Home
Menu
Call attorney Graham Syfert at 904-383-7448
Personal Injury Lawyer
Florida Statute 322 | Lawyer Caselaw & Research
F.S. 322 Case Law from Google Scholar
Statute is currently reporting as:
Link to State of Florida Official Statute Google Search for Amendments to 322

The 2023 Florida Statutes (including Special Session C)

Title XXIII
MOTOR VEHICLES
Chapter 322
DRIVER LICENSES
View Entire Chapter
CHAPTER 322
CHAPTER 322
DRIVER LICENSES
322.01 Definitions.
322.015 Exemption.
322.02 Legislative intent; administration.
322.025 Driver improvement.
322.0255 Florida Motorcycle Safety Education Program.
322.0261 Driver improvement course; requirement to maintain driving privileges; failure to complete; department approval of course.
322.03 Drivers must be licensed; penalties.
322.031 Nonresident; when license required.
322.032 Digital proof of driver license or identification card.
322.033 Unauthorized aliens; invalid out-of-state driver licenses.
322.04 Persons exempt from obtaining driver license.
322.05 Persons not to be licensed.
322.051 Identification cards.
322.0515 Department to forward certain information to federal Selective Service System; notification to applicant for certain license; application statement required.
322.055 Revocation or suspension of, or delay of eligibility for, driver license for persons 18 years of age or older convicted of certain drug offenses.
322.056 Mandatory revocation or suspension of, or delay of eligibility for, driver license for persons under age 18 found guilty of drug offenses; prohibition.
322.058 Suspension of driving privilege due to support delinquency; reinstatement.
322.059 Mandatory surrender of suspended driver license and registration.
322.0602 Youthful Drunk Driver Visitation Program.
322.065 Driver license expired for 6 months or less; penalties.
322.07 Instruction permits and temporary licenses.
322.08 Application for license; requirements for license and identification card forms.
322.081 Requests to establish voluntary checkoff on driver license application.
322.09 Application of minors; responsibility for negligence or misconduct of minor.
322.091 Attendance requirements.
322.095 Traffic law and substance abuse education program for driver license applicants.
322.10 Release from liability.
322.11 Revocation of license upon death of person signing minor’s application.
322.12 Examination of applicants.
322.121 Periodic reexamination of all drivers.
322.125 Medical Advisory Board.
322.126 Report of disability to department; content; use.
322.13 Driver license examiners.
322.135 Driver license agents.
322.14 Licenses issued to drivers.
322.141 Color or markings of certain licenses or identification cards.
322.142 Color photographic or digital imaged licenses.
322.143 Use of a driver license or identification card.
322.15 License to be carried and exhibited on demand; fingerprint to be imprinted upon a citation.
322.16 License restrictions.
322.161 High-risk drivers; restricted licenses.
322.1615 Learner’s driver license.
322.17 Replacement licenses and permits.
322.18 Original applications, licenses, and renewals; expiration of licenses; delinquent licenses.
322.19 Change of address or name.
322.20 Records of the department; fees; destruction of records.
322.201 Records as evidence.
322.202 Admission of evidence obtained from the Division of Motorist Services.
322.21 License fees; procedure for handling and collecting fees.
322.212 Unauthorized possession of, and other unlawful acts in relation to, driver license or identification card.
322.22 Authority of department to cancel or refuse to issue or renew license.
322.221 Department may require reexamination.
322.222 Right to review.
322.23 Suspending privileges of nonresidents and reporting convictions.
322.24 Suspending resident’s license upon conviction in another state.
322.245 Suspension of license upon failure of person charged with specified offense under chapter 316, chapter 320, or this chapter to comply with directives ordered by traffic court or upon failure to pay child support in non-IV-D cases as provided in chapter 61 or failure to pay any financial obligation in any other criminal case.
322.25 When court to forward license to department and report convictions.
322.2505 Court to forward license of person adjudicated incapacitated to department.
322.251 Notice of cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification of license.
322.26 Mandatory revocation of license by department.
322.2615 Suspension of license; right to review.
322.26151 Review of materials submitted by law enforcement officer.
322.2616 Suspension of license; persons under 21 years of age; right to review.
322.263 Legislative intent.
322.264 “Habitual traffic offender” defined.
322.27 Authority of department to suspend or revoke driver license or identification card.
322.271 Authority to modify revocation, cancellation, or suspension order.
322.2715 Ignition interlock device.
322.272 Supersedeas.
322.273 Penalty.
322.274 Automatic revocation of driver license.
322.276 Out-of-state sanctions; issuance of license.
322.28 Period of suspension or revocation.
322.282 Procedure when court revokes or suspends license or driving privilege and orders reinstatement.
322.283 Commencement of period of suspension or revocation for incarcerated offenders.
322.29 Surrender and return of license.
322.291 Driver improvement schools or DUI programs; required in certain suspension and revocation cases.
322.292 DUI programs supervision; powers and duties of the department.
322.293 DUI programs; assessment; disposition.
322.30 No operation under foreign license during suspension, revocation, or disqualification in this state.
322.31 Right of review.
322.32 Unlawful use of license.
322.33 Making false affidavit perjury.
322.34 Driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified.
322.341 Driving while license permanently revoked.
322.35 Permitting unauthorized minor to drive.
322.36 Permitting unauthorized operator to drive.
322.37 Employing unlicensed driver.
322.38 Renting motor vehicle to another.
322.39 Penalties.
322.391 Failure of person charged with misdemeanor under this chapter to comply with court-ordered directives; suspension of license.
322.41 Local issuance of driver licenses prohibited.
322.42 Construction of chapter.
322.43 Short title.
322.44 Driver License Compact.
322.45 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles; duty.
322.46 Compact administrator.
322.47 Executive head defined.
322.48 Review of employee’s acts.
322.49 Short title.
322.50 Nonresident Violator Compact.
322.51 Short title.
322.52 Conflict with other laws.
322.53 License required; exemptions.
322.54 Classification.
322.56 Contracts for administration of driver license examination.
322.57 Tests of knowledge concerning specified vehicles; endorsement; nonresidents; violations.
322.59 Possession of medical examiner’s certificate.
322.61 Disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle.
322.62 Driving under the influence; commercial motor vehicle operators.
322.63 Alcohol or drug testing; commercial motor vehicle operators.
322.64 Holder of commercial driver license; persons operating a commercial motor vehicle; driving with unlawful blood-alcohol level; refusal to submit to breath, urine, or blood test.
322.65 Driver license record exchange.
322.66 Vehicles permitted to be driven during driving skills tests.
322.70 Transactions by electronic or telephonic means.
322.71 Investigations; examinations; proceedings; subpoenas and other process; witnesses; oaths; rules.
322.75 Driver License Reinstatement Days.
322.01 Definitions.As used in this chapter:
(1) “Actual weight” means the weight of a motor vehicle or motor vehicle combination plus the weight of the load carried on it, as determined at a fixed scale operated by the state or as determined by use of a portable scale operated by a law enforcement officer.
(2) “Alcohol” means any substance containing any form of alcohol including, but not limited to, ethanol, methanol, propanol, and isopropanol.
(3) “Alcohol concentration” means:
(a) The number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood;
(b) The number of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath; or
(c) The number of grams of alcohol per 67 milliliters of urine.
(4) “Authorized emergency vehicle” means a vehicle that is equipped with extraordinary audible and visual warning devices, that is authorized by s. 316.2397 to display red, red and white, or blue lights, and that is on call to respond to emergencies. The term includes, but is not limited to, ambulances, law enforcement vehicles, fire trucks, and other rescue vehicles. The term does not include wreckers, utility trucks, or other vehicles that are used only incidentally for emergency purposes.
(5) “Cancellation” means the act of declaring a driver license void and terminated.
(6) “Color photographic driver license” means a color photograph of a completed driver license form meeting the requirements prescribed in s. 322.14.
(7) “Commercial driver license” means a Class A, Class B, or Class C driver license issued in accordance with the requirements of this chapter.
(8) “Commercial motor vehicle” means any motor vehicle or motor vehicle combination used on the streets or highways, which:
(a) Has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more;
(b) Is designed to transport more than 15 persons, including the driver; or
(c) Is transporting hazardous materials and is required to be placarded in accordance with 49 C.F.R. part 172, subpart F.

A vehicle that occasionally transports personal property to and from a closed-course motorsport facility, as defined in s. 549.09(1)(a), is not a commercial motor vehicle if the use is not for profit and corporate sponsorship is not involved. As used in this subsection, the term “corporate sponsorship” means a payment, donation, gratuity, in-kind service, or other benefit provided to or derived by a person in relation to the underlying activity, other than the display of product or corporate names, logos, or other graphic information on the property being transported.

(9) “Controlled substance” means any substance classified as such under 21 U.S.C. s. 802(6), Schedules I-V of 21 C.F.R. part 1308, or chapter 893.
(10) “Convenience service” means any means whereby an individual conducts a transaction with the department other than in person.
(11)(a) “Conviction” means a conviction of an offense relating to the operation of motor vehicles on highways which is a violation of this chapter or any other such law of this state or any other state, including an admission or determination of a noncriminal traffic infraction pursuant to s. 318.14, or a judicial disposition of an offense committed under any federal law substantially conforming to the aforesaid state statutory provisions.
(b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, the definition of “conviction” provided in 49 C.F.R. s. 383.5 applies to offenses committed in a commercial motor vehicle or by a person holding a commercial driver license.
(12) “Court” means any tribunal in this state or any other state, or any federal tribunal, which has jurisdiction over any civil, criminal, traffic, or administrative action.
(13) “Declared weight” means the maximum loaded weight declared for purposes of registration, pursuant to chapter 320.
(14) “Department” means the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles acting directly or through its duly authorized representatives.
(15) “Disqualification” means a prohibition, other than an out-of-service order, that precludes a person from driving a commercial motor vehicle.
(16) “Drive” means to operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in any place open to the general public for purposes of vehicular traffic.
(17) “Driver license” means a certificate that, subject to all other requirements of law, authorizes an individual to drive a motor vehicle and denotes an operator’s license as defined in 49 U.S.C. s. 30301.
(18) “Endorsement” means a special authorization which permits a driver to drive certain types of vehicles or to transport certain types of property or a certain number of passengers.
(19) “Farmer” means a person who grows agricultural products, including aquacultural, horticultural, and forestry products, and, except as provided herein, employees of such persons. The term does not include employees whose primary purpose of employment is the operation of motor vehicles.
(20) “Farm tractor” means a motor vehicle that is:
(a) Operated principally on a farm, grove, or orchard in agricultural or horticultural pursuits and that is operated on the roads of this state only incidentally for transportation between the owner’s or operator’s headquarters and the farm, grove, or orchard or between one farm, grove, or orchard and another; or
(b) Designed and used primarily as a farm implement for drawing plows, mowing machines, and other implements of husbandry.
(21) “Felony” means any offense under state or federal law that is punishable by death or by a term of imprisonment exceeding 1 year.
(22) “Foreign jurisdiction” means any jurisdiction other than a state of the United States.
(23) “Gross vehicle weight rating” means the value specified by the manufacturer as the maximum loaded weight of a single, combination, or articulated vehicle.
(24) “Hazardous materials” means any material that has been designated as hazardous under 49 U.S.C. s. 5103 and is required to be placarded under subpart F of 49 C.F.R. part 172 or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 C.F.R. part 73.
(25) “Human trafficking” has the same meaning as provided in s. 787.06(2)(d).
(26) “Medical examiner’s certificate” means a document substantially in accordance with the requirements of 49 C.F.R. s. 391.43.
(27) “Motorcycle” means a motor vehicle powered by a motor with a displacement of more than 50 cubic centimeters, having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider, and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but excluding a tractor, tri-vehicle, or moped.
(28) “Motor vehicle” means any self-propelled vehicle, including a motor vehicle combination, not operated upon rails or guideway, excluding vehicles moved solely by human power, motorized wheelchairs, and electric bicycles as defined in s. 316.003.
(29) “Motor vehicle combination” means a motor vehicle operated in conjunction with one or more other vehicles.
(30) “Narcotic drugs” means coca leaves, opium, isonipecaine, cannabis, and every substance neither chemically nor physically distinguishable from them, and any and all derivatives of same, and any other drug to which the narcotics laws of the United States apply, and includes all drugs and derivatives thereof known as barbiturates.
(31) “Out-of-service order” means a prohibition issued by an authorized local, state, or Federal Government official which precludes a person from driving a commercial motor vehicle.
(32) “Owner” means the person who holds the legal title to a vehicle. However, if a vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or lease thereof with the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of possession vested in the conditional vendee or lessee, or if a mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to possession, such conditional vendee, lessee, or mortgagor is the owner for the purpose of this chapter.
(33) “Passenger vehicle” means a motor vehicle designed to transport more than 15 persons, including the driver, or a school bus designed to transport more than 15 persons, including the driver.
(34) “Permit” means a document authorizing the temporary operation of a motor vehicle within this state subject to conditions established in this chapter.
(35) “Resident” means a person who has his or her principal place of domicile in this state for a period of more than 6 consecutive months, has registered to vote, has made a statement of domicile pursuant to s. 222.17, or has filed for homestead tax exemption on property in this state.
(36) “Restriction” means a prohibition against operating certain types of motor vehicles or a requirement that a driver comply with certain conditions when driving a motor vehicle.
(37) “Revocation” means the termination of a licensee’s privilege to drive.
(38) “School bus” means a motor vehicle that is designed to transport more than 15 persons, including the driver, and that is used to transport students to and from a public or private school or in connection with school activities, but does not include a bus operated by a common carrier in the urban transportation of school children. The term “school” includes all preelementary, elementary, secondary, and postsecondary schools.
(39) “State” means a state or possession of the United States, and, for the purposes of this chapter, includes the District of Columbia.
(40) “Street or highway” means the entire width between the boundary lines of a way or place if any part of that way or place is open to public use for purposes of vehicular traffic.
(41) “Suspension” means the temporary withdrawal of a licensee’s privilege to drive a motor vehicle.
(42) “Suspension or revocation equivalent status” is a designation for a person who does not have a driver license or driving privilege but would qualify for suspension or revocation of his or her driver license or driving privilege if licensed. The department may designate a person as having suspension or revocation equivalent status in the same manner as it is authorized to suspend or revoke a driver license or driving privilege by law.
(43) “Tank vehicle” means a vehicle that is designed to transport any liquid or gaseous material within a tank either permanently or temporarily attached to the vehicle, if such tank has a designed capacity of 1,000 gallons or more.
(44) “United States” means the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
(45) “Vehicle” means every device in, upon, or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a public highway or operated upon rails or guideway, except a bicycle, motorized wheelchair, or electric bicycle.
(46) “Identification card” means a personal identification card issued by the department which conforms to the definition in 18 U.S.C. s. 1028(d).
(47) “Temporary driver license” or “temporary identification card” means a certificate issued by the department which, subject to all other requirements of law, authorizes an individual to drive a motor vehicle and denotes an operator’s license, as defined in 49 U.S.C. s. 30301, or a personal identification card issued by the department which conforms to the definition in 18 U.S.C. s. 1028(d) and denotes that the holder is permitted to stay for a short duration of time, as specified on the temporary identification card, and is not a permanent resident of the United States.
(48) “Tri-vehicle” means an enclosed three-wheeled passenger vehicle that:
(a) Is designed to operate with three wheels in contact with the ground;
(b) Has a minimum unladen weight of 900 pounds;
(c) Has a single, completely enclosed, occupant compartment;
(d) Is produced in a minimum quantity of 300 in any calendar year;
(e) Is capable of a speed greater than 60 miles per hour on level ground; and
(f) Is equipped with:
1. Seats that are certified by the vehicle manufacturer to meet the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 207, “Seating systems” (49 C.F.R. s. 571.207);
2. A steering wheel used to maneuver the vehicle;
3. A propulsion unit located forward or aft of the enclosed occupant compartment;
4. A seat belt for each vehicle occupant certified to meet the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 209, “Seat belt assemblies” (49 C.F.R. s. 571.209);
5. A windshield and an appropriate windshield wiper and washer system that are certified by the vehicle manufacturer to meet the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 205, “Glazing Materials” (49 C.F.R. s. 571.205) and Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 104, “Windshield Wiping and Washing Systems” (49 C.F.R. s. 571.104); and
6. A vehicle structure certified by the vehicle manufacturer to meet the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 216, “Rollover crush resistance” (49 C.F.R. s. 571.216).
History.s. 13, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(627); s. 13, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 29721, 1955; s. 1, ch. 61-457; s. 1, ch. 63-156; s. 1, ch. 65-496; s. 1, ch. 67-242; s. 1, ch. 67-304; s. 1, ch. 67-346; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 99, ch. 71-377; s. 5, ch. 76-286; s. 5, ch. 78-353; s. 1, ch. 78-394; s. 1, ch. 81-3; s. 1, ch. 81-188; s. 17, ch. 83-218; s. 8, ch. 85-81; s. 16, ch. 87-161; s. 3, ch. 89-282; s. 3, ch. 90-230; s. 70, ch. 94-306; s. 925, ch. 95-148; s. 11, ch. 95-247; s. 31, ch. 95-333; s. 8, ch. 96-247; s. 67, ch. 2005-164; s. 39, ch. 2006-290; s. 26, ch. 2008-176; s. 3, ch. 2008-179; s. 31, ch. 2010-223; ss. 4, 9, ch. 2011-7; HJR 7103, 2011 Regular Session; s. 7, ch. 2019-92; s. 8, ch. 2019-167; s. 12, ch. 2020-69; s. 10, ch. 2021-187.
322.015 Exemption.This chapter does not apply when a fully autonomous vehicle is operated with the automated driving system engaged and without a human operator.
History.s. 10, ch. 2019-101.
322.02 Legislative intent; administration.
(1) The Legislature finds that over the past several years the department and individual county tax collectors have entered into contracts for the delivery of full and limited driver license services where such contractual relationships best served the public interest through state administration and enforcement and local government implementation. It is the intent of the Legislature that the complete transition of all driver license issuance services to tax collectors who are constitutional officers under s. 1(d), Art. VIII of the State Constitution be completed no later than June 30, 2015. The transition of services to appointed charter county tax collectors may occur on a limited basis as directed by the department.
(2) The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is charged with the administration and function of enforcement of the provisions of this chapter.
(3) The department shall employ a director, who is charged with the duty of serving as the executive officer of the Division of Motorist Services of the department insofar as the administration of this chapter is concerned. He or she shall be subject to the supervision and direction of the department, and his or her official actions and decisions as executive officer shall be conclusive unless the same are superseded or reversed by the department or by a court of competent jurisdiction.
(4) The department shall have the authority to enter into reciprocal driver license agreements with other jurisdictions within the United States and its territories and possessions and with foreign countries or political entities equivalent to Florida state government within a foreign country.
(5) The tax collector in and for his or her county may be designated the exclusive agent of the department to implement and administer the provisions of this chapter as provided by s. 322.135.
(6) The department shall make and adopt rules and regulations for the orderly administration of this chapter.
History.s. 14, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(628); s. 14, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 7, ch. 22858, 1945; s. 1, ch. 63-34; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 2, ch. 78-394; s. 71, ch. 94-306; s. 926, ch. 95-148; s. 1, ch. 2001-156; s. 3, ch. 2010-163; s. 22, ch. 2011-66.
322.025 Driver improvement.The department may implement programs to improve the driving ability of the drivers of this state. Such programs may include, but shall not be limited to, safety awareness campaigns, driver training, and licensing improvement. Motorcycle driver improvement programs implemented pursuant to this section or s. 322.0255 may be funded by the motorcycle safety education fee collected pursuant to s. 320.08(1)(c), which shall be deposited in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
History.s. 1, ch. 87-161; s. 6, ch. 88-405; s. 71, ch. 93-120; s. 46, ch. 2000-152; ss. 46, 53, ch. 2007-73; s. 6, ch. 2009-14; s. 9, ch. 2009-20.
322.0255 Florida Motorcycle Safety Education Program.
(1) The department shall establish a Florida Motorcycle Safety Education Program. The program shall be funded as provided by ss. 320.08 and 322.025.
(2) The department shall establish and administer motorcycle safety courses. The department shall prescribe the curricula for such courses, which must include a minimum of 12 hours of instruction, at least 6 hours of which shall consist of actual motorcycle operation. The department may adopt or include courses, curricula, or materials developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or by other traffic safety groups determined to be comparable by the department.
(3) The department shall prescribe the qualifications for certification of instructors in the program. The department may include the qualifications specified by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or by other traffic safety groups determined to be comparable by the department, and may recognize, for purposes of certification, instructor training provided by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or by other traffic safety groups determined to be comparable by the department, as fulfilling the department’s training requirements.
(4) Every organization shall be approved by the department before it may conduct motorcycle safety courses. The department may enter into agreements with organizations to provide for such courses. Such agreements shall include provisions for compensation of the costs of conducting the courses. Students may be required to purchase insurance as required by the organization providing the course.
(5) Each organization that provides an approved motorcycle safety course may charge a registration fee, not to exceed $20 per student. This fee must be refunded if the student completes the course. However, any student who registers for, and does not complete, the course must forfeit his or her registration fee. Forfeited fees may be retained by the organization that conducts the course.
(6) The department may adopt rules to implement this section.
(7) On and after January 1, 1989, every first-time applicant for licensure to operate a motorcycle who is under 21 years of age shall be required to complete a motorcycle education course as established pursuant to this section. Proof of completion of such education course shall be presented to the driver license examining office prior to such licensure to operate a motorcycle.
History.s. 7, ch. 88-405; s. 393, ch. 95-148; s. 2, ch. 98-90; s. 7, ch. 2009-14.
322.0261 Driver improvement course; requirement to maintain driving privileges; failure to complete; department approval of course.
(1) The department shall screen crash reports received under s. 316.066 or s. 324.051 to identify crashes involving the following:
(a) A crash involving death or a bodily injury requiring transport to a medical facility;
(b) A second crash by the same operator within the previous 2-year period involving property damage in an apparent amount of at least $500; or
(c) A third crash by the same operator within 36 months after the first crash.
(2) With respect to an operator convicted of, or who pleaded nolo contendere to, a traffic offense giving rise to a crash identified in paragraph (1)(a) or paragraph (1)(b), the department shall require that the operator, in addition to other applicable penalties, attend a department-approved driver improvement course in order to maintain his or her driving privileges. The department shall include in the course curriculum instruction specifically addressing the rights of vulnerable road users as defined in s. 316.027 relative to vehicles on the roadway. If the operator fails to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice from the department, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled by the department until the course is successfully completed.
(3) With respect to an operator convicted of, or who pleaded nolo contendere to, a traffic offense giving rise to a crash identified in paragraph (1)(c), the department shall require that the operator, in addition to other applicable penalties, attend a department-approved driver improvement course in order to maintain his or her driving privileges. The course must include behind-the-wheel instruction and an assessment of the operator’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Successful completion of a behind-the-wheel examination is required in order to receive completion credit for the course. If the operator fails to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice from the department, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled by the department until the course is successfully completed.
(4)(a) The department shall identify any operator convicted of, or who pleaded nolo contendere to, a violation of s. 316.074(1), s. 316.075(1)(c)1., s. 316.172, s. 316.191, or s. 316.192 and shall require that operator, in addition to other applicable penalties, to attend a department-approved driver improvement course in order to maintain driving privileges. The department shall, within 10 days after receiving a notice of judicial disposition, send notice to the operator of the requirement to attend a driver improvement course. If the operator fails to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice from the department, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled by the department until the course is successfully completed.
(b) Any operator who receives a traffic citation for a violation of s. 316.074(1), s. 316.075(1)(c)1., s. 316.191, or s. 316.192, for which the court withholds adjudication, is not required to attend a driver improvement course, unless the court finds that the nature or severity of the violation is such that attendance to a driver improvement course is necessary. The department shall, within 10 days after receiving a notice of judicial disposition, send notice to the operator of the requirement to attend a driver improvement course. If the operator fails to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice from the department, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled by the department until the course is successfully completed.
(c) Any operator who receives a traffic citation for a violation of s. 316.172, for which the court withholds adjudication, is required to attend a driver improvement course. The department shall, within 10 days after receiving a notice of judicial disposition, send notice to the operator of the requirement to attend a driver improvement course. If the operator fails to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice from the department, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled by the department until the course is successfully completed.
(5) In determining whether to approve a driver improvement course for the purposes of this section, the department shall consider course content designed to promote safety, driver awareness, crash avoidance techniques, and other factors or criteria to improve driver performance from a safety viewpoint.
History.s. 27, ch. 90-119; s. 72, ch. 94-306; s. 280, ch. 99-248; s. 5, ch. 2005-194; s. 3, ch. 2009-138; s. 9, ch. 2009-183; s. 12, ch. 2010-198; s. 3, ch. 2014-225; s. 5, ch. 2022-180.
322.03 Drivers must be licensed; penalties.
(1) Except as otherwise authorized in this chapter, a person may not drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless such person has a valid driver license issued under this chapter.
(a) A person who drives a commercial motor vehicle may not receive a driver license unless and until he or she surrenders to the department all driver licenses in his or her possession issued to him or her by any other jurisdiction or makes an affidavit that he or she does not possess a driver license. Any such person who fails to surrender such licenses commits a noncriminal infraction, punishable as a moving violation as set forth in chapter 318. Any such person who makes a false affidavit concerning such licenses commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(b) All surrendered licenses may be returned by the department to the issuing jurisdiction together with information that the licensee is now licensed in a new jurisdiction or may be destroyed by the department, which shall notify the issuing jurisdiction of such destruction. A person may not have more than one valid driver license at any time.
(2) Prior to issuing a driver license, the department shall require any person who has been convicted two or more times of a violation of s. 316.193 or of a substantially similar alcohol-related or drug-related offense outside this state within the preceding 5 years, or who has been convicted of three or more such offenses within the preceding 10 years, to present proof of successful completion of or enrollment in a department-approved substance abuse education course. If the person fails to complete such education course within 90 days after issuance, the department shall cancel the license. Further, prior to issuing the driver license the department shall require such person to present proof of financial responsibility as provided in s. 324.031. For the purposes of this paragraph, a previous conviction for violation of former s. 316.028, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01 shall be considered a previous conviction for violation of s. 316.193.
(3)(a) The department may not issue a commercial driver license to any person who is not a resident of this state.
(b) A resident of this state who is required by the laws of this state to possess a commercial driver license may not operate a commercial motor vehicle in this state unless he or she possesses a valid commercial driver license issued by this state. Except as provided in paragraph (c), any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(c) Any person whose commercial driver license has been expired for a period of 30 days or less and who drives a commercial motor vehicle within this state is guilty of a nonmoving violation, punishable as provided in s. 318.18.
(4) A person may not operate a motorcycle unless he or she holds a driver license that authorizes such operation, subject to the appropriate restrictions and endorsements. A person may operate an autocycle, as defined in s. 316.003, without a motorcycle endorsement.
(5) It is a violation of this section for any person whose driver license has been expired for more than 6 months to operate a motor vehicle on the highways of this state.
(6) A person who is charged with a violation of this section, other than a violation of paragraph (a) of subsection (1), may not be convicted if, prior to or at the time of his or her court or hearing appearance, the person produces in court or to the clerk of the court in which the charge is pending a driver license issued to him or her and valid at the time of his or her arrest. The clerk of the court is authorized to dismiss such case at any time prior to the defendant’s appearance in court. The clerk of the court may assess a fee of $5 for dismissing the case under this subsection.
History.s. 15, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(629); s. 15, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 2, ch. 29721, 1955; s. 2, ch. 61-457; s. 1, ch. 63-156; s. 2, ch. 65-496; s. 24, ch. 73-334; s. 3, ch. 78-394; s. 2, ch. 80-308; s. 1, ch. 84-139; s. 10, ch. 86-185; s. 3, ch. 86-296; s. 17, ch. 87-161; s. 3, ch. 88-50; s. 16, ch. 89-282; s. 11, ch. 91-255; s. 73, ch. 94-306; s. 927, ch. 95-148; s. 10, ch. 2009-183; s. 27, ch. 2010-162; s. 10, ch. 2018-111; s. 7, ch. 2018-130.
322.031 Nonresident; when license required.
(1) In each case in which a nonresident, except a nonresident migrant or seasonal farm worker as defined in s. 316.003, accepts employment or engages in a trade, profession, or occupation in this state or enters his or her children to be educated in the public schools of this state, such nonresident shall, within 30 days after beginning such employment or education, be required to obtain a Florida driver license if such nonresident operates a motor vehicle on the highways of this state. The spouse or dependent child of such nonresident shall also be required to obtain a Florida driver license within that 30-day period before operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state.
(2) A member of the United States Armed Forces on active duty in this state, his or her spouse, or a dependent residing with him or her, is not required to obtain or display a Florida driver license if he or she is in possession of a valid military identification card and either a valid driver license or learner’s permit issued by another state, or a valid military driving permit. Such a person is not required to obtain or display a Florida driver license because he or she enters his or her children to be educated in the public schools of this state or because he or she accepts employment or engages in a trade, profession, or occupation in this state.
(3) A nonresident who is domiciled in another state and who commutes into this state in order to work is not required to obtain a Florida driver license under this section solely because he or she has accepted employment or engages in a trade, profession, or occupation in this state if he or she has a valid driver license issued by another state. Further, a person who is enrolled as a student in a college or university and who is a nonresident but is in this state for a period of up to 6 months engaged in a work-study program for which academic credits are earned from a college whose credits or degrees are accepted for credit by at least three accredited institutions of higher learning, as defined in s. 1005.02, is not required to obtain a Florida driver license for the duration of the work-study program if such person has a valid driver license issued by another state. A nonresident who is enrolled as a full-time student in such institution of higher learning is also exempt from the requirement of obtaining a Florida driver license for the duration of such enrollment.
(4) A nonresident who is at least 21 years of age and who has in his or her immediate possession a valid commercial driver license issued in substantial compliance with the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 may operate a motor vehicle of the type permitted by his or her license to be operated in this state.
History.s. 1, ch. 73-238; s. 6, ch. 75-228; s. 4, ch. 78-394; s. 1, ch. 79-117; s. 3, ch. 82-112; s. 18, ch. 83-218; s. 35, ch. 89-282; s. 29, ch. 91-221; s. 394, ch. 95-148; s. 7, ch. 97-218; s. 967, ch. 2002-387; s. 6, ch. 2006-81; s. 24, ch. 2014-1; s. 76, ch. 2016-239.
322.032 Digital proof of driver license or identification card.
(1) As used in this section, the term:
(a) “Digital proof of driver license” means an electronic credential viewable on an electronic credentialing system.
(b) “Digital proof of identification card” means an electronic credential viewable on an electronic credentialing system.
(c) “Electronic credentialing system” means a computer system accessed using a computer, a cellular telephone, or any other personal device which queries the department’s driver license and identification card records, displays or transmits digital proofs of driver licenses and identification cards, and verifies the authenticity of those electronic credentials.
(d) “Limited profile” means an electronic credential containing some, but not all, of the information displayed on a printed driver license or identification card.
(e) “Scanning” means obtaining data from a digital proof of driver license or identification card in an electronic format.
(2)(a) The department shall establish a secure and uniform system for issuing an optional digital proof of driver license or identification card. The department may contract with one or more private entities to develop an electronic credentialing system.
(b) The electronic credentialing system may not retain Internet protocol addresses, geolocation data, or other information that describes the location, computer, computer system, or computer network from which a customer accesses the system.
(3)(a) The digital proof of driver license or identification card established by the department or by an entity contracted by the department must be in such a format as to allow verification of the authenticity of the digital proof of driver license or identification card. The department may adopt rules to ensure valid authentication of digital driver licenses and identification cards.
(b)1. Notwithstanding ss. 322.14-322.142, and any other law prescribing the design for, or information required to be displayed on, a driver license, a digital proof of driver license may comprise a limited profile that includes only information necessary to conduct a specific transaction on the electronic credentialing system.
2. Notwithstanding ss. 322.051 and 322.141, and any other law prescribing the design for, or information required to be displayed on, an identification card, a digital proof of identification card may comprise a limited profile that includes only information necessary to conduct a specific transaction on the electronic credentialing system.
(4) A person may not be issued a digital proof of driver license or identification card until he or she satisfies all requirements of this chapter for issuance of the respective driver license or identification card and has been issued a printed driver license or identification card. The electronic credentialing system must, upon each presentation of a digital driver license or identification card, display or transmit current records for the driver license or identification card. If a licensee’s driving privilege is suspended, revoked, or disqualified, or if his or her driver license is otherwise canceled or expired, a digital proof of driver license may not be issued; however, a digital proof of identification card may be issued if the licensee is otherwise eligible for an identification card under s. 322.051.
(5) The department may use a telephone number submitted by a licensee or cardholder in connection with a digital driver license or identification card only for purposes of communication regarding the digital proof of driver license or identification card or the motor vehicle records, as defined in s. 119.0712(2)(a), of the licensee or cardholder.
(6) The department may enter into contracts with one or more private entities which authorize online data calls or offline data verification through the electronic credentialing system that queries the department’s driver license and identification card records, displays or transmits digital proofs of driver licenses or identification cards, or verifies the authenticity of such electronic credentials.
(7)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a private entity that scans a digital proof of driver license or identification card may not store, sell, or share personal information collected from such scanning of the digital proof of driver license or identification card.
(b) An individual may consent to allow a private entity to collect and store personal information obtained by scanning his or her digital proof of driver license or identification card. However, the individual must be informed what information is collected and the purpose or purposes for which the information will be used. If the individual does not want the private entity to scan his or her digital proof of the individual’s driver license or identification card, the private entity may manually collect personal information from the individual.
(c) A private entity that violates this subsection is subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 per occurrence.
(d) This subsection does not apply to a financial institution as defined in s. 655.005(1)(i).
(8) A person who:
(a) Manufactures a false digital proof of driver license or identification card commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
(b) Possesses a false digital proof of driver license or identification card commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082.
History.s. 27, ch. 2014-216; s. 1, ch. 2021-235; s. 22, ch. 2022-4.
322.033 Unauthorized aliens; invalid out-of-state driver licenses.
(1) If a driver license is of a class of licenses issued by another state exclusively to undocumented immigrants who are unable to prove lawful presence in the United States when the licenses are issued, the driver license, or other permit purporting to authorize the holder to operate a motor vehicle on public roadways, is invalid in this state and does not authorize the holder to operate a motor vehicle in this state. Such classes of licenses include licenses that are issued exclusively to undocumented immigrants or licenses that are substantially the same as licenses issued to citizens, residents, or those lawfully present in the United States but have markings establishing that the license holder did not exercise the option of providing proof of lawful presence.
(2) A law enforcement officer or other authorized representative of the department who stops a person driving with an invalid license as described in subsection (1) and driving without a valid license shall issue a citation to the driver for driving without a license in violation of s. 322.03.
(3) The department, to facilitate the enforcement of this section and to aid in providing notice to the public and visitors of invalid licenses, shall maintain on its website a list of out-of-state classes of driver licenses that are invalid in this state.
History.s. 3, ch. 2023-40.
322.04 Persons exempt from obtaining driver license.
(1) The following persons are exempt from obtaining a driver license:
(a) Any employee of the United States Government, while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle owned by or leased to the United States Government and being operated on official business.
(b) Any person while driving or operating any road machine, farm tractor, or implement of husbandry temporarily operated or moved on a highway.
(c) A nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has in his or her immediate possession a valid noncommercial driver license issued to the nonresident in his or her home state or country operating a motor vehicle of the type for which a Class E driver license is required in this state, if the nonresident’s license is not invalid under s. 322.033 relating to proof of the licensee’s lawful presence in the United States.
(d) A nonresident who is at least 18 years of age and who has in his or her immediate possession a valid noncommercial driver license issued to the nonresident in his or her home state or country operating a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor vehicle, in this state, if the nonresident’s license is not invalid under s. 322.033 relating to proof of the licensee’s lawful presence in the United States.
(e) A person 18 years of age or older operating a golf cart, as defined in s. 320.01, which is operated in accordance with s. 316.212.
(2) This section does not apply to any person to whom s. 322.031 applies.
(3) Any person working for a firm under contract to the United States Government whose residence is outside this state and whose main point of employment is outside this state may drive a noncommercial vehicle on the public roads of this state for periods up to 60 days while in this state on temporary duty, if the person has a valid driver license from the state of the person’s residence and if the license is not invalid under s. 322.033 relating to proof of the licensee’s lawful presence in the United States.
History.s. 16, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(630); s. 16, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 21949, 1943; s. 3, ch. 29721, 1955; s. 1, ch. 59-315; s. 1, ch. 61-124; s. 1, ch. 69-186; s. 5, ch. 78-394; s. 2, ch. 84-111; s. 45, ch. 87-198; s. 34, ch. 89-282; s. 5, ch. 91-243; s. 395, ch. 95-148; s. 32, ch. 95-333; s. 45, ch. 2012-181; s. 1, ch. 2013-1; s. 4, ch. 2023-40; s. 2, ch. 2023-67.
322.05 Persons not to be licensed.The department may not issue a license:
(1) To a person who is under the age of 16 years, except that the department may issue a learner’s driver license to a person who is at least 15 years of age and who meets the requirements of ss. 322.091 and 322.1615 and of any other applicable law or rule.
(2) To a person who is at least 16 years of age but is under 18 years of age unless the person meets the requirements of s. 322.091 and holds a valid:
(a) Learner’s driver license for at least 12 months, with no moving traffic convictions, before applying for a license;
(b) Learner’s driver license for at least 12 months and who has a moving traffic conviction but elects to attend a traffic driving school for which adjudication must be withheld pursuant to s. 318.14; or
(c) License that was issued in another state or in a foreign jurisdiction and that would not be subject to suspension or revocation under the laws of this state.
(3) To a person who is at least 16 years of age but who is under 18 years of age, unless the parent, guardian, or other responsible adult meeting the requirements of s. 322.09 certifies that he or she, or another licensed driver 21 years of age or older, has accompanied the applicant for a total of not less than 50 hours’ behind-the-wheel experience, of which not less than 10 hours must be at night. This subsection is not intended to create a private cause of action as a result of the certification. The certification is inadmissible for any purpose in any civil proceeding.
(4) Except as provided by this subsection, to any person, as a Class A licensee, Class B licensee, or Class C licensee, who is under the age of 18 years.
(5) To any person whose license has been suspended, during such suspension, nor to any person whose license has been revoked, until the expiration of the period of revocation imposed under the provisions of this chapter.
(6) To any person, as a commercial motor vehicle operator, whose privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle has been disqualified, until the expiration of the period of disqualification.
(7) To any person who is an habitual drunkard, or is an habitual user of narcotic drugs, or is an habitual user of any other drug to a degree which renders him or her incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle.
(8) To any person who has been adjudged to be afflicted with or suffering from any mental disability or disease and who has not at the time of application been restored to competency by the methods provided by law.
(9) To any person who is required by this chapter to take an examination, unless such person shall have successfully passed such examination.
(10) To any person, when the department has good cause to believe that the operation of a motor vehicle on the highways by such person would be detrimental to public safety or welfare. Deafness alone shall not prevent the person afflicted from being issued a Class E driver license.
(11) To any person who is ineligible under s. 322.056.
(12) To any person, as a commercial motor vehicle operator, who has been convicted of, or has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of whether adjudication was withheld, any felony involving human trafficking under state or federal law involving the use of a commercial motor vehicle.
History.s. 17, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(631); s. 17, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 2, ch. 21949, 1943; s. 4, ch. 29721, 1955; s. 1, ch. 67-174; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 6, ch. 78-394; ss. 1, 7, ch. 89-112; s. 17, ch. 89-282; s. 6, ch. 90-265; ss. 3, 4, ch. 93-144; s. 396, ch. 95-148; s. 1, ch. 96-414; s. 14, ch. 97-234; s. 3, ch. 2000-239; s. 10, ch. 2001-196; s. 68, ch. 2005-164; s. 40, ch. 2006-290; s. 6, ch. 2017-8; s. 82, ch. 2019-167; s. 11, ch. 2021-187.
322.051 Identification cards.
(1) Any person who is 5 years of age or older, or any person who has a disability, regardless of age, who applies for a disabled parking permit under s. 320.0848, may be issued an identification card by the department upon completion of an application and payment of an application fee.
(a) The application must include the following information regarding the applicant:
1. Full name (first, middle or maiden, and last), gender, proof of social security card number satisfactory to the department, which may include a military identification card, county of residence, mailing address, proof of residential address satisfactory to the department, country of birth, and a brief description.
2. Proof of birth date satisfactory to the department.
3. Proof of identity satisfactory to the department. Such proof must include one of the following documents issued to the applicant:
a. A driver license record or identification card record from another jurisdiction that required the applicant to submit a document for identification which is substantially similar to a document required under sub-subparagraph b., sub-subparagraph c., sub-subparagraph d., sub-subparagraph e., sub-subparagraph f., sub-subparagraph g., or sub-subparagraph h.;
b. A certified copy of a United States birth certificate;
c. A valid, unexpired United States passport;
d. A naturalization certificate issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security;
e. A valid, unexpired alien registration receipt card (green card);
f. A Consular Report of Birth Abroad provided by the United States Department of State;
g. An unexpired employment authorization card issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security; or
h. Proof of nonimmigrant classification provided by the United States Department of Homeland Security, for an original identification card. In order to prove nonimmigrant classification, an applicant must provide at least one of the following documents. In addition, the department may require applicants to produce United States Department of Homeland Security documents for the sole purpose of establishing the maintenance of, or efforts to maintain, continuous lawful presence:
(I) A notice of hearing from an immigration court scheduling a hearing on any proceeding.
(II) A notice from the Board of Immigration Appeals acknowledging pendency of an appeal.
(III) A notice of the approval of an application for adjustment of status issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
(IV) An official documentation confirming the filing of a petition for asylum or refugee status or any other relief issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
(V) A notice of action transferring any pending matter from another jurisdiction to Florida, issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
(VI) An order of an immigration judge or immigration officer granting relief that authorizes the alien to live and work in the United States, including, but not limited to, asylum.
(VII) Evidence that an application is pending for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States, if a visa number is available having a current priority date for processing by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
(VIII) On or after January 1, 2010, an unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired United States Visa affixed, accompanied by an approved I-94, documenting the most recent admittance into the United States.

An identification card issued based on documents required in sub-subparagraph g. or sub-subparagraph h. is valid for a period not to exceed the expiration date of the document presented or 1 year, whichever occurs first.

(b) An application for an identification card must be signed and verified by the applicant in a format designated by the department before a person authorized to administer oaths and payment of the applicable fee pursuant to s. 322.21.
(c) Each such applicant may include fingerprints and any other unique biometric means of identity.
(2)(a) Every identification card:
1. Issued to a person 5 years of age to 14 years of age shall expire, unless canceled earlier, on the fourth birthday of the applicant following the date of original issue.
2. Issued to a person 15 years of age and older shall expire, unless canceled earlier, on the eighth birthday of the applicant following the date of original issue.

Renewal of an identification card shall be made for the applicable term enumerated in this paragraph. Any application for renewal received later than 90 days after expiration of the identification card shall be considered the same as an application for an original identification card.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, if an applicant establishes his or her identity for an identification card using a document authorized under sub-subparagraph (1)(a)3.e., the identification card shall expire on the eighth birthday of the applicant following the date of original issue or upon first renewal or duplicate issued after implementation of this section. After an initial showing of such documentation, he or she is exempted from having to renew or obtain a duplicate in person.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, if an applicant establishes his or her identity for an identification card using an identification document authorized under sub-subparagraph (1)(a)3.g. or sub-subparagraph (1)(a)3.h., the identification card shall expire 1 year after the date of issuance or upon the expiration date cited on the United States Department of Homeland Security documents, whichever date first occurs, and may not be renewed or obtain a duplicate except in person.
(3) If an identification card issued under this section is lost, destroyed, or mutilated or a new name is acquired, the person to whom it was issued may obtain a duplicate upon furnishing satisfactory proof of such fact to the department and upon payment of a fee as provided in s. 322.21. The fee must include payment for the color photograph or digital image of the applicant. Any person who loses an identification card and who, after obtaining a duplicate, finds the original card shall immediately surrender the original card to the department. The same documentary evidence shall be furnished for a duplicate as for an original identification card.
(4) When used with reference to identification cards, “cancellation” means that an identification card is terminated without prejudice and must be surrendered. Cancellation of the card may be made when a card has been issued through error or when voluntarily surrendered to the department.
(5) No public entity shall be liable for any loss or injury resulting directly or indirectly from false or inaccurate information contained in identification cards provided for in this section.
(6) It is unlawful for any person:
(a) To display, cause or permit to be displayed, or have in his or her possession any fictitious, fraudulently altered, or fraudulently obtained identification card.
(b) To lend his or her identification card to any other person or knowingly permit the use thereof by another.
(c) To display or represent any identification card not issued to him or her as being his or her card.
(d) To permit any unlawful use of an identification card issued to him or her.
(e) To do any act forbidden, or fail to perform any act required, by this section.
(f) To photograph, photostat, duplicate, or in any way reproduce any identification card or facsimile thereof in such a manner that it could be mistaken for a valid identification card, or to display or have in his or her possession any such photograph, photostat, duplicate, reproduction, or facsimile unless authorized by the provisions of this section.
(7) Any person accepting the Florida driver license as proof of identification must accept a Florida identification card as proof of identification when the bearer of the identification card does not also have a driver license.
(8)(a) The department shall, upon receipt of the required fee, issue to each qualified applicant for an identification card a color photographic or digital image identification card bearing a fullface photograph or digital image of the identification cardholder. Notwithstanding chapter 761 or s. 761.05, the requirement for a fullface photograph or digital image of the identification cardholder may not be waived. A space shall be provided upon which the identification cardholder shall affix his or her usual signature, as required in s. 322.14, in the presence of an authorized agent of the department so as to ensure that such signature becomes a part of the identification card. Beginning November 1, 2023, each distinguishing number assigned to an original, renewal, or replacement identification card must have a minimum of four randomly generated digits.
(b)1. The word “Veteran” must be exhibited on the identification card of a veteran upon the presentation of a copy of the person’s:
a. DD Form 214, issued by the United States Department of Defense;
b. Veteran health identification card, issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs;
c. Veteran identification card, issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs pursuant to the Veterans Identification Card Act of 2015, Pub. L. No. 114-31; or
d. Other acceptable form specified by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
2. Until a veteran’s identification card is next renewed, the veteran may have the word “Veteran” added to his or her identification card upon surrender of his or her current identification card and presentation of any of the forms of identification specified in subparagraph 1. If the applicant is not conducting any other transaction affecting the identification card, a replacement identification card must be issued with the word “Veteran” without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(f)3.c.
(c) The international symbol for the deaf and hard of hearing shall be exhibited on the identification card of a person who is deaf or hard of hearing upon the payment of an additional $1 fee for the identification card and the presentation of sufficient proof that the person is deaf or hard of hearing as determined by the department. Until a person’s identification card is next renewed, the person may have the symbol added to his or her identification card upon surrender of his or her current identification card, payment of a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and presentation of sufficient proof that the person is deaf or hard of hearing as determined by the department. If the applicant is not conducting any other transaction affecting the identification card, a replacement identification card may be issued with the symbol without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(f)3.c. For purposes of this paragraph, the international symbol for the deaf and hard of hearing is substantially as follows:

