Call attorney Graham Syfert at 904-383-7448
Personal Injury Lawyer
Florida Statute 493.6404 | Lawyer Caselaw & Research
F.S. 493.6404 Case Law from Google Scholar
Statute is currently reporting as:
Link to State of Florida Official Statute Google Search for Amendments to 493.6404

The 2023 Florida Statutes (including Special Session C)

Chapter 493
View Entire Chapter
F.S. 493.6404
493.6404 Property inventory; vehicle license identification numbers.
(1) If personal effects or other property not covered by a security agreement are contained in or on a recovered vehicle, mobile home, motorboat, aircraft, personal watercraft, all-terrain vehicle, farm equipment, or industrial equipment at the time it is recovered, a complete and accurate inventory shall be made of such personal effects or property. The date and time the inventory is made shall be indicated, and it shall be signed by the Class “E” or Class “EE” licensee who obtained the personal property. The inventory of the personal property and the records regarding any disposal of personal property shall be maintained for a period of 2 years in the permanent records of the licensed agency and shall be made available, upon demand, to an authorized representative of the department engaged in an official investigation.
(2) Within 5 working days after the date of a repossession, the Class “E” or Class “EE” licensee shall give written notification to the debtor of the whereabouts of personal effects or other property inventoried pursuant to this section. At least 45 days prior to disposing of such personal effects or other property, the Class “E” or Class “EE” licensee shall, by United States Postal Service proof of mailing or certified mail, notify the debtor of the intent to dispose of said property. Should the debtor, or her or his lawful designee, appear to retrieve the personal property, prior to the date on which the Class “E” or Class “EE” licensee is allowed to dispose of the property, the licensee shall surrender the personal property to that individual upon payment of any reasonably incurred expenses for inventory and storage. If personal property is not claimed within 45 days of the notice of intent to dispose, the licensee may dispose of the personal property at her or his discretion, except that illegal items or contraband shall be surrendered to a law enforcement agency, and the licensee shall retain a receipt or other proof of surrender as part of the inventory and disposal records she or he maintains.
(3) Vehicles used for the purpose of repossession by a Class “E” or Class “EE” licensee must be identified during repossession by the license number of the Class “R” agency only, local ordinances to the contrary notwithstanding. These vehicles are not “wreckers” as defined in s. 713.78. The license number must be displayed on both sides of the vehicle and must appear in lettering no less than 4 inches tall and in a color contrasting from that of the background.
History.ss. 5, 11, ch. 90-364; s. 4, ch. 91-429; s. 9, ch. 93-49; s. 539, ch. 97-103; s. 11, ch. 97-248; s. 6, ch. 2005-143.

F.S. 493.6404 on Google Scholar

F.S. 493.6404 on Casetext

Amendments to 493.6404

Arrestable Offenses / Crimes under Fla. Stat. 493.6404
Level: Degree
Misdemeanor/Felony: First/Second/Third

Current data shows no reason an arrest or criminal charge should have occurred directly under Florida Statute 493.6404.

Annotations, Discussions, Cases:

Cases from cite.case.law: