 167 F.3d 709 (1st Cir. 1999).published We have found helpful in this endeavor a set of six factors identified by the Second Circuit in Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir. 1992).
- Auslander v. Helfand, 988 F. Supp. 576 (D. Md. 1997).publishedUnited Mine Workers v. New River Co., 842 F.2d 734 ,, 737 (4th Cir.1988); 4 Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 70 F.3d 173, 181 (1st Cir.1995) (citing eases); Rodriguez-Abreu v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 986 F.2d 580, 587 (1st Ci…
Show 9 more citing cases
- Gidel Rivera-Flores v. Bristol-Myers Squibb Caribbean, 112 F.3d 9 (1st Cir. 1997).published We have found helpful, but not exclusive, a set of six factors identified by the Second Circuit in Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir. 1992).4 And yet, a challenge to a release by a person who asserted to the employer that he was…
- Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 70 F.3d 173 (1st Cir. 1995).published See Rodriguez-Abreu, 986 F.2d at 587 ; Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992); Laniok v. Advisory Comm. of the Brainerd Mfg.
- Algie v. RCA Global Commc'ns, Inc., 891 F. Supp. 839 (S.D.N.Y. 1994).published(Pltffs' Exh. 36 at p. 3.) Although at the time plaintiffs were no longer employed by RCAG, and the corporation was claiming that they were no longer participants, their request triggered the administrator's disclosure responsibffities und…
- Peter Schuman v. Microchip Tech. Inc., No. 4:16-cv-05544 (N.D. Cal. Aug. 23, 2023).Relevant factors include: (1) plaintiff’s education and business sophistication; (2) the 1 respective roles of employer and employee in determining the provisions of the waiver; (3) the clarity of the agreement; (4) the time 2 plaintiff ha…
- Craig v. Smith, 597 F. Supp. 2d 814 (S.D. Ind. 2009).publishedSee Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir.1992); Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 70 F.3d at 181 n. 3 (First Circuit treating Second Circuit’s list as helpful rather than conclusive).
- Bendaoud v. Hodgson, 578 F. Supp. 2d 257 (D. Mass. 2008).published See Rodriguez-Abreu v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 986 F.2d 580, 587 (1st Cir.1993) (citing Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir.1992)).
- Rovira v. AT & T, 817 F. Supp. 1062 (S.D.N.Y. 1993).publishedERISA requires that the administrator furnish to each participant and each beneficiary a copy of the summary plan description and a copy of the annual report within a prescribed time period. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1021 (a)(1), 1022(a)(1), 1024(b)(1)…
- Luis E. Rodriguez-Abreu v. Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A., 986 F.2d 580 (1st Cir. 1993).published
- Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 887 F. Supp. 383 (D. Mass. 1995).published
At page 81 Scrutinizing waivers of pension benefits versus contract claims14 citing casesnoting that an individual can waive his right to participate in an ERISA pension plan only if his waiver is knowing and voluntary and that the validity of a waiver of pension benefits is subject to closer scrutiny than his waiver of general contract claims
- Rombeiro v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of Am., 761 F. Supp. 2d 862 (N.D. Cal. 2010).publishedCo., 921 F.2d 160, 162 (8th Cir.1990); Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81-82 (2d Cir.1992); Dist. 29 United Mine Workers of Am. v. New River Co., 842 F.2d 734, 737 (4th Cir.1988); see also Vizcaino v. Microsoft Corp., 120 F.3d 1006, 1012…
- DiVittorio v. HSBC Bank, USA, N.A. ex rel. Ace Sec. Corp. Home Equity Loan Trust (In re DiVittorio), 430 B.R. 26 (Bankr. D. Mass. 2010).publishedId. (citing Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992)). 165 .
- Amara v. Cigna Corp., 534 F. Supp. 2d 288 (D. Conn. 2008).publishedMar. 10, 2006) (alteration omitted) (quoting Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.1992)).
- Frommert v. Conkright, 472 F. Supp. 2d 452 (W.D.N.Y. 2007).published“[t]he validity of an individual’s waiver of pension benefits is subject to closer scrutiny than his or her waiver of general contract claims”
- Unum Life Ins. Co. of Am. v. JANIS CAPPELLO, 278 F. Supp. 2d 228 (D.R.I. 2003).publishedId. at 181 ; Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.1992); Carrabba v. Randalls Food Markets, Inc., 145 F.Supp.2d 763, 771 (N.D.Tex.2000).
- Walker v. Asea Brown Boveri, Inc., 214 F.R.D. 58 (D. Conn. 2003).publishedFinz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992) (citing Laniok v. Advisory Comm. of Brainerd Mfg.
- Hogan v. E. Enter./Boston Gas, 165 F. Supp. 2d 55 (D. Mass. 2001).published We have found helpful, but not exclusive, a set of six factors identified by the Second Circuit in Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 82 (2d Cir.1992). [FN4] FN4.
- Smart v. Gillette Co. Long-Term Disability Plan, 70 F.3d 173 (1st Cir. 1995).published See Rodriguez-Abreu, 986 F.2d at 587 ; Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992); Laniok v. Advisory Comm. of the Brainerd Mfg.
- Daniel J. Sharkey v. Ultramar Energy Ltd., 70 F.3d 226 (2d Cir. 1995).publishedFinz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992); Laniok v. Advisory Committee of Brainerd Mfg.
- Sharkey v. Ultramar Energy Ltd., 70 F.3d 226 (2d Cir. 1995).publishedFinz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 81 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992); Laniok v. Advisory Committee of Brainerd Mfg.
Show 4 more citing cases
- C.R.A. Realty Corp. v. Enron Corp., 842 F. Supp. 88 (S.D.N.Y. 1994).publishedSummary judgment is appropriate if the evidence demonstrates that “there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and [that] the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 25…
- A.I. Trade Fin., Inc. v. Altos Hornos de Vizcaya, S.A., 840 F. Supp. 271 (S.D.N.Y. 1993).publishedSummary judgment is appropriate if the evidence demonstrates that “there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and [that] the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 25…
- Montesano v. Xerox Corp. Ret. Income Guarantee Plan, 117 F. Supp. 2d 147 (D. Conn. 2000).published(noting that an individual can waive his right to participate in an ERISA pension plan only if his waiver is knowing and voluntary and that the validity of a waiver of pension benefits is subject to closer scrutiny than…)
- Kickham Hanley P.C. v. Kodak Ret. Income Plan, 558 F.3d 204 (2d Cir. 2009).published(finding that plaintiff validly waived his pension benefits as part of agreement settling parties’ dispute regarding his ERISA plan coverage)
At page 83 Enforcing waiver of erisa claims when participant knows bargain9 citing casesupholding waiver of ERISA benefits in part because “we conclude that there is no question that [plaintiff] knew that he may have been covered under the plan when he relinquished his benefits
- Martino-Catt v. EI duPont Nemours & Co., 317 F. Supp. 2d 914 (S.D. Iowa 2004).published“may not subsequently assert that he or she is not bound by the settlement because the extent of the fraud was not fully disclosed”
- Patricia Yak v. Bank Brussels Lambert, 252 F.3d 127 (2d Cir. 2001).published(upholding waiver of ERISA benefits in part because “we conclude that there is no question that [plaintiff] knew that he may have been covered under the plan when he relinquished his benefits)
- Nycal Corp. v. INOCO PLC, 988 F. Supp. 296 (S.D.N.Y. 1997).publishedFinz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 83 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992), citing Bellefonte Re Ins.
- Schuyler v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Canada, 150 F.4th 57 (2d Cir. 2025).published(enforcing an ERISA waiver in part because there was not “a great disparity in the education or the bargaining power of the parties” and the plaintiff “knew exactly the bargain he was making)
- Losquadro v. FGH Realty Credit Corp., 959 F. Supp. 152 (E.D.N.Y. 1997).publishedSee Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 83-84 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992).
