THE CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
Act 175 of 1927
769.1j Court ordered fine, costs, or assessments; minimum amounts; definitions.
Sec. 1j.
(1) Beginning October 1, 2003, if the court orders a person convicted of an offense to pay any combination of a fine, costs, or applicable assessments, the court shall order that the person pay costs of not less than the following amount, as applicable:
(a) $68.00, if the defendant is convicted of a felony.
(b) $50.00, if the defendant is convicted of a misdemeanor or ordinance violation.
(2) Of the costs ordered to be paid by a person convicted of an offense, the clerk shall pay to the justice system fund created in section 181 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.181, the applicable amount specified as a minimum cost under subsection (1).
(3) Payment of the minimum state cost is a condition of probation under chapter XI of this act.
(4) If a defendant who is ordered to pay a minimum state cost under subsection (1) posts a cash bond or bail deposit in connection with the case, the court shall order that the minimum state cost be collected out of the bond or deposit as provided in section 15 of chapter V of this act or section 6 or 7 of 1966 PA 257, MCL 780.66 and 780.67.
(5) If a defendant who is ordered to pay a minimum state cost under this section is subject to any combination of fines, costs, restitution, assessments, or payments arising out of the same criminal prosecution, money collected from that person for the payment of fines, costs, restitution, assessments, or other payments shall be allocated as provided in section 22 of chapter XV. A fine imposed for a felony, misdemeanor, or ordinance violation shall not be waived unless costs, other than the minimum cost ordered under subsection (2), are waived.
(6) On the last day of each month, the clerk of the court shall transmit the minimum state cost or portions of minimum state cost collected under this section to the department of treasury for deposit in the justice system fund created in section 181 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.181.
(7) As used in this section:
(a) "Felony" means a violation of a penal law of this state for which the offender may be punished by imprisonment for more than 1 year or an offense expressly designated by law to be a felony.
(b) "Minimum state cost" means the applicable minimum cost to be ordered for a conviction under subsection (1).
History: Add. 2003, Act 70, Eff. Oct. 1, 2003 ;-- Am. 2008, Act 547, Eff. Apr. 1, 2009 ;-- Am. 2011, Act 293, Eff. Apr. 1, 2012
Notes of Decisions
People of Michigan v. Phillip Edward Shenoskey, No. 332735 (Mich. Ct. App. June 8, 2017).
· cites it 7× “1j(1)(a) provides as follows: Beginning October 1, 2003, if the court orders a person convicted of an offense to pay any combination of a fine, costs, or applicable assessments, the court shall order that the person pay costs of not less than the following amount, as applicable:…”
People of Michigan v. Domonic Marquris-Ross Key, No. 368943 (Mich. Ct. App. Sept. 19, 2025).
· cites it 4× “1 Our Michigan Constitution provides, in relevant part, that “[a]ll fines assessed and collected in the several counties, townships and cities for any breach of the penal laws shall be exclusively applied to the support of such public libraries, and county law libraries as…”
People of Michigan v. Preston Philmore Carter, No. 365224 (Mich. Ct. App. May 15, 2025).
· cites it 3× “1j(1)(a), the $130 assessment for crime victim’s rights under MCL 769.1j(1) and MCL 769.1k(1)(a), and the $1,000 in court costs under MCL 769.”
People of Michigan v. Jay Anthony-Carlton Davis, No. 358967 (Mich. Ct. App. July 14, 2022).
· cites it 2× “[t]he court shall impose the minimum state costs as set forth in [MCL 769.1j].” MCL 769.1j(1)(a) provides that if a defendant is convicted of a felony, “the court shall order” the defendant to pay costs of $68.”
People of Michigan v. Shawn Vert, No. 367916 (Mich. Ct. App. May 13, 2026).
· cites it 2× “908, and $68 in state costs, MCL 769.1j(1)(a). This Court has previously held that, even if the $130 crime victim’s rights assessment is a tax, the tax is constitutionally authorized.”
People v. Sanders, 825 N.W.2d 87 (Mich. Ct. App. 2012).
“The “state costs” required under MCL 769.1j(l)(a) if the defendant is convicted of a felony is a minimum of $68, without regard to a finding that those actual costs were incurred in a particular case.”
People of Michigan v. Cavasseaire Tidell Dykes, No. 323944 (Mich. Ct. App. Feb. 23, 2016).
“See MCL 769.1j(1)(a)-(b) (providing that a court may impose minimum state costs of $68 for felony convictions, and $50 for misdemeanors).”
People of Michigan v. Joshua Lee Dufek, No. 349918 (Mich. Ct. App. June 10, 2021).
“” Under MCL 769.1j(1)(a), the court “shall order” that the defendant pay $68 if he is convicted of a felony.”
Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.1j(1): 2 cases
People of Michigan v. Preston Philmore Carter, No. 365224 (Mich. Ct. App. May 15, 2025).
“1j(1)(a), the $130 assessment for crime victim’s rights under MCL 769.1j(1) and MCL 769.1k(1)(a), and the $1,000 in court costs under MCL 769.”
Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.1j(1)(a): 15 cases
People of Michigan v. Phillip Edward Shenoskey, No. 332735 (Mich. Ct. App. June 8, 2017).
“1j(1)(a) provides as follows: Beginning October 1, 2003, if the court orders a person convicted of an offense to pay any combination of a fine, costs, or applicable assessments, the court shall order that the person pay costs of not less than the following amount, as applicable:…”
People of Michigan v. Preston Philmore Carter, No. 365224 (Mich. Ct. App. May 15, 2025).
“1j(1)(a), the $130 assessment for crime victim’s rights under MCL 769.1j(1) and MCL 769.1k(1)(a), and the $1,000 in court costs under MCL 769.”
People of Michigan v. Shawn Vert, No. 367916 (Mich. Ct. App. May 13, 2026).
“908, and $68 in state costs, MCL 769.1j(1)(a). This Court has previously held that, even if the $130 crime victim’s rights assessment is a tax, the tax is constitutionally authorized.”
Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.1j(2): 1 case
People of Michigan v. Domonic Marquris-Ross Key, No. 368943 (Mich. Ct. App. Sept. 19, 2025).
“1 Our Michigan Constitution provides, in relevant part, that “[a]ll fines assessed and collected in the several counties, townships and cities for any breach of the penal laws shall be exclusively applied to the support of such public libraries, and county law libraries as…”
Mich. Comp. Laws § 769.1j(l)(a): 1 case
People v. Sanders, 825 N.W.2d 87 (Mich. Ct. App. 2012).
“The “state costs” required under MCL 769.1j(l)(a) if the defendant is convicted of a felony is a minimum of $68, without regard to a finding that those actual costs were incurred in a particular case.”
Annotations are extracted automatically from the opinions in the
Syfert caselaw corpus and ranked by authority, recency, and
treatment. Dots show Syfertize treatment of the citing case itself.