(d) The department shall include symbols representing the following on an identification card upon the payment of an additional $1 fee by an applicant who meets the requirements of subsection (1) and presents his or her:
1. Lifetime freshwater fishing license;
2. Lifetime saltwater fishing license;
3. Lifetime hunting license;
4. Lifetime sportsman’s license; or
5. Lifetime boater safety identification card.

A person may replace his or her identification card before its expiration date with a card that includes his or her status as a lifetime licensee or boater safety cardholder upon surrender of his or her current identification card, payment of a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and presentation of the person’s lifetime license or card. If the sole purpose of the replacement identification card is the inclusion of the applicant’s status as a lifetime licensee or cardholder, the replacement identification card must be issued without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(f)3.c.

(e)1. Upon request by a person who has a developmental disability, or by a parent or guardian of a child or ward who has a developmental disability, the department shall issue an identification card exhibiting a capital “D” for the person, child, or ward if the person or the parent or guardian of the child or ward submits:
a. Payment of an additional $1 fee; and
b. Proof acceptable to the department of a diagnosis by a licensed physician of a developmental disability as defined in s. 393.063.
2. The department shall deposit the additional $1 fee into the Agency for Persons with Disabilities Operations and Maintenance Trust Fund under s. 20.1971(2).
3. A replacement identification card that includes the designation may be issued without payment of the fee required under s. 322.21(1)(f).
4. The department shall develop rules to facilitate the issuance, requirements, and oversight of developmental disability identification cards under this section.
(9)(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section or s. 322.21 to the contrary, the department shall issue or renew a card at no charge to:
1. A person who presents a valid Florida voter’s registration card to the department and attests that he or she is experiencing a financial hardship. The department may not require such person to present evidence of a financial hardship.
2. A person who presents evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she is homeless as defined in s. 414.0252(7).
3. A juvenile offender who is in the custody or under the supervision of the Department of Juvenile Justice and receiving services pursuant to s. 985.461.
4. An inmate receiving a card issued pursuant to s. 944.605(7), or, if necessary, to an inmate receiving a replacement card if the department determines that he or she has a valid state identification card. If the replacement state identification card is scheduled to expire within 6 months, the department may also issue a temporary permit valid for at least 6 months after the release date.
(b) The department’s mobile issuing units shall process the identification cards for juvenile offenders and inmates at no charge, as provided by s. 944.605(7)(a) and (b).
(10) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section or s. 322.21 to the contrary, the department shall issue an identification card at no charge to a person who is 80 years of age or older and whose driving privilege is denied due to failure to pass a vision test administered pursuant to s. 322.18(5).
History.s. 1, ch. 73-236; s. 1, ch. 77-14; s. 1, ch. 78-105; ss. 7, 27, ch. 78-394; s. 37, ch. 89-282; ss. 1, 2, ch. 90-150; s. 397, ch. 95-148; s. 33, ch. 95-333; s. 13, ch. 96-200; s. 45, ch. 96-413; s. 73, ch. 99-248; s. 35, ch. 2000-313; s. 70, ch. 2001-61; s. 124, ch. 2002-20; s. 3, ch. 2002-76; s. 1, ch. 2002-259; s. 28, ch. 2003-1; s. 2, ch. 2003-410; s. 27, ch. 2004-5; s. 69, ch. 2005-164; s. 41, ch. 2006-290; s. 27, ch. 2008-176; s. 30, ch. 2009-71; s. 2, ch. 2011-94; s. 1, ch. 2012-82; s. 46, ch. 2012-181; s. 1, ch. 2014-193; s. 1, ch. 2015-85; s. 1, ch. 2016-4; s. 2, ch. 2016-175; ss. 17, 59, ch. 2016-239; s. 4, ch. 2018-80; s. 6, ch. 2019-10; s. 3, ch. 2022-175; s. 1, ch. 2022-206; s. 65, ch. 2023-8.
322.0515 Department to forward certain information to federal Selective Service System; notification to applicant for certain license; application statement required.
(1) The department shall:
(a) Require any male United States citizen or immigrant who is at least 18 years of age but less than 26 years of age to comply with federal Selective Service System requirements when applying to receive a driver license, a learner’s driver license, a commercial driver license, an identification card, or the renewal or duplicate card or license as described in this chapter.
(b) Forward to the federal Selective Service System information about applicants for a license or card as described in paragraph (a) in an electronic format to assist in compliance with federal Selective Service System requirements.
(c) Provide notification to each applicant for a license or card as described in paragraph (a) that an applicant’s submission of the application serves to certify that the applicant either has complied with federal Selective Service System requirements or is authorizing the department to forward to the Selective Service System the information necessary for registration.
(d) Notify an applicant for a license or card as described in paragraph (a) who is under 18 years of age that the applicant will be registered upon attaining 18 years of age as required by federal law.
(2) The department shall provide, by rule, for the following statement to be included on an application for a license or card as described in paragraph (1)(a): “By submitting this application, I am consenting to registration with the federal Selective Service System, if so required. If under 18 years of age, I understand that I will be registered when I attain 18 years of age as required by federal law.”
History.s. 1, ch. 2001-159.
322.055 Revocation or suspension of, or delay of eligibility for, driver license for persons 18 years of age or older convicted of certain drug offenses.
(1) Notwithstanding s. 322.28, upon the conviction of a person 18 years of age or older for possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance, the court shall direct the department to suspend the person’s driver license or driving privilege. The suspension shall be 6 months or until the person is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Families. However, the court may, upon finding a compelling circumstance to warrant an exception, direct the department to issue a license for driving privilege restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license.
(2) If a person 18 years of age or older is convicted for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance and such person is eligible by reason of age for a driver license or privilege, the court shall direct the department to withhold issuance of such person’s driver license or driving privilege for a period of 6 months after the date the person was convicted or until the person is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Families. However, the court may, upon finding a compelling circumstance to warrant an exception, direct the department to issue a license for driving privilege restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license.
(3) If a person 18 years of age or older is convicted for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance and such person’s driver license or driving privilege is already under suspension or revocation for any reason, the court shall direct the department to extend the period of such suspension or revocation by an additional period of 6 months or until the person is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Families. However, the court may, upon finding a compelling circumstance to warrant an exception, direct the department to issue a license for driving privilege restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license.
(4) If a person 18 years of age or older is convicted for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance and such person is ineligible by reason of age for a driver license or driving privilege, the court shall direct the department to withhold issuance of such person’s driver license or driving privilege for a period of 6 months after the date that he or she would otherwise have become eligible or until he or she becomes eligible by reason of age for a driver license and is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Families. However, the court may, upon finding a compelling circumstance to warrant an exception, direct the department to issue a license for driving privilege restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license.
(5) A court that orders the revocation or suspension of, or delay in eligibility for, a driver license pursuant to this section shall make a specific, articulated determination as to whether the issuance of a license for driving privilege restricted to business purposes only, as defined in s. 322.271, is appropriate in each case.
(6) Each clerk of court shall promptly report to the department each conviction for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance.
History.s. 12, ch. 87-243; s. 4, ch. 89-281; s. 7, ch. 90-265; s. 74, ch. 94-306; s. 928, ch. 95-148; s. 60, ch. 99-8; s. 281, ch. 99-248; s. 59, ch. 2014-19; s. 28, ch. 2014-216; s. 9, ch. 2019-167.
322.056 Mandatory revocation or suspension of, or delay of eligibility for, driver license for persons under age 18 found guilty of drug offenses; prohibition.
(1) Notwithstanding s. 322.055, if a person under 18 years of age is found guilty of or delinquent for a violation of chapter 893, and:
(a) The person is eligible by reason of age for a driver license or driving privilege, the court shall direct the department to revoke or to withhold issuance of his or her driver license or driving privilege for a period of 6 months.
(b) The person’s driver license or driving privilege is under suspension or revocation for any reason, the court shall direct the department to extend the period of suspension or revocation by an additional period of 6 months.
(c) The person is ineligible by reason of age for a driver license or driving privilege, the court shall direct the department to withhold issuance of his or her driver license or driving privilege for a period of 6 months after the date on which he or she would otherwise have become eligible.

However, the court may, upon finding a compelling circumstance to warrant an exception, direct the department to issue a license for driving privileges restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined in s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license.