- J. Gary Dilaura, Individually, & as President of Waterfront Homeowners Ass'n of W. New York James Lewis, Individually, & as Vice President of Waterfront Homeowners Ass'n of W. Ny Barbara Custodi, Individually, & as Sec'y of Waterfront Homeowners Ass'n of W. Ny Richard Rozicki, Individually, & as Treasurer of Waterfront Homeowners Ass'n of W. Ny John Arent Thomas E. Arida Lawrence Barclay Ralph Barker Harry Bd. Patricia A. Boies Richard Bowen Stanley Brzezinski Joseph D. Calato Leonard Cannello Jack Carpenter William Carr Miro Catipovic Howard L. Charlsey Century Club Edgar Cooper Joseph J. Costa Roy Cotton John A. Culbert Walter Czapla John T. Daniels Thomas Deremer William J. Desjardin Ralph Engstron Hugo Filax Forbes Philip Galmabacher Donald Gannon Arthur Gehrman Robert Hackett Robert Hadden James J. Hallett Robert P. Harper Edgar E. Harris John W. Hartman Gladys M. Heinrich John B. Henshaw John Hess Richard M. Hesson William F. Hesson Marcy Hilts Dominic Hofert Sheldon Holland Gary Hunt Violet Iadicicco Stanley W. Jarosz John W. Jaruszawicus John J. Jaruszawicus Dwight Jeeves Robert Jensen David K. Jordan Lawrence C. Jugle Philip Julias James Kearney Walter Kendzia Robert J. Kiedrowski James Kimbrough Gail R. Klementowski Kenneth v. Klementowski Alex Kollwitz Ed Konecki Richard Kraus Steve Kurthy Frank Kustra Richard Leclaire Verna L. Learman Gary Lewis Norman Lichtenthal Daniel Limenfelser Raymond Lippens Jack Livermore Harvey R. Mack Patrick MacKenna Margaret Malican Blue Water Marina Placid Harbor Marina Charles Markarian Robert Marlin James Martin Ronald R. McMamee Daniel J. McMamee Richard P. McBride Paul McCarthy Patrick M. McLaughlin George McMurdo Louise E. Michaels Jack Mikulksky Gustave Milkey Arlene Mille Charles F. Mohr Richard Molnar Jeffrey L. Morgan Richard G. Murray Craig Neville Jim Nicholas Russell Nixon Issac Pack Arthur R. Page Norman Parisi Vincent Peri Edwin Pfohl Robert Phillips Kim Piccirelli Ken Pieri Bohdan Pikas Richard H. Popp William Reagan Elizabeth M. Reszel Thomas Roberts William Robinson John Robinson Richard Rozicki Elmer C. Rumsey Arthur Ruthowski Edward L. Samulski Allan F. Schreiner Barbara C. Shedd Wilfred S. Sherk William J. Simon John R. Simon Thomas Sliwa Dennis Smith Robin Smith Joseph J. Smith Richard Stange Thomas J. Stedman James Stephenson Flora Stone William C. Sundeen Robert F. Swan Dennis Szymanski David Taylor Louis W. Taylor Patrick Tench Douglas Tiebor William E. Tisdale Harry Tolli Donald Tompkins Aldo Urbani Arthur Wade Kenneth F. Wagner Kenneth H. Walczak Robert W. Weaver Loretta L. Weaver Norma Wedlake Elsa Werstine Thaddeus Weselak Tony Wiatr Donald Wilkinson Frank Williams Lasalle Yacht Club, Inc. William Young Angelo Zino, Jr. Waterfront Homeowners Ass'n of W. Ny v. Power Auth. of the State of Ny, 982 F.2d 73 (2d Cir. 1992).publishedSee Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 83 (2d Cir.) (citing Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343 , 350 n. 7, 108 S.Ct. 614 , 619 n. 7, 98 L.Ed.2d 720 (1988)), cert. denied, --- U.S. ----, 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992); Mayer…
- DiLaura v. Power Auth., 982 F.2d 73 (2d Cir. 1992).publishedSee Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 83 (2d Cir.) (citing Carnegie-Mellon Univ. v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343 , 350 n. 7, 108 S.Ct. 614 , 619 n. 7, 98 L.Ed.2d 720 (1988)), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992); Mayer v. O…
- Vermont Mobile Home Owners'ass'n v. Lapierre, 39 F. Supp. 2d 426 (D. Vt. 1997).published
At page 84 Evaluating supplemental jurisdiction over state law claims4 citing caseswhere dismissal of a federal action involves findings related to state claim, court should address state issues
- Valdez v. City of East Hartford, 26 F. Supp. 2d 376 (D. Conn. 1998).published (where dismissal of a federal action involves findings related to state claim, court should address state issues)
- Segreto v. Kirschner, 977 F. Supp. 553 (D. Conn. 1997).published (where dismissal of a federal action involves findings related to state claim, court should address state issues)
- Salu v. Miranda, 830 F. App'x 341 (2d Cir. 2020).unpublished“considering whether judicial economy, convenience, fairness and comity require a different result”