(2) A penalty imposed under this section shall be in addition to any other penalty imposed by law.
History.s. 2, ch. 90-265; s. 3, ch. 91-243; s. 398, ch. 95-148; s. 15, ch. 97-162; s. 12, ch. 99-7; s. 110, ch. 2002-20; s. 3, ch. 2014-65; s. 10, ch. 2019-167.
322.058 Suspension of driving privilege due to support delinquency; reinstatement.
(1) When the department receives notice from the Title IV-D agency or depository or the clerk of the court that any person licensed to operate a motor vehicle in the State of Florida under the provisions of this chapter has a delinquent support obligation or has failed to comply with a subpoena, order to appear, order to show cause, or similar order, the department shall suspend the driver license of the person named in the notice and the registration of all motor vehicles owned by that person.
(2) The department must reinstate the driving privilege and allow registration of a motor vehicle when the Title IV-D agency in IV-D cases or the depository or the clerk of the court in non-IV-D cases provides to the department an affidavit stating that:
(a) The person has paid the delinquency;
(b) The person has reached a written agreement for payment with the Title IV-D agency or the obligee in non-IV-D cases;
(c) A court has entered an order granting relief to the obligor ordering the reinstatement of the license and motor vehicle registration;
(d) The person has complied with the subpoena, order to appear, order to show cause, or similar order;
(e) The person receives reemployment assistance or unemployment compensation pursuant to chapter 443;
(f) The person is disabled and incapable of self-support or receives benefits under the federal Supplemental Security Income program or Social Security Disability Insurance program;
(g) The person receives temporary cash assistance pursuant to chapter 414; or
(h) The person is making payments in accordance with a confirmed bankruptcy plan under chapter 11, chapter 12, or chapter 13 of the United States Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. ss. 101 et seq.
(3) The department shall not be held liable for any license or vehicle registration suspension resulting from the discharge of its duties under this section.
(4) This section applies only to the annual renewal in the owner’s birth month of a motor vehicle registration and does not apply to the transfer of a registration of a motor vehicle sold by a motor vehicle dealer licensed under chapter 320, except for the transfer of registrations which includes the annual renewals. This section does not affect the issuance of the title to a motor vehicle, notwithstanding s. 319.23(8)(b).
History.s. 12, ch. 93-208; s. 45, ch. 94-306; s. 929, ch. 95-148; s. 2, ch. 95-222; s. 22, ch. 2001-158; s. 47, ch. 2012-181; s. 29, ch. 2014-216; s. 22, ch. 2015-2.
322.059 Mandatory surrender of suspended driver license and registration.A person whose driver license or registration has been suspended as provided in s. 322.058 must immediately return his or her driver license and registration to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The department shall invalidate the digital proof of driver license issued pursuant to s. 322.032 for such person. If such person fails to return his or her driver license or registration, a law enforcement agent may seize the license or registration while the driver license or registration is suspended.
History.s. 13, ch. 93-208; s. 399, ch. 95-148; s. 30, ch. 2014-216.
322.0602 Youthful Drunk Driver Visitation Program.
(1) SHORT TITLE.This section may be cited as the “Youthful Drunk Driver Visitation Program Act.”
(2) COURT-ORDERED PARTICIPATION IN PROGRAM; PREFERENCE FOR PARTICIPATION.
(a) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 316.193, the court may order, as a term and condition of probation in addition to any other term or condition required or authorized by law, that the probationer participate in the Youthful Drunk Driver Visitation Program.
(b) The court shall give preference for participation in the program to probationers who are less than 18 years of age at the time of the offense if the facilities which participate in the program within the jurisdiction cannot accommodate all probationers who are eligible and who consent to participate in the program.
(3) INVESTIGATION AND CONSULTATION BY COURT.The court shall investigate and consult with the probationer, his or her counsel, if any, and any proposed supervisor of a visitation under the program. The court may consult with any other person whom the court finds may be of value, including, but not limited to, the probationer’s parents or other family members, in order to ascertain that the probationer is suitable for the program, that the visitation will be educational and meaningful to the probationer, and that there are no physical, emotional, or mental reasons to believe the program is not appropriate for the probationer or would cause any injury to the probationer.
(4) VISITATION REQUIREMENT.
(a) To the extent that personnel and facilities are made available to the court, the court may include a requirement for supervised visitation by the probationer to all, or any, of the following:
1. A trauma center, as defined in s. 395.4001, or a hospital as defined in s. 395.002, which regularly receives victims of vehicle accidents, between the hours of 10 p.m. and 2 a.m. on a Friday or Saturday night, in order to observe appropriate victims of vehicle accidents involving drinking drivers, under the supervision of any of the following:
a. A registered nurse trained in providing emergency trauma care or prehospital advanced life support.
b. An emergency room physician.
c. An emergency medical technician.
2. A licensed service provider, as defined in s. 397.311, which cares for substance abuse impaired persons, to observe persons in the terminal stages of substance abuse impairment, under the supervision of appropriately licensed medical personnel. Prior to any visitation of such terminally ill or disabled persons, the persons or their legal representatives must give their express consent to participate in the visitation program.
3. If approved by the county coroner, the county coroner’s office or the county morgue to observe appropriate victims of vehicle accidents involving drinking drivers, under the supervision of the coroner or a deputy coroner.
(b) As used in this section, the term “appropriate victims” means victims or their legal representatives, including the next of kin, who have expressly given their consent to participate in the visitation program and victims whose condition is determined by the visitation supervisor to demonstrate the results of accidents involving drinking drivers without being excessively gruesome or traumatic to the probationer.
(c) If persons trained in counseling or substance abuse are made available to the court, the court may coordinate the visitation program or the visitations at any of the appropriate facilities through those persons.
(d) Any visitation shall include, before any observation of victims or disabled persons by the probationer, a comprehensive counseling session with the visitation supervisor at which the supervisor shall explain and discuss the experiences which may be encountered during the visitation in order to ascertain whether the visitation is appropriate for the probationer.
(e) If at any time, either before or during a visitation, the supervisor of the probationer determines that the visitation may be or is traumatic or otherwise inappropriate for the probationer, or the supervisor is uncertain whether the visitation may be traumatic or inappropriate, the visitation shall be terminated without prejudice to the probationer.
(5) POSTVISITATION CONFERENCE.
(a) Following completion of any of the required visitations, the program may include a personal conference among the sentencing judge, his or her designated representative, or the person responsible for coordinating the program for the judicial district and the probationer, the probationer’s counsel, and, if available, the probationer’s parents in order to discuss the experiences of the visitation and how those experiences may affect the probationer’s future conduct.
(b) If a personal conference is not practicable because of the probationer’s absence from the jurisdiction, conflicting time schedules, or other reasons, the program shall require a written report or letter by the probationer to the court discussing the experiences and their effect on the probationer.
(6) IMMUNITY FROM CIVIL LIABILITY.The county, a court, any facility visited pursuant to the program, an agent, employee, or independent contractor of the court, county, or facility visited pursuant to the program, or any person supervising a probationer during the visitation, is not liable for any civil damages resulting from injury to the probationer, or civil damages caused by the probationer, during or from any activities relating to, the visitation, except for willful or grossly negligent acts intended to, or reasonably expected to, result in injury or damage. A probationer is eligible for workers’ compensation as prescribed by law if he or she performs community service at a facility as an additional term or condition of probation.
History.s. 1, ch. 90-265; s. 62, ch. 92-289; s. 21, ch. 93-39; s. 400, ch. 95-148; s. 8, ch. 2000-189.
322.065 Driver license expired for 6 months or less; penalties.A person whose driver license has been expired for 6 months or less and who drives a motor vehicle upon the highways of this state commits an infraction and is subject to the penalty provided in s. 318.18.
History.s. 4, ch. 88-50; s. 401, ch. 95-148; s. 53, ch. 96-350; s. 48, ch. 2012-181.
322.07 Instruction permits and temporary licenses.
(1) Any person who is at least 18 years of age and who, except for his or her lack of instruction in operating a motor vehicle, would otherwise be qualified to obtain a Class E driver license under this chapter, may apply for a temporary instruction permit. The department shall issue such a permit entitling the applicant, while having the permit in his or her immediate possession, to drive a motor vehicle of the type for which a Class E driver license is required upon the highways for a period of 90 days, but, except when operating a motorcycle or moped as defined in s. 316.003, the person must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older, who is licensed to operate the class of vehicle being operated, and who is actually occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver.
(2) The department may, in its discretion, issue a temporary permit to an applicant for a Class E driver license permitting him or her to operate a motor vehicle of the type for which a Class E driver license is required while the department is completing its investigation and determination of all facts relative to such applicant’s right to receive a driver license. Such permit must be in his or her immediate possession while operating a motor vehicle, and it shall be invalid when the applicant’s license has been issued or for good cause has been refused.
(3) Any person who, except for his or her lack of instruction in operating a commercial motor vehicle, would otherwise be qualified to obtain a commercial driver license under this chapter, may apply for a temporary commercial instruction permit. The department shall issue such a permit entitling the applicant, while having the permit in his or her immediate possession, to drive a commercial motor vehicle on the highways, if:
(a) The applicant possesses a valid Florida driver license; and
(b) The applicant, while operating a commercial motor vehicle, is accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older, who is licensed to operate the class of vehicle being operated, and who is occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver.
History.s. 19, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(633); s. 19, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 18, ch. 87-161; s. 4, ch. 88-405; s. 33, ch. 89-282; s. 402, ch. 95-148; s. 10, ch. 96-414; s. 70, ch. 2005-164; s. 15, ch. 2012-128; s. 49, ch. 2012-181.
322.08 Application for license; requirements for license and identification card forms.
(1) Each application for a driver license shall be made in a format designated by the department and sworn to or affirmed by the applicant as to the truth of the statements made in the application.
(2) Each such application shall include the following information regarding the applicant:
(a) Full name (first, middle or maiden, and last), gender, proof of social security card number satisfactory to the department, which may include a military identification card, county of residence, mailing address, proof of residential address satisfactory to the department, country of birth, and a brief description.
(b) Proof of birth date satisfactory to the department.
(c) Proof of identity satisfactory to the department. Such proof must include one of the following documents issued to the applicant:
1. A driver license record or identification card record from another jurisdiction that required the applicant to submit a document for identification which is substantially similar to a document required under subparagraph 2., subparagraph 3., subparagraph 4., subparagraph 5., subparagraph 6., subparagraph 7., or subparagraph 8.;
2. A certified copy of a United States birth certificate;
3. A valid, unexpired United States passport;
4. A naturalization certificate issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security;
5. A valid, unexpired alien registration receipt card (green card);
6. A Consular Report of Birth Abroad provided by the United States Department of State;
7. An unexpired employment authorization card issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security; or
8. Proof of nonimmigrant classification provided by the United States Department of Homeland Security, for an original driver license. In order to prove nonimmigrant classification, an applicant must provide at least one of the following documents. In addition, the department may require applicants to produce United States Department of Homeland Security documents for the sole purpose of establishing the maintenance of, or efforts to maintain, continuous lawful presence:
a. A notice of hearing from an immigration court scheduling a hearing on any proceeding.
b. A notice from the Board of Immigration Appeals acknowledging pendency of an appeal.
c. A notice of the approval of an application for adjustment of status issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
d. An official documentation confirming the filing of a petition for asylum or refugee status or any other relief issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
e. A notice of action transferring any pending matter from another jurisdiction to this state issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
f. An order of an immigration judge or immigration officer granting relief that authorizes the alien to live and work in the United States, including, but not limited to, asylum.
g. Evidence that an application is pending for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States, if a visa number is available having a current priority date for processing by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
h. On or after January 1, 2010, an unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired United States Visa affixed, accompanied by an approved I-94, documenting the most recent admittance into the United States.

A driver license or temporary permit issued based on documents required in subparagraph 7. or subparagraph 8. is valid for a period not to exceed the expiration date of the document presented or 1 year.

(d) Whether the applicant has previously been licensed to drive, and, if so, when and by what state, and whether any such license or driving privilege has ever been disqualified, revoked, or suspended, or whether an application has ever been refused, and, if so, the date of and reason for such disqualification, suspension, revocation, or refusal.
(e) Each such application may include fingerprints and other unique biometric means of identity.
(3) Each such application shall include a consent to release driving record information, entitling the department to request, receive, and exchange such information with other jurisdictions.
(4) Each such application shall include the option for the applicant to register emergency contact information and the option to be contacted with information about state and federal benefits available as a result of military service.
(5) In addition to the requirements of subsections (1), (2), and (3), each application for a commercial driver license shall include a certification as to whether the applicant is required by federal or state law to undergo biennial physical examinations and other certifications required by the department.
(6) The department may not issue a driver license to a person who has never been issued a driver license in any jurisdiction until he or she successfully completes the traffic law and substance abuse education course prescribed in s. 322.095.
(7) The department may not issue a driver license or identification card, as described in s. 322.051, to an applicant if the applicant holds a valid driver license or identification card issued by any state.
(8) The application form for an original, renewal, or replacement driver license or identification card must include language permitting the following:
(a) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which contribution shall be deposited into the Health Care Trust Fund for organ and tissue donor education and for maintaining the organ and tissue donor registry.
(b) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which shall be distributed to the Florida Council of the Blind.
(c) A voluntary contribution of $2 per applicant, which shall be distributed to the Hearing Research Institute, Incorporated.
(d) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which shall be distributed to the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International.
(e) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which shall be distributed to the Children’s Hearing Help Fund.
(f) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which shall be distributed to Family First, a nonprofit organization.
(g) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to Stop Heart Disease, which shall be distributed to the Florida Heart Research Institute, a nonprofit organization.
(h) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to Senior Vision Services, which shall be distributed to the Florida Association of Agencies Serving the Blind, Inc., a not-for-profit organization.
(i) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant for services for persons with developmental disabilities, which shall be distributed to The Arc of Florida.
(j) A voluntary contribution of $1 to the Ronald McDonald House, which shall be distributed each month to Ronald McDonald House Charities of Tampa Bay, Inc.
(k) Notwithstanding s. 322.081, a voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which shall be distributed to the League Against Cancer/La Liga Contra el Cancer, a not-for-profit organization.
(l) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse, which shall be distributed to Lauren’s Kids, Inc., a nonprofit organization.
(m) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant, which shall be distributed to Prevent Blindness Florida, a not-for-profit organization, to prevent blindness and preserve the sight of the residents of this state.
(n) Notwithstanding s. 322.081, a voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to the state homes for veterans, to be distributed on a quarterly basis by the department to the Operations and Maintenance Trust Fund within the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
(o) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to the Disabled American Veterans, Department of Florida, which shall be distributed quarterly to Disabled American Veterans, Department of Florida, a nonprofit organization.
(p) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant for Autism Services and Supports, which shall be distributed to Achievement and Rehabilitation Centers, Inc., Autism Services Fund.
(q) A voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to Support Our Troops, which shall be distributed to Support Our Troops, Inc., a Florida not-for-profit organization.
(r) Notwithstanding s. 322.081, a voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to aid the homeless. Contributions made pursuant to this paragraph shall be deposited into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the Department of Children and Families and used by the State Office on Homelessness to supplement grants made under s. 420.622(4) and (5), provide information to the public about homelessness in the state, and provide literature for homeless persons seeking assistance.
(s) A voluntary contribution of $1 or more per applicant to End Breast Cancer, which shall be distributed to the Florida Breast Cancer Foundation.
(t) Notwithstanding s. 322.081(1), a voluntary contribution of $1 or more per applicant to Childhood Cancer Care, which shall be distributed to the Live Like Bella Childhood Cancer Foundation.
(u) A voluntary contribution of $1 or more per applicant to Best Buddies International, Inc., which shall be distributed monthly to Best Buddies International, Inc., a corporation not for profit under s. 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

A statement providing an explanation of the purpose of the trust funds shall also be included. For the purpose of applying the service charge provided under s. 215.20, contributions received under paragraphs (b)-(u) are not income of a revenue nature.

(9)(a) To support the carrying out of the duties of the Department of Veterans’ Affairs prescribed in s. 292.05 and to facilitate its outreach to veterans residing in this state, the application form for an original, a renewal, or a replacement driver license or identification card must include a voluntary checkoff authorizing a veteran of the United States Armed Forces to request written or electronic information on federal, state, and local benefits and services available to veterans. The veteran may elect to receive requested information through United States mail or by e-mail. The requested information shall be delivered to the veteran by any third-party provider selected by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to act on its behalf.
(b) The department shall collaborate with the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to administer this subsection. The department shall report monthly to the Department of Veterans’ Affairs the name and mailing address or e-mail address of each veteran who requests information as provided in paragraph (a). Following receipt of the monthly report, the Department of Veterans’ Affairs shall disseminate the contact information for each such veteran to the third-party provider acting on its behalf. The third-party provider must be a nonprofit organization with sufficient ability to communicate with veterans residing throughout this state. For purposes of this paragraph, the term “nonprofit organization” means an organization exempt from the federal income tax under s. 501 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 or any federal, state, or local governmental entity.
(c) In addition to the requirements of paragraph (b), the Department of Veterans’ Affairs shall disseminate the contact information for a veteran who selects the voluntary checkoff to the appropriate county or city veteran service officer in order to facilitate further outreach to veterans.
(d)1. The contact information of a veteran which is obtained by a third-party provider pursuant to this subsection may be used only as authorized by this subsection. The third-party provider may not sell such contact information. Except as otherwise provided, the third-party provider must maintain the confidentiality of the contact information in accordance with chapter 119 and the federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. ss. 2721 et seq.
2. A person who willfully and knowingly violates this paragraph commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(10) The department may collect electronic mail addresses and use electronic mail in lieu of the United States Postal Service for the purpose of providing renewal notices.
History.s. 20, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(634); s. 20, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 71-74; s. 8, ch. 78-394; s. 1, ch. 85-98; s. 2, ch. 89-134; s. 14, ch. 89-282; s. 12, ch. 91-82; s. 28, ch. 91-107; s. 6, ch. 91-243; s. 403, ch. 95-148; s. 2, ch. 95-423; s. 24, ch. 96-413; s. 31, ch. 96-418; s. 2, ch. 98-68; ss. 40, 74, 282, ch. 99-248; s. 36, ch. 2000-313; s. 4, ch. 2002-76; s. 2, ch. 2002-259; s. 28, ch. 2004-5; s. 7, ch. 2004-235; s. 1, ch. 2005-68; ss. 19, 71, ch. 2005-164; s. 42, ch. 2006-290; s. 6, ch. 2008-9; s. 2, ch. 2008-102; s. 28, ch. 2008-176; s. 1, ch. 2009-100; s. 11, ch. 2009-183; s. 2, ch. 2010-82; s. 2, ch. 2010-86; s. 32, ch. 2010-223; s. 1, ch. 2011-166; s. 2, ch. 2012-86; s. 50, ch. 2012-181; s. 2, ch. 2013-74; s. 47, ch. 2013-160; s. 2, ch. 2015-60; s. 2, ch. 2015-85; s. 14, ch. 2015-163; s. 2, ch. 2016-242; s. 10, ch. 2017-157; s. 2, ch. 2019-47; s. 1, ch. 2020-178; s. 5, ch. 2023-186.
322.081 Requests to establish voluntary checkoff on driver license application.
(1) An organization that seeks authorization to establish a voluntary contribution on a driver license application must submit to the department:
(a) A request for the particular voluntary contribution being sought, describing the proposed voluntary contribution in general terms.
(b) An application fee, not to exceed $10,000 to defray the department’s cost for reviewing the application and developing the voluntary contribution checkoff, if authorized. State funds may not be used to pay the application fee.
(c) A marketing strategy outlining short-term and long-term marketing plans for the requested voluntary contribution and a financial analysis outlining the anticipated revenues and the planned expenditures of the revenues to be derived from the voluntary contribution.

The information required under this subsection must be submitted to the department at least 90 days before the convening of the next regular session of the Legislature.