- Rizvi v. Urstadt Biddle Props. Inc., 791 F. App'x 282 (2d Cir. 2020).unpublishedRodriguez v. DeBuono, 175 F.3d 227, 233 (2d Cir. 1999) (holding that whether private right of action can be implied from federal statute is itself sufficient federal question to meet modest requirements for subject matter jurisdiction unde…
holding that plan participant may execute a valid waiver of pension benefits as long as the waiver is made knowingly and voluntarily
- Rhoades v. Casey, 196 F.3d 592 (5th Cir. 1999).published(holding that plan participant may execute a valid waiver of pension benefits as long as the waiver is made knowingly and voluntarily)
- Robert E. Rhoades, Tr. for the Firstbanc Sav. Ass'n Emp. Stock Ownership Plan v. Michael E. Casey, Michael E. Casey, Defendant-Counter Claimant-Appellant v. The Texas Sav. & Loan Dep't Kathy Barnes Vivian Wechie, & the Off. of Thrift Supervision, Defendant-Counter Dir. of the Off. of Thrift Supervision, Us Dep't of the Treasury v. Michael E. Casey, 196 F.3d 592 (1st Cir. 1999).published(holding that plan participant may execute a valid waiver of pension benefits as long as the waiver is made knowingly and voluntarily)
At page 80 District court finding on waiver of pension benefit claims2 citing casesment Fund, and Plan Doe (collectively “defendants”), motion for summary judgment and dismissing the complaint against them. Finz initiated the underlying…
- Yablon v. Stroock & Stroock & Lavan Ret. Plan & Trust, 98 F. App'x 55 (2d Cir. 2004).unpublishedSee Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 80-82 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992).
- Yablon v. Stroock & Stroock & Lavan Ret. Plan & Trust, 93 F. App'x 329 (2d Cir. 2004).unpublishedSee Finz v. Schlesinger, 957 F.2d 78, 80-82 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 822 , 113 S.Ct. 72 , 121 L.Ed.2d 38 (1992).
v.
Stuart A. SCHLESINGER, Julien, Schlesinger and Finz, P.C., Julien and Schlesinger, P.C., Julien and Schlesinger, Stuart A. Schlesinger d/b/a Julien and Schlesinger P.C., the Julien and Schlesinger Employee Retirement Fund, the Julien and Schlesinger P.C. Employees Retirement Trust, and Plan Doe
Plaintiff-appellant Leonard L. Finz appeals from a judgment entered in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York (Kenneth Conboy, Judge), granting defendants-appellees’, Ju-lien, Schlesinger and Finz, P.C., Julien and Schlesinger, P.C., Julien and Schlesinger, Stuart A. Schlesinger d/b/a Julien and Schlesinger P.C., The Julien and Schlesinger P.C. Employees Retirement Trust, The Julien and Schlesinger Employee Retire[*80]ment Fund, and Plan Doe (collectively “defendants”), motion for summary judgment and dismissing the complaint against them. Finz initiated the underlying action against defendants, claiming, among other things, that they unlawfully deprived him of pension benefits in violation of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et seq. (1988) (“ERISA”). Specifically, Finz contended that defendants wrongfully led him to believe that he was not covered by Julien & Schlesinger’s retirement plans and thus fraudulently induced him to sign a waiver releasing them from liability for payments under these plans.
The district court rejected Finz’ argument, concluding that it was clear from Finz’ waiver that he understood he might have been covered by the pension plan, but had nevertheless waived his claims. Thus, the district court found that he could not maintain his action for damages under ERISA. The court also dismissed his common law claims of fraud and conspiracy on this basis.
For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the judgment of the district court.
BACKGROUND
In January 1978, Leonard L. Finz, who was then an acting New York State Supreme Court Justice in Queens County, left the bench and joined the law firm of Julien & Schlesinger, P.C., as a trial attorney. Thereafter, the firm’s name was changed to Julien, Schlesinger & Finz, P.C. According to Finz, he was induced to enter private practice, in part, because he wanted a guaranteed pension. For approximately seven years Finz worked for the firm as a trial attorney.
On April 10, 1984, Finz left the firm and formed a partnership with Michael Wolin, the former managing partner of Julien & Schlesinger. Finz alleges that he left the firm over a conflict with defendants concerning his eligibility for pension benefits.