(2) If the voluntary contribution is not approved by the Legislature, the application fee must be refunded to the requesting organization.
(3) The department must include any voluntary contributions approved by the Legislature on the driver license application form when the form is reprinted by the agency.
(4)(a) The department must discontinue the voluntary contribution if:
1. Less than $25,000 has been contributed by the end of the 5th year.
2. Less than $25,000 is contributed during any subsequent 5-year period.
(b) The department is authorized to discontinue the voluntary contribution and distribution of associated proceeds if the organization no longer exists, if the organization has stopped providing services that are authorized to be funded from the voluntary contributions, or pursuant to an organizational recipient’s request. Organizations are required to notify the department immediately to stop warrants for voluntary check-off contribution, if any of the conditions in this subsection exist, and must meet the requirements of paragraph (5)(b) or paragraph (5)(c), if applicable, for any period of operation during the fiscal year.
(5) A voluntary contribution collected and distributed under this chapter, or any interest earned from those contributions, may not be used for commercial or for-profit activities nor for general or administrative expenses, except as authorized by law.
(a) All organizations that receive annual use fee proceeds from the department are responsible for ensuring that proceeds are used in accordance with law.
(b) Any organization not subject to audit pursuant to s. 215.97 shall annually attest, under penalties of perjury, that such proceeds were used in compliance with law. The attestation shall be made annually in a form and format determined by the department.
(c) Any voluntary contributions authorized by law shall be deposited into and distributed from the Motor Vehicle License Clearing Trust Fund to the recipients specified in this chapter.
(d) Any organization subject to audit pursuant to s. 215.97 shall submit an audit report in accordance with rules promulgated by the Auditor General. The annual attestation must be submitted to the department for review within 9 months after the end of the organization’s fiscal year.
(6) Within 90 days after receiving an organization’s audit or attestation, the department shall determine which recipients have not complied with subsection (5). If the department determines that an organization has not complied or has failed to use the revenues in accordance with law, the department must discontinue the distribution of the revenues to the organization until the department determines that the organization has complied. If an organization fails to comply within 12 months after the voluntary contributions are withheld by the department, the proceeds shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund to offset department costs.
(7) The department has the authority to examine all records pertaining to the use of funds from the voluntary contributions authorized.
(8) All organizations seeking to establish a voluntary contribution on a driver license application that are required to operate under the Solicitation of Contributions Act, as provided in chapter 496, must do so before funds may be distributed.
History.s. 5, ch. 98-414; s. 41, ch. 99-248; s. 11, ch. 2001-196; s. 103, ch. 2001-266; s. 31, ch. 2009-71.
322.09 Application of minors; responsibility for negligence or misconduct of minor.
(1)(a) The application of any person under the age of 18 years for a driver license must be signed and verified before a person authorized to administer oaths by the father, mother, or guardian; by a secondary guardian if the primary guardian dies before the minor reaches 18 years of age; or, if there is no parent or guardian, by another responsible adult who is willing to assume the obligation imposed under this chapter upon a person signing the application of a minor. This section does not apply to a person under the age of 18 years who is emancipated by marriage.
(b) There shall be submitted with each application a certified copy of a United States birth certificate, a valid United States passport, an alien registration receipt card (green card), an employment authorization card issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security, or proof of nonimmigrant classification provided by the United States Department of Homeland Security, for an original license.
(2) Any negligence or willful misconduct of a minor under the age of 18 years when driving a motor vehicle upon a highway shall be imputed to the person who has signed the application of such minor for a permit or license, which person shall be jointly and severally liable with such minor for any damages caused by such negligence or willful misconduct.
(3) The department may not issue a driver license or learner’s driver license to any applicant under the age of 18 years who is not in compliance with the requirements of s. 322.091.
(4) Notwithstanding subsections (1) and (2), if a caregiver of a minor who is under the age of 18 years and is in out-of-home care as defined in s. 39.01(55), an authorized representative of a residential group home at which such a minor resides, the caseworker at the agency at which the state has placed the minor, or a guardian ad litem specifically authorized by the minor’s caregiver to sign for a learner’s driver license signs the minor’s application for a learner’s driver license, that caregiver, group home representative, caseworker, or guardian ad litem does not assume any obligation or become liable for any damages caused by the negligence or willful misconduct of the minor by reason of having signed the application. Before signing the application, the caseworker, authorized group home representative, or guardian ad litem shall notify the caregiver or other responsible party of his or her intent to sign and verify the application.
(5) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (1) and (2), a caseworker at the agency at which the state has placed a minor in foster care may sign the minor’s application for a driver license pursuant to a court-approved transition plan. Before signing the application, the caseworker shall notify the foster parent or other responsible party of the intent to sign and verify the application. The caseworker does not assume any obligation or become liable for any damages caused by the negligence or willful misconduct of the minor by reason of having signed the application.
History.s. 21, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(635); s. 21, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 29671, 1955; s. 1, ch. 77-373; s. 9, ch. 78-394; ss. 3, 7, ch. 89-112; ss. 3, 4, ch. 93-144; s. 2, ch. 96-414; s. 15, ch. 97-234; s. 75, ch. 99-248; s. 1, ch. 2001-83; s. 29, ch. 2004-5; s. 72, ch. 2005-164; s. 1, ch. 2007-147; s. 4, ch. 2017-8; s. 14, ch. 2018-103; s. 45, ch. 2019-3.
322.091 Attendance requirements.
(1) ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR DRIVING PRIVILEGES.A minor is not eligible for driving privileges unless that minor:
(a) Is enrolled in a public school, nonpublic school, or home education program and satisfies relevant attendance requirements;
(b) Has received a high school diploma, a high school equivalency diploma, a special diploma, or a certificate of high school completion;
(c) Is enrolled in a study course in preparation for the high school equivalency examination and satisfies relevant attendance requirements;
(d) Is enrolled in other educational activities approved by the district school board and satisfies relevant attendance requirements;
(e) Has been issued a certificate of exemption according to s. 1003.21(3); or
(f) Has received a hardship waiver under this section.

The department may not issue a driver license or learner’s driver license to, or shall suspend the driver license or learner’s driver license of, any minor concerning whom the department receives notification of noncompliance with the requirements of this section.

(2) NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO SUSPEND; SUSPENSION; RECORD OF NONCOMPLIANCE.
(a) The department shall notify each minor for whom the department has received notification of noncompliance with the requirements of this section as provided in s. 1003.27, and the minor’s parent or guardian, of the department’s intent to suspend the minor’s driving privileges.
(b) The minor, or the parent or guardian of the minor, has 15 calendar days after the date of receipt of this notice to provide proof of compliance with the requirements of this section as provided in subsection (4) or to request a hardship waiver hearing under subsection (3).
(c) Twenty days after the date of issuance of this notice, the department shall suspend the minor’s operator’s license or learner’s driver license or record the legal name, sex, date of birth, and social security number of each minor who does not possess a driver license or learner’s driver license, unless the minor has provided the department with verification of compliance with the requirements of subsection (1) or the appropriate school official has provided the department with verification of a request for a waiver hearing.
(d) Upon notification of the outcome of a hardship waiver hearing, the department shall suspend the driver license or learner’s driver license of a minor who was denied a hardship waiver, or record the legal name, sex, date of birth, and social security number of a minor who does not possess a driver license or learner’s driver license and who was denied a hardship waiver.
(e) The department may not issue a driver license or learner’s driver license to any minor for whom it has a record of noncompliance with the requirements of subsection (1) unless the minor submits verification of compliance pursuant to subsection (4).
(3) HARDSHIP WAIVER AND APPEAL.
(a) A minor, or the parent or guardian of a minor, has 15 calendar days after the date of receipt of the notice of intent to suspend to request a hardship waiver hearing before the public school principal, the principal’s designee, or the designee of the governing body of a private school for the purpose of reviewing the pending suspension of driving privileges. The school official receiving the request shall notify the department of the request for a waiver hearing within 24 hours after receiving the request. Public school officials shall also notify the district school board of the request for a waiver hearing. The hearing must be conducted within 30 calendar days after the public school principal, the principal’s designee, or the designee of the governing body of a private school receives the request.
(b) The public school principal, the principal’s designee, or the designee of the governing body of a private school shall waive the requirements of subsection (1) for any minor under the school’s jurisdiction for whom a personal or family hardship requires that the minor have a driver license for his or her own, or his or her family’s, employment or medical care. The minor or the minor’s parent or guardian may present other evidence that indicates compliance with the requirements of subsection (1) at the waiver hearing. The public school principal, the principal’s designee, or the designee of the governing body of a private school shall consider the recommendations of teachers, other school officials, certified school counselors, or academic advisers before waiving the requirements of subsection (1).
(c) The public school principal, the principal’s designee, or the designee of the governing body of a private school shall notify the department of the outcome of a minor’s hardship waiver hearing within 24 hours after conducting the hearing. Public school officials shall also notify the district school board of the outcome of the hearing.
(d) Any person denied a hardship waiver by a public school principal, the principal’s designee, or the designee of the governing body of a private school may appeal the decision to the district school board or the governing body of the private school. The district school board or the governing body of the private school shall notify the department if the hardship waiver is subsequently granted.
(4) VERIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE AND REINSTATEMENT.A district school board shall provide a minor with written verification that he or she is in compliance with the requirements of subsection (1) if the district determines that he or she has been in compliance for 30 days prior to the request for verification of compliance. Upon receiving written verification that the minor is again in compliance with the requirements of subsection (1), the department shall reinstate the minor’s driving privilege. Thereafter, if the school district determines that the minor is not in compliance with the requirements of subsection (1), the department shall suspend the minor’s driving privilege until the minor is 18 years of age or otherwise satisfies the requirements of subsection (1), whichever occurs first.
(5) REPORTING AND ACCOUNTABILITY.The department shall report quarterly to each school district the legal name, sex, date of birth, and social security number of each student whose driving privileges have been suspended under this section.
History.s. 16, ch. 97-234; s. 968, ch. 2002-387; s. 1, ch. 2013-89; s. 1, ch. 2014-20.
322.095 Traffic law and substance abuse education program for driver license applicants.
(1) Each applicant for a driver license must complete a traffic law and substance abuse education course, unless the applicant has been licensed in another jurisdiction or has satisfactorily completed a Department of Education driver education course offered pursuant to s. 1003.48.
(2) The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles must approve traffic law and substance abuse education courses, including courses that use communications technology as the delivery method.
(a) In addition to the course approval criteria provided in this section, initial approval of traffic law and substance abuse education courses shall be based on the department’s review of all course materials which must be designed to promote safety, education, and driver awareness; course presentation to the department by the provider; and the provider’s plan for effective oversight of the course by those who deliver the course in the state.
(b) Each course provider seeking approval of a traffic law and substance abuse education course must submit:
1. Proof of ownership, copyright, or written permission from the course owner to use the course in the state.
2. The curriculum for the courses which must promote motorcyclist, bicyclist, and pedestrian safety and provide instruction on the physiological and psychological consequences of the abuse of alcohol and other drugs; the societal and economic costs of alcohol and drug abuse; the effects of alcohol and drug abuse on the driver of a motor vehicle; the laws of this state relating to the operation of a motor vehicle; the risk factors involved in driver attitude and irresponsible driver behaviors, such as speeding, reckless driving, and running red lights and stop signs; and the results of the use of electronic devices while driving.
(3) Prior to offering the course, the course provider must obtain certification from the department that the course complies with the requirements of this section. If the course is offered in a classroom setting, the course provider and any schools authorized by the provider to teach the course must offer the approved course at locations that are free from distractions and reasonably accessible to most applicants and must issue a certificate to those persons successfully completing the course.
(4) In addition to a regular course fee, an assessment fee in the amount of $3 shall be collected by the school from each person who attends a course. The course provider must remit the $3 assessment fee to the department for deposit into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund in order to receive a unique course completion certificate number for the student.
(5) The department may maintain the information and records necessary to administer its duties and responsibilities for the program. Course providers are required to maintain all records pertinent to the conduct of their approved courses for 5 years and allow the department to inspect such records as necessary. Records may be maintained in an electronic format. If such information is a public record as defined in chapter 119, it shall be made available to the public upon request pursuant to s. 119.07(1).
(6) The department shall design, develop, implement, and conduct effectiveness studies on each delivery method of all courses approved pursuant to this section on a recurring 5-year basis. At a minimum, studies shall be conducted on the effectiveness of each course in reducing DUI citations and decreasing moving traffic violations or collision recidivism. Upon notification that a course has failed an effectiveness study, the course provider shall immediately cease offering the course in the state.
(7) Courses approved under this section must be updated at the department’s request. Failure of a course provider to update the course within 90 days after the department’s request shall result in the suspension of the course approval until such time that the updates are submitted and approved by the department.
(8) Each course provider shall ensure that its driver improvement schools are conducting the approved courses fully, to the required time limits, and with the content requirements specified by the department. The course provider shall ensure that only department-approved instructional materials are used in the presentation of the course, and that all driver improvement schools conducting the course do so in a manner that maximizes its impact and effectiveness. The course provider shall ensure that any student who is unable to attend or complete a course due to action, error, or omission on the part of the course provider or driver improvement school conducting the course shall be accommodated to permit completion of the course at no additional cost.
(9) Traffic law and substance abuse education courses shall be conducted with a minimum of 4 hours devoted to course content minus a maximum of 30 minutes allotted for breaks.
(10) A course provider may not require any student to purchase a course completion certificate. Course providers offering paper or electronic certificates for purchase must clearly convey to the student that this purchase is optional, that the only valid course completion certificate is the electronic one that is entered into the department’s Driver Improvement Certificate Issuance System, and that paper certificates are not acceptable for any licensing purpose.
(11) Course providers and all associated driver improvement schools that offer approved courses shall disclose all fees associated with the course and shall not charge any fees that are not clearly listed during the registration process.
(12) Course providers shall submit course completion information to the department through the department’s Driver Improvement Certificate Issuance System within 5 days. The submission shall be free of charge to the student.
(13) The department may deny, suspend, or revoke course approval upon proof that the course provider:
(a) Violated this section.
(b) Has been convicted of a crime involving any drug-related or DUI-related offense, a felony, fraud, or a crime directly related to the personal safety of a student.
(c) Failed to satisfy the effectiveness criteria as outlined in subsection (6).
(d) Obtained course approval by fraud or misrepresentation.
(e) Obtained or assisted a person in obtaining any driver license by fraud or misrepresentation.
(f) Conducted a traffic law and substance abuse education course in the state while approval of such course was under suspension or revocation.
(g) Failed to provide effective oversight of those who deliver the course in the state.
(14) The department shall not accept certificates from students who take a course after the course has been suspended or revoked.
(15) A person who has been convicted of a crime involving any drug-related or DUI-related offense in the past 5 years, a felony, fraud, or a crime directly related to the personal safety of a student shall not be allowed to conduct traffic law and substance abuse education courses.
(16) The department shall summarily suspend approval of any course without preliminary hearing for the purpose of protecting the public safety and enforcing any provision of law governing traffic law and substance abuse education courses.
(17) Except as otherwise provided in this section, before final department action denying, suspending, or revoking approval of a course, the course provider shall have the opportunity to request either a formal or informal administrative hearing to show cause why the action should not be taken.
(18) The department may levy and collect a civil fine of at least $1,000 but not more than $5,000 for each violation of this section. Proceeds from fines collected shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund and used to cover the cost of administering this section or promoting highway safety initiatives.
History.s. 1, ch. 89-134; s. 72, ch. 93-120; s. 4, ch. 93-246; s. 4, ch. 95-326; s. 9, ch. 96-330; s. 37, ch. 2000-313; s. 47, ch. 2002-1; s. 15, ch. 2002-235; s. 969, ch. 2002-387; s. 48, ch. 2013-160.
322.10 Release from liability.Any person who has signed the application of a minor for a driver license may thereafter file with the department a verified written request that the license of said minor so granted be canceled. Thereupon, the department shall cancel the license of that minor, and the person who signed the application of such minor shall be relieved from liability imposed under this chapter by reason of having signed that minor’s application for any subsequent negligence or willful misconduct of such minor in operating a motor vehicle.
History.s. 22, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(636); s. 22, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 10, ch. 78-394.
322.11 Revocation of license upon death of person signing minor’s application.The department, upon receipt of satisfactory evidence of the death of the person who signed the application of a minor for a license, shall, 90 days after giving written notice to the minor, cancel such license and may not issue a new license until the new application, signed and verified, is made as required by this chapter. This provision does not apply if the minor has attained the age of 18 years.
History.s. 23, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(637); s. 23, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 73, ch. 2005-164.
322.12 Examination of applicants.
(1) It is the intent of the Legislature that every applicant for an original driver license in this state be required to pass an examination pursuant to this section. However, the department may waive the knowledge, endorsement, and skills tests for an applicant who is otherwise qualified and who surrenders a valid driver license from another state or a province of Canada, or a valid driver license issued by the United States Armed Forces, if the driver applies for a Florida license of an equal or lesser classification. An applicant who fails to pass the initial knowledge test incurs a $10 fee for each subsequent test, to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, except that if a subsequent test is administered by the tax collector, the tax collector shall retain such $10 fee, less the general revenue service charge set forth in s. 215.20(1). An applicant who fails to pass the initial skills test incurs a $20 fee for each subsequent test, to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, except that if a subsequent test is administered by the tax collector, the tax collector shall retain such $20 fee, less the general revenue service charge set forth in s. 215.20(1). A person who seeks to retain a hazardous-materials endorsement, pursuant to s. 322.57(1)(e), must pass the hazardous-materials test, upon surrendering his or her commercial driver license, if the person has not taken and passed the hazardous-materials test within 2 years before applying for a commercial driver license in this state.
(2) The department shall examine every applicant for a driver license, including an applicant who is licensed in another state or country, except as otherwise provided in this chapter. A person who holds a learner’s driver license as provided for in s. 322.1615 is not required to pay a fee for successfully completing the examination showing his or her ability to operate a motor vehicle as provided for herein and need not pay the fee for a replacement license as provided in s. 322.17(2).
(3) For an applicant for a Class E driver license, such examination shall include all of the following:
(a) A test of the applicant’s eyesight given by the driver license examiner designated by the department or by a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician.
(b) A test of the applicant’s hearing given by a driver license examiner or a licensed physician.
(c) A test of the applicant’s ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic; his or her knowledge of the traffic laws of this state, including laws regulating driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, and driving while intoxicated; and his or her knowledge of the effects of alcohol and controlled substances upon persons and the dangers of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances. At least 25 questions within the bank of test questions must address bicycle and pedestrian safety.
(d) An actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.
(4) The examination for an applicant for a commercial driver license shall include a test of the applicant’s eyesight given by a driver license examiner designated by the department or by a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician and a test of the applicant’s hearing given by a driver license examiner or a licensed physician. The examination shall also include a test of the applicant’s ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic; his or her knowledge of the traffic laws of this state pertaining to the class of motor vehicle which he or she is applying to be licensed to operate, including laws regulating driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, and driving while intoxicated; his or her knowledge of the effects of alcohol and controlled substances and the dangers of driving a motor vehicle after having consumed alcohol or controlled substances; and his or her knowledge of any special skills, requirements, or precautions necessary for the safe operation of the class of vehicle which he or she is applying to be licensed to operate. In addition, the examination shall include an actual demonstration of the applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the safe operation of a motor vehicle or combination of vehicles of the type covered by the license classification which the applicant is seeking, including an examination of the applicant’s ability to perform an inspection of his or her vehicle.
(a) The portion of the examination which tests an applicant’s safe driving ability shall be administered by the department or by an entity authorized by the department to administer such examination, pursuant to s. 322.56. Such examination shall be administered at a location approved by the department.
(b) A person who seeks to retain a hazardous-materials endorsement must, upon renewal, pass the test for such endorsement as specified in s. 322.57(1)(e), if the person has not taken and passed the hazardous-materials test within 2 years preceding his or her application for a commercial driver license in this state.
(5)(a) The department shall formulate a separate examination for applicants for licenses to operate motorcycles. Any applicant for a driver license who wishes to operate a motorcycle, and who is otherwise qualified, must successfully complete such an examination, which is in addition to the examination administered under subsection (3). The examination must test the applicant’s knowledge of the operation of a motorcycle and of any traffic laws specifically relating thereto and must include an actual demonstration of his or her ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motorcycle. Any applicant who fails to pass the initial knowledge examination will incur a $5 fee for each subsequent examination, to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. Any applicant who fails to pass the initial skills examination will incur a $10 fee for each subsequent examination, to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. In the formulation of the examination, the department shall consider the use of the Motorcycle Operator Skills Test and the Motorcycle in Traffic Test offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. The department shall indicate on the license of any person who successfully completes the examination that the licensee is authorized to operate a motorcycle. If the applicant wishes to be licensed to operate a motorcycle only, he or she need not take the skill or road test required under subsection (3) for the operation of a motor vehicle, and the department shall indicate such a limitation on his or her license as a restriction. Every first-time applicant for licensure to operate a motorcycle must provide proof of completion of a motorcycle safety course, as provided for in s. 322.0255, before the applicant may be licensed to operate a motorcycle.
(b) The department may exempt any applicant from the examination provided in this subsection if the applicant presents a certificate showing successful completion of a course approved by the department, which course includes a similar examination of the knowledge and skill of the applicant in the operation of a motorcycle.
(c) This subsection does not apply to the operation of an autocycle, as defined in s. 316.003.
History.s. 24, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(638); s. 24, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 2, ch. 61-232; s. 1, ch. 67-197; s. 3, ch. 75-113; s. 11, ch. 78-394; s. 12, ch. 82-155; s. 6, ch. 83-228; s. 2, ch. 84-139; ss. 1, 2, ch. 84-314; s. 2, ch. 85-98; s. 1, ch. 85-181; s. 4, ch. 86-296; ss. 4, 19, ch. 87-161; s. 8, ch. 88-405; s. 6, ch. 89-282; s. 5, ch. 89-525; s. 7, ch. 91-243; s. 73, ch. 93-120; s. 75, ch. 94-306; s. 930, ch. 95-148; s. 12, ch. 95-247; s. 37, ch. 95-333; s. 3, ch. 96-414; s. 105, ch. 99-13; s. 283, ch. 99-248; s. 3, ch. 2003-410; s. 74, ch. 2005-164; s. 43, ch. 2006-290; s. 32, ch. 2009-71; s. 58, ch. 2014-17; s. 1, ch. 2018-129; s. 8, ch. 2018-130; s. 6, ch. 2021-180.
322.121 Periodic reexamination of all drivers.
(1) It is the intent of the Legislature that all licensed drivers in Florida be reexamined upon renewal of their licenses. Because only a small percentage of drivers in the state are categorized as problem drivers, the Legislature intends that renewals be processed expeditiously by examinations of the licensee’s eyesight and hearing only.
(2) For each licensee whose driving record does not show any revocations, disqualifications, or suspensions for the preceding 7 years or any convictions for the preceding 3 years except for convictions of the following nonmoving violations:
(a) Failure to exhibit a vehicle registration certificate, rental agreement, or cab card pursuant to s. 320.0605;
(b) Failure to renew a motor vehicle or mobile home registration that has been expired for 6 months or less pursuant to s. 320.07(3)(a);
(c) Operating a motor vehicle with an expired license that has been expired for 6 months or less pursuant to s. 322.065;
(d) Failure to carry or exhibit a license pursuant to s. 322.15(1); or
(e) Failure to notify the department of a change of address or name within 10 days pursuant to s. 322.19,