Subsequently, on May 4, 1984, Finz entered into an agreement with defendants designed to resolve his differences with them amicably and to avoid litigation over any potential claims. The agreement addressed Finz’ claims regarding pension benefits, as well as his rights as to various clients and his allegation that he was entitled to a stock and equity interest in the firm. With regard to Finz’ pension claims, the agreement specifically stated:
[Finz] states that to his knowledge and during or prior to the period of his employment with J & S or J S & F, he was neither issued, nor did he receive any stock interest in the “Julien & Schlesinger Employee Retirement Fund Dated June 11, 1974” or any other pension or profit sharing plan which may have existed or any parties claim to have existed with regard to the firms of J S & F and J & S, which [Finz] claims was in existence during the period of his employment with J S & F and as such is or was entitled to the benefits thereunder provided as a covered employee....
As a consequence of the dispute which exists based upon the claims made by [Finz] and the denials of those claims by [Julien, Schlesinger,] J S & F and J & S as set forth in this paragraph, the afore-named [Julien, Schlesinger,] J S & F and [Finz] hereby resolve, settle and compromise their differences as evidenced by the general releases executed by [Finz] and the remaining parties to this Agreement as consideration therefore, annexed hereto as Appendix “A.”
Agreement 118. Finz was paid $75,000 upon execution of the entire agreement and the general releases annexed to it. Agreement ¶ 11. In the same agreement, Michael Wolin, Finz’ partner, agreed that he did not have any stock ownership interest in the firm or in the firm’s pension plan.
Approximately five years later, in July 1989, Finz discovered a photocopy of a check made out to Michael Wolin dated November 4, 1983 and drawn on the account of “Julien & Schlesinger, P.C. Employees Retirement Fund.” Because Finz assumed that he had been in the same position as Wolin with regard to the firm’s pension plan, Finz once again began to assert that he had been fraudulently deprived of his retirement benefits.
[*81] Accordingly, Finz initiated the underlying action against the defendants, claiming that they had deprived him of pension benefits in violation of ERISA. Additionally, Finz alleged common law fraud and conspiracy. In response, the defendants moved to dismiss the complaint, arguing that the action was barred by the release agreement and by the applicable statute of limitations. The district court found that the releases did not foreclose Finz from bringing the action, since Firiz claimed that he was fraudulently induced to enter the agreement and sign the releases. Additionally, the district court denied the defendants’ motion to dismiss on statute of limitations grounds, concluding that it could not rule on this claim until discovery was conducted. Thus, the district court entered an order denying defendants’ motion.
Subsequently, the defendants moved for reconsideration of the court’s order and the district court granted the motion. On reconsideration, the district court found that when he executed the release, Finz was of the belief that he was covered under the firm’s plan. Nevertheless, he executed the release in return for substantial consideration. Thus, the district court found that because Finz did not enter into the agreement as a result of defendants’ representations, he could not now argue that his waiver was negated by his discovery that he probably had been entitled to plan benefits. The court also found that Finz’ common law fraud and conspiracy claims were meritless. Consequently, the court granted the defendants’ motion for summary judgment and dismissed the complaint.
This appeal followed.
DISCUSSION
In reviewing a district court’s grant of summary judgment, we consider whether the court below properly concluded that there existed “no genuine issue as to any material fact” and that the prevailing party was “entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 250, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2511, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). We review the district court’s decision de novo. See P.C. v. McLaughlin, 913 F.2d 1033, 1040 (2d Cir.1990).
Here, the district court determined that based on the language of the agreement, as well as the circumstances surrounding its execution, Finz had knowingly relinquished all potential ERISA claims. Essentially, the district court reasoned that the language of the agreement, stating that Finz waived all interest in employee pension funds that he “claim[ed] w[ere] in existence during the period of his employment with [defendants],” clearly indicated that at the time he signed the agreement Finz believed that he was entitled to a pension despite defendants’ representations to the contrary. Thus, the district court concluded that Finz’ subsequent discovery of information confirming his belief that he had been covered by the pension plan did not vitiate his waiver. We agree.
Initially, we note that defendants invite us to analyze the validity of Finz’ waiver of pension benefits using a traditional contract analysis. Defendants claim that because Finz’ waiver of pension plan benefits was a part of a general settlement and release agreement signed after the parties had already ended their relationship, we should apply general contract principles to determine the waiver’s effectiveness. We, like the district court, decline defendants’ invitation.