the department shall cause such licensee’s license to be prominently marked with the notation “Safe Driver.”

(3) Eyesight examinations must be administered as provided in s. 322.12.
(4) An examination fee may not be assessed for reexamination required by this section.
(5) A member of the United States Armed Forces, his or her spouse, or a dependent residing with him or her, shall be granted an automatic extension for the expiration of his or her Class E license without reexamination while the member of the United States Armed Forces is serving on active duty outside this state. This extension is valid for 90 days after the member of the United States Armed Forces is either discharged or returns to this state to live.
(6) In addition to any other examination authorized by this section, an applicant for a renewal of a commercial driver license may be required to complete successfully an examination of his or her knowledge regarding state and federal rules, regulations, and laws, governing the type of vehicle which he or she is applying to be licensed to operate.
(7) In addition to any other examination authorized by this section, an applicant for a renewal of an endorsement issued under s. 322.57(1)(a), (b), (d), (e), or (f) may be required to complete successfully an examination of his or her knowledge regarding state and federal rules, regulations, and laws, governing the type of vehicle which he or she is seeking an endorsement to operate.
History.s. 1, ch. 67-464; ss. 2, 3, ch. 67-371; ss. 24, 31, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 75-228; s. 12, ch. 78-394; ss. 3, 4, ch. 80-308; s. 3, ch. 85-98; s. 2, ch. 85-181; s. 11, ch. 89-282; ss. 1, 2, ch. 90-19; s. 8, ch. 91-243; s. 76, ch. 94-306; s. 931, ch. 95-148; s. 5, ch. 95-326; s. 37, ch. 97-300; s. 106, ch. 99-13; s. 284, ch. 99-248; s. 33, ch. 2006-1; s. 44, ch. 2006-290; s. 33, ch. 2010-223; s. 51, ch. 2012-181; s. 25, ch. 2014-1; s. 15, ch. 2017-3; s. 4, ch. 2021-235.
322.125 Medical Advisory Board.
(1) There shall be a Medical Advisory Board composed of not fewer than 12 or more than 25 members, at least one of whom must be 60 years of age or older and all but one of whose medical and other specialties must relate to driving abilities, which number must include a doctor of medicine who is employed by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in Tallahassee, who shall serve as administrative officer for the board. The executive director of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall recommend persons to serve as board members. Every member but two must be a doctor of medicine licensed to practice medicine in this or any other state. One member must be an optometrist licensed to practice optometry in this state. One member must be a chiropractic physician licensed to practice chiropractic medicine in this state. Members shall be approved by the Cabinet and shall serve 4-year staggered terms. The board membership must, to the maximum extent possible, consist of equal representation of the disciplines of the medical community treating the mental or physical disabilities that could affect the safe operation of motor vehicles.
(2) The advisory board shall meet at the call of its chair, at the request of a majority of its membership, at the request of the department, or at such times as may be prescribed by its rules.
(3)(a) The board shall advise the department on medical criteria and vision standards relating to the licensing of drivers. In fulfillment of this duty, the board shall assist the department in developing, and keeping current with medical and scientific advancements, coded restrictions to be placed upon driver licenses of persons whose medical condition warrants a requirement that they wear medical identification bracelets when operating a motor vehicle, pursuant to s. 322.16(1)(d).
(b) Upon request of the department, the board shall report to the department on the individual physical and mental qualifications of a licensed driver or applicant. When a board member acts directly as a consultant to the department, a board member’s individual review and evaluation of physical and mental qualifications of a licensed driver or applicant is exempt from the provisions of s. 286.011.
(4) Reports received or made by the board or its members for the purpose of assisting the department in determining whether a person is qualified to be licensed are for the confidential use of the board or the department and may not be divulged to any person except the licensed driver or applicant or used as evidence in any trial, and are exempt from the provisions of s. 119.07(1), except that the reports may be admitted in proceedings under s. 322.271 or s. 322.31. Any person conducting an examination pursuant to this section may be compelled to testify concerning his or her observations and findings in such proceedings.
(5) There shall be no monetary liability on the part of, and no cause of action for damages shall arise against, any member of the board for any action taken without intentional fraud in carrying out the provisions of this section.
(6) Members of the board shall be entitled to per diem and travel expenses pursuant to s. 112.061.
(7) The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall adopt such rules as are required to carry out the purpose of this section.
History.s. 1, ch. 75-289; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 4, ch. 78-323; ss. 1, 2, ch. 79-64; ss. 1, 2, 3, ch. 81-66; ss. 1, 4, ch. 82-46; s. 5, ch. 87-172; ss. 1, 3, 4, ch. 88-107; s. 3, ch. 88-410; s. 1, ch. 89-90; s. 5, ch. 91-429; s. 404, ch. 95-148; s. 154, ch. 96-406; s. 251, ch. 98-166; s. 12, ch. 2009-183; s. 49, ch. 2013-160.
322.126 Report of disability to department; content; use.
(1) For the purpose of the reports authorized by this section, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, assisted by the Medical Advisory Board, shall:
(a) Define mental or physical disabilities affecting the ability of a person to safely operate a motor vehicle.
(b) Develop and keep current coded restrictions to be placed upon driver licenses of persons who are required to wear medical identification bracelets when operating a motor vehicle.
(2) Any physician, person, or agency having knowledge of any licensed driver’s or applicant’s mental or physical disability to drive or need to obtain or to wear a medical identification bracelet is authorized to report such knowledge to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The report should be made in writing giving the full name, date of birth, address, and a description of the alleged disability of any person over 15 years of age having mental or physical disorders that could affect his or her driving ability.
(3) The reports authorized by this section shall be confidential and exempt from the provisions of s. 119.07(1) and shall be used solely for the purpose of determining the qualifications of any person to operate a motor vehicle on the highways of this state. No civil or criminal action may be brought against any physician, person, or agency who provides the information required herein.
(4) No report forwarded under the provisions of this section shall be used as evidence in any civil or criminal trial or in any court proceeding.
History.s. 2, ch. 75-289; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 4, ch. 88-410; s. 2, ch. 89-90; s. 77, ch. 94-306; s. 932, ch. 95-148; s. 155, ch. 96-406.
322.13 Driver license examiners.
(1)(a) The department shall designate persons to serve as driver license examiners who, upon accepting such designation, shall conduct examinations hereunder, perform other assigned duties, and make factual reports of findings and recommendations to the department as it may require. In the course of his or her duties, an examiner is authorized to administer oaths or have persons affirm as to the truth of statements filed before him or her.
(b) Those persons serving as driver license examiners are not liable for actions taken within the scope of their employment or designation, except as provided by s. 768.28.
(2) The department shall further designate persons to serve as driver license examiners to enforce all driver license laws; suspension, revocation, and cancellation orders; and laws relating to the registration of motor vehicles entered in compliance with the provisions of this chapter and chapters 320, 324, and 488. Upon designation, certain examiners shall be empowered to issue uniform traffic citations to persons found in violation of such chapters. Any person who fails or refuses to surrender his or her driver license, registration certificate, and license plate upon lawful demand of an examiner is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. Persons designated as examiners by the department shall not be considered for membership in the state high-risk retirement program.
History.s. 25, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(639); s. 25, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 57-767; s. 13, ch. 78-394; s. 4, ch. 85-98; s. 11, ch. 87-225; s. 42, ch. 91-224; s. 1, ch. 93-10; s. 405, ch. 95-148; s. 47, ch. 96-413.
322.135 Driver license agents.
(1) The department shall, upon application, authorize by interagency agreement any or all of the tax collectors who are constitutional officers under s. 1(d), Art. VIII of the State Constitution in the several counties of the state, subject to the requirements of law, in accordance with rules of the department, to serve as its agent for the provision of specified driver license services.
(a) These services shall be limited to the issuance of driver licenses and identification cards as authorized by this chapter.
(b) Each tax collector who is authorized by the department to provide driver license services shall bear all costs associated with providing those services.
(c) A service fee of $6.25 must be charged, in addition to the fees set forth in this chapter, for providing all services pursuant to this chapter. The service fee may not be charged:
1. More than once per customer during a single visit to a tax collector’s office.
2. For a reexamination requested by the Medical Advisory Board or required pursuant to s. 322.221.
3. For a voter registration transaction.
4. In violation of any federal or state law.
5. To a veteran receiving any service pursuant to this chapter, upon presentation of a copy of the veteran’s:
a. DD Form 214, issued by the United States Department of Defense;
b. Veteran health identification card, issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs;
c. Veteran identification card, issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs pursuant to the Veterans Identification Card Act of 2015, Pub. L. No. 114-31; or
d. Other acceptable form specified by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
(2) Each tax collector is required to give a good and sufficient surety bond, payable to the department, conditioned upon his or her faithfully and truly performing the duties imposed upon him or her according to the requirements of law and the rules of the department and upon his or her accounting for all materials, records, and other property and money that come into his or her possession or control by reason of performing these duties.
(a) The amount of the bond must be determined by the department as an amount not less than 10 percent above the average of the daily deposits of each tax collector.
(b) If a tax collector is also an agent of the department for purposes of s. 320.03, the amount of the bond must be at least 10 percent above the average of the total daily deposits of all funds received by the tax collector on behalf of the department.
(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 320.03, only one bond is required in order for a tax collector to serve as an agent of the department under chapters 320 and 322.
(3) Each tax collector shall keep a full and complete record of all materials, records, and other properties received by him or her from the department, or from any other source, and shall make prompt remittance of moneys collected by him or her at such times and in such manner as prescribed by law, in accordance with departmental rules.
(4) A tax collector may not issue or renew a driver license if he or she has any reason to believe that the licensee or prospective licensee is physically or mentally unqualified to operate a motor vehicle.
(5) All driver license issuance services shall be assumed by the tax collectors who are constitutional officers under s. 1(d), Art. VIII of the State Constitution by June 30, 2015. The implementation shall follow the schedule outlined in the transition report of February 1, 2011, which was required pursuant to chapter 2010-163, Laws of Florida.
(6) Notwithstanding chapter 116, each county officer within this state who is authorized to collect funds provided for in this chapter shall pay all sums officially received by the officer into the State Treasury no later than 5 working days after the close of the business day in which the officer received the funds. Payment by county officers to the state shall be made by means of electronic funds transfers.
(7) The department may create exceptions by rule for tax collectors who cannot provide full driver license services due to the small population in the tax collector’s county.
History.s. 48, ch. 96-413; s. 2, ch. 2001-156; s. 34, ch. 2005-2; s. 75, ch. 2005-164; s. 33, ch. 2009-71; s. 4, ch. 2010-163; s. 23, ch. 2011-66; s. 50, ch. 2013-160; s. 6, ch. 2018-80.
322.14 Licenses issued to drivers.
(1)(a) The department shall, upon successful completion of all required examinations and payment of the required fee, issue to every qualified applicant a printed driver license that must bear a color photograph or digital image of the licensee; the name of the state; a distinguishing number assigned to the licensee, which, beginning November 1, 2023, must have a minimum of four randomly generated digits on each original, renewal, or replacement driver license; and the licensee’s full name, date of birth, and residence address; a brief description of the licensee, including, but not limited to, the licensee’s gender and height; and the dates of issuance and expiration of the license. A space shall be provided upon which the licensee shall affix his or her usual signature. A license is invalid until it has been signed by the licensee except that the signature of the licensee is not required if it appears thereon in facsimile or if the licensee is not present within the state at the time of issuance.
(b) In addition to the requirements of paragraph (a), each license must exhibit the class of vehicle which the licensee is authorized to operate and any applicable endorsements or restrictions. If the license is a commercial driver license, such fact must be exhibited thereon.
(c) The international symbol for the deaf and hard of hearing provided in s. 322.051(8)(c) shall be exhibited on the driver license of a person who is deaf or hard of hearing upon the payment of an additional $1 fee for the license and the presentation of sufficient proof that the person is deaf or hard of hearing as determined by the department. Until a person’s license is next renewed, the person may have the symbol added to his or her license upon the surrender of his or her current license, payment of a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and presentation of sufficient proof that the person is deaf or hard of hearing as determined by the department. If the applicant is not conducting any other transaction affecting the driver license, a replacement license may be issued with the symbol without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(e).
(d)1. The word “Veteran” must be exhibited on the driver license of a veteran upon the presentation of a copy of the person’s:
a. DD Form 214, issued by the United States Department of Defense;
b. Veteran health identification card, issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs;
c. Veteran identification card, issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs pursuant to the Veterans Identification Card Act of 2015, Pub. L. No. 114-31; or
d. Other acceptable form specified by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
2. Until a veteran’s license is next renewed, the veteran may have the word “Veteran” added to his or her license upon surrender of his or her current license and presentation of any of the forms of identification specified in subparagraph 1. If the applicant is not conducting any other transaction affecting the driver license, a replacement license must be issued with the word “Veteran” without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(e).
(e) The department shall include symbols representing the following on a driver license upon the payment of an additional $1 fee by an applicant who meets the requirements of s. 322.08 and presents his or her:
1. Lifetime freshwater fishing license;
2. Lifetime saltwater fishing license;
3. Lifetime hunting license;
4. Lifetime sportsman’s license; or
5. Lifetime boater safety identification card.