The validity of an individual’s waiver of pension benefits is subject to closer scrutiny than his or her waiver of general contract claims. See Laniok v. Advisory Comm. of Brainerd Mfg. Co. Pension Plan, 935 F.2d 1360, 1365 (2d Cir.1991). Because individuals waiving pension benefits claims “are relinquishing [rights] that ERISA indicates a strong congressional purpose of preserving,” id. at 1367, we have required close inspection of the totality of circumstances surrounding a waiver of ERISA benefits. See id; see also Leavitt v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Co., 921 F.2d 160, 162 (8th Cir.1990). Thus, we cannot conclude that merely because a pension benefit waiver is embedded within a larger agreement concluded after employ[*82]ment has ceased, we should review its validity under a standard that is any less strict.
We recently held in Laniok that an individual can waive his or her right to participate in a pension plan governed by ERISA only if his or her waiver “is made knowingly and voluntarily.” Laniok, 935 F.2d at 1365. In that case, we reviewed a district court’s determination that no disputed issue of fact existed as to whether a tool and die worker, who had signed a waiver of pension benefits prior to joining a company, had effectively waived any right he had to a pension. We noted six factors that may be examined to determine whether a plaintiff who waives benefits covered under ERISA acted knowingly and voluntarily:
1) the plaintiff’s education and business experience, 2) the amount of time the plaintiff had possession of or access to the agreement before signing it, 3) the role of plaintiff in deciding the terms of the agreement, 4) the clarity of the agreement, 5) whether the plaintiff was represented by or consulted with an attorney, [as well as whether an employer encouraged the employee to consult an attorney and whether the employee had a fair opportunity to do so] and 6) whether the consideration given in exchange for the waiver exceeds employee benefits to which the employee was already entitled by contract or law.
Id. at 1368 (quoting Bormann v. AT & T Communications, Inc., 875 F.2d 399, 403 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 924, 110 S.Ct. 292, 107 L.Ed.2d 272 (1989)). We recognized, however, that this list of factors was not exhaustive and that “the circumstances to which these factors apply will differ if the waiver at issue is agreed to by a prospective employee rather than a current employee.” Id.
In this case, the district court, which issued its judgment prior to our decision in Laniok, considered essentially these factors and concluded that Finz’ waiver was knowing and voluntary. The district court found that Finz, a former New York State Supreme Court Justice, was well-educated, understood the terms of the agreement, had ample opportunity to consider the agreement and was given substantial consideration—i.e., some fraction of $75,-000—to' execute the waivers at issue. Moreover, the district court noted that the releases were negotiated at arms length and that there was no indication that Finz was denied the opportunity to consult with an attorney about his rights under ERISA. With regard to the completeness and accuracy of defendants’ disclosure, the court concluded that Finz was fully aware of his claim against the plan. In sum, the district court found that Finz’ waiver was valid.
Finz challenges this conclusion, however, contending that his waiver could not have been “knowingly” made, because defendants failed to inform him of the terms of the plan. In essence, Finz claims that the defendants’ alleged failure to provide him with plan documents violated ERISA and voided his waiver. We disagree.
It is well-established that the trustees of a pension plan have an obligation to provide plan participants with summary plan descriptions upon request. See 29 U.S.C. § 1132(c); see also 29 U.S.C. § 1104. The question arises, however, whether this obligation extends to a “potential plan participant,” i.e., an individual, such as Finz, whose coverage is in doubt. Although ERISA does not speak to this issue directly, we believe that plan trustees have a general obligation to provide potential plan participants who request plan descriptions with adequate information about the plan. Cf. Gaynor v. Ephrata Community Hosp., 690 F.Supp. 373, 379 (E.D.Pa.1988). Because “[t]he primary purpose of [ERISA] is the protection of individual pension rights,” H.R.Rep. No. 533, 93rd Cong., 2d Sess. 1 (1974), reprinted in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4639, it is only logical that a pension plan’s trustees owe at least some duty to a potential plan participant to facilitate the determination of whether he or she has rights under the plan.
Based on the allegations of the complaint, we can surmise that defendants, by repeatedly ignoring Finz’ requests for plan documents, shirked their responsibility.[*83] Nevertheless, the district court concluded that “to the extent Finz was not adequately informed of the details of the ERISA plan, he waived his right to be so informed when [he] enter[ed] into the settlement agreement.” We agree with the district court’s determination that in this case, defendants’ failure to provide Finz with a summary plan description does not nullify his waiver.
Reviewing the circumstances here presented, we conclude that there is no question that Finz knew that he may have been covered under the plan when he relinquished his benefits. Basically, as a result of an impasse between the parties over Finz’ potential plan participation, an agreement was reached such that litigation could be avoided. As is evidenced by the language of the agreement itself, Finz understood that his waiver would settle the parties’ dispute over his coverage under the plan. The agreement states:
As a consequence of the dispute which exists based upon the claims made by [Finz] and the denials of those claims by [Julien, Schlesinger,] J S & F and J & S as set forth in this paragraph, the aforenamed [Julien, Schlesinger,] J S & F and [Finz] hereby resolve, settle and compromise their differences as evidenced by the general releases executed by [Finz] and the remaining parties to this Agreement as consideration therefore, annexed hereto as Appendix “A.”
Agreement ¶ 8 (emphasis added). Indeed, at a related proceeding in 1990, Finz testified that he left the firm as a result of a dispute over his pension benefits, suggesting that he never accepted defendants’ representations and in fact believed that he was covered by the plan. Thus, Finz cannot now claim that the revelation of the check to Wolin — which to his mind confirmed his belief as to his eligibility for plan participation — completely negates his waiver.
As we held in Bellefonte Re Ins. Co. v. Argonaut Ins. Co., 757 F.2d 523, 527 (2d Cir.1985), a plaintiff who has settled a claim involving fraud may not subsequently assert that he or she is not bound by the settlement because the extent of the fraud was not fully disclosed. Although Belle-fonte did not involve an ERISA based claim, we nevertheless believe that it is fully applicable to this situation. Finz, who at all times believed that defendants were misrepresenting his entitlement to benefits, should not be permitted to strike a better bargain at this late date by claiming that he signed the agreement in reliance on defendants’ misrepresentations. Cf. Bormann, 875 F.2d at 404.
We do not intend to suggest that a plan trustee’s failure to turn over requested plan documents to a potential participant could never, in and of itself, nullify a waiver executed by a potential plan participant. Where, for example, application of the Laniok factors indicate that there is a great disparity in the education or the bargaining power of the parties, the plan trustee’s failure to provide a potential participant with requested information could be dispositive. Indeed, we believe that once a potential plan participant demands a summary plan description from a plan trustee, a heavy burden should be placed on the trustee to show whether the information was provided and, if it was not, to give a detailed explanation why it was not furnished. Here, however, defendants’ failure to provide Finz with details of the pension plan is not dispositive, since it is clear that Finz, an astute lawyer, knew exactly the bargain he was making. We therefore agree with the district court’s determination that Finz’ waiver of any claim to benefits under the pension plan is valid, thus depriving him of any ERISAbased cause of action.
Finally, Finz contends that the district court erred by addressing the merits of his pendent state law claims, even though it dismissed his federal cause of action. We disagree. A district court’s decision to retain jurisdiction over a pendent state claim, once it has determined that the underlying federal claim should be dismissed, is reviewed under an abuse of discretion standard. See Carnegie Mellon University v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343, 350 n. 7, 108 S.Ct. 614, 619 n. 7, 98 L.Ed.2d 720 (1988); Mayer v. Oil Field Sys. Corp., 803[*84] F.2d 749, 757 (2d Cir.1986); see also McLearn v. Cowen & Co., 660 F.2d 845, 850 (2d Cir.1981) (Lasker, J., concurring). We review such decisions by considering whether judicial economy, convenience, fairness and comity require a different result. See Carnegie Mellon, 484 U.S. at 350 n. 7, 108 S.Ct. at 619 n. 7.
Here, the district court’s decision on the ERISA cause of action involved findings which related to Finz’ common law claims. It would have thus been inefficient for the district court not to have addressed the merits of the state law issues. Accordingly, we do not believe that the district court abused its discretion in this regard.
CONCLUSION
We have examined all of Finz’ remaining arguments and find them to be without merit. Thus, based on the foregoing, we affirm the judgment of the district court.