A person may replace his or her driver license before its expiration date with a license that includes his or her status as a lifetime licensee or boater safety cardholder upon surrender of his or her current driver license, payment of a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and presentation of the person’s lifetime license or identification card. If the sole purpose of the replacement driver license is the inclusion of the applicant’s status as a lifetime licensee or cardholder, the replacement driver license must be issued without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(e).

(f)1. Upon request by a person who has a developmental disability, or by a parent or legal guardian of a child or ward who has a developmental disability, the capital letter “D” shall be exhibited on the driver license of a person who has a developmental disability, as defined in s. 393.063, if the person, or his or her parent or legal guardian, presents sufficient proof that the person has been diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459 as determined by the department.
2. Until a person’s driver license is next renewed, the person, or his or her parent or legal guardian, may have the capital letter “D” added to or removed from his or her license upon the surrender of his or her current license and presentation of sufficient proof that the person has been diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459 as determined by the department. If the applicant is not conducting any other transaction affecting the driver license, a replacement license may be issued with the capital letter “D” added or removed without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(e).
(2) The department may require other pertinent information to be exhibited on a driver license.
History.s. 26, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(640); s. 26, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 29735, 1955; s. 14, ch. 78-394; s. 32, ch. 89-282; s. 79, ch. 94-306; s. 933, ch. 95-148; s. 34, ch. 95-333; s. 29, ch. 2008-176; s. 1, ch. 2011-94; s. 2, ch. 2012-82; s. 52, ch. 2012-181; s. 3, ch. 2015-85; s. 2, ch. 2016-4; s. 18, ch. 2016-239; s. 5, ch. 2018-80; s. 2, ch. 2020-178; s. 2, ch. 2021-235; s. 4, ch. 2022-175.
322.141 Color or markings of certain licenses or identification cards.
(1) All licenses originally issued or reissued by the department to persons under the age of 21 years for the operation of motor vehicles shall have markings or color which shall be obviously separate and distinct from all other licenses issued by the department for the operation of motor vehicles.
(2)(a) All licenses for the operation of motor vehicles originally issued or reissued by the department to persons who have insulin-dependent diabetes may, at the request of the applicant, have distinctive markings separate and distinct from all other licenses issued by the department.
(b) At the time of application for original license or reissue, the department shall require such proof as it deems appropriate that a person has insulin-dependent diabetes.
(3) All licenses for the operation of motor vehicles or identification cards originally issued or reissued by the department to persons who are designated as sexual predators under s. 775.21 or subject to registration as sexual offenders under s. 943.0435 or s. 944.607, or who have a similar designation or are subject to a similar registration under the laws of another jurisdiction, shall have on the front of the license or identification card the following:
(a) For a person designated as a sexual predator under s. 775.21 or who has a similar designation under the laws of another jurisdiction, the marking “SEXUAL PREDATOR.”
(b) For a person subject to registration as a sexual offender under s. 943.0435 or s. 944.607, or subject to a similar registration under the laws of another jurisdiction, the marking “943.0435, F.S.”
(4) Unless previously secured or updated, each sexual offender and sexual predator shall report to the department during the month of his or her reregistration as required under s. 775.21(8), s. 943.0435(14), or s. 944.607(13) in order to obtain an updated or renewed driver license or identification card as required by subsection (3).
History.s. 1, ch. 65-344; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 73-237; s. 5, ch. 85-285; s. 1, ch. 89-284; s. 35, ch. 95-333; s. 285, ch. 99-248; s. 1, ch. 2007-207; s. 31, ch. 2014-216; s. 41, ch. 2016-24; s. 21, ch. 2016-104; s. 7, ch. 2021-156.
322.142 Color photographic or digital imaged licenses.
(1) The department shall, upon receipt of the required fee, issue to each qualified applicant for a driver license a color photographic or digital imaged driver license bearing a fullface photograph or digital image of the licensee. Notwithstanding chapter 761 or s. 761.05, the requirement for a fullface photograph or digital image of the licensee may not be waived. A space shall be provided upon which the licensee shall affix his or her usual signature, as required in s. 322.14, in the presence of an authorized agent of the department so as to ensure that such signature becomes a part of the license.
(2) The department shall, upon receipt of the required fee, issue to each qualified licensee applying for a renewal license in accordance with s. 322.18 a color photographic or digital imaged license as provided for in subsection (1).
(3) The department may conduct negotiations and enter into contracts with qualified firms possessing the requisite qualifications for the development and production of photographic or digital imaged identification documents to assure efficient and economical processing of such licenses in sufficient quantity and of acceptable quality to meet the requirements and intent of this section, and to ensure adequate service at a sufficient number of locations, at the lowest competitive sealed bid price.
(4) The department may maintain a film negative or print file. The department shall maintain a record of the digital image and signature of the licensees, together with other data required by the department for identification and retrieval. Reproductions from the file or digital record are exempt from the provisions of s. 119.07(1) and may be made and issued only:
(a) For departmental administrative purposes;
(b) For the issuance of duplicate licenses;
(c) In response to law enforcement agency requests;
(d) To the Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Department of Health pursuant to an interagency agreement for the purpose of accessing digital images for reproduction of licenses issued by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation or the Department of Health;
(e) To the Department of State or a supervisor of elections pursuant to an interagency agreement to facilitate determinations of eligibility of voter registration applicants and registered voters in accordance with ss. 98.045 and 98.075;
(f) To the Department of Revenue pursuant to an interagency agreement for use in establishing paternity and establishing, modifying, or enforcing support obligations in Title IV-D cases;
(g) To the Department of Children and Families pursuant to an interagency agreement to conduct protective investigations under part III of chapter 39 and chapter 415;
(h) To the Department of Children and Families pursuant to an interagency agreement specifying the number of employees in each of that department’s regions to be granted access to the records for use as verification of identity to expedite the determination of eligibility for public assistance and for use in public assistance fraud investigations;
(i) To the Agency for Health Care Administration pursuant to an interagency agreement for the purpose of authorized agencies verifying photographs in the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse authorized under s. 435.12;
(j) To the Department of Financial Services pursuant to an interagency agreement to facilitate the location of owners of unclaimed property, the validation of unclaimed property claims, the identification of fraudulent or false claims, and the investigation of allegations of violations of the insurance code by licensees and unlicensed persons;
(k) To the Department of Economic Opportunity pursuant to an interagency agreement to facilitate the validation of reemployment assistance claims and the identification of fraudulent or false reemployment assistance claims;
(l) To district medical examiners pursuant to an interagency agreement for the purpose of identifying a deceased individual, determining cause of death, and notifying next of kin of any investigations, including autopsies and other laboratory examinations, authorized in s. 406.11;
(m) To the following persons for the purpose of identifying a person as part of the official work of a court:
1. A justice or judge of this state;
2. An employee of the state courts system who works in a position that is designated in writing for access by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or a chief judge of a district or circuit court, or by his or her designee; or
3. A government employee who performs functions on behalf of the state courts system in a position that is designated in writing for access by the Chief Justice or a chief judge, or by his or her designee; or
(n) To the Agency for Health Care Administration pursuant to an interagency agreement to prevent health care fraud. If the Agency for Health Care Administration enters into an agreement with a private entity to carry out duties relating to health care fraud prevention, such contracts shall include, but need not be limited to:
1. Provisions requiring internal controls and audit processes to identify access, use, and unauthorized access of information.
2. A requirement to report unauthorized access or use to the Agency for Health Care Administration within 1 business day after the discovery of the unauthorized access or use.
3. Provisions for liquidated damages for unauthorized access or use of no less than $5,000 per occurrence.
History.s. 2, ch. 67-346; ss. 1, 2, ch. 72-279; s. 15, ch. 78-394; s. 8, ch. 85-98; s. 4, ch. 89-90; s. 28, ch. 90-268; s. 406, ch. 95-148; s. 36, ch. 95-333; s. 156, ch. 96-406; s. 4, ch. 98-223; s. 1, ch. 99-306; s. 23, ch. 2001-158; s. 143, ch. 2004-390; s. 14, ch. 2005-39; s. 76, ch. 2005-164; s. 52, ch. 2005-278; s. 17, ch. 2008-245; s. 5, ch. 2010-31; s. 3, ch. 2010-106; s. 1, ch. 2010-207; s. 54, ch. 2012-181; s. 46, ch. 2013-15; s. 1, ch. 2013-67; s. 1, ch. 2014-84; s. 1, ch. 2016-65; s. 7, ch. 2016-132; s. 1, ch. 2017-18; s. 51, ch. 2023-120.
322.143 Use of a driver license or identification card.
(1) As used in this section, the term:
(a) “Personal information” means an individual’s name, address, date of birth, driver license number, or identification card number.
(b) “Private entity” means any nongovernmental entity, such as a corporation, partnership, company or nonprofit organization, any other legal entity, or any natural person.
(c) “Swipe” means the act of passing a driver license or identification card through a device that is capable of deciphering, in an electronically readable format, the information electronically encoded in a magnetic strip or bar code on the driver license or identification card.
(2) Except as provided in subsection (6), a private entity may not swipe an individual’s driver license or identification card, except for the following purposes:
(a) To verify the authenticity of a driver license or identification card or to verify the identity of the individual if the individual pays for a good or service with a method other than cash, returns an item, or requests a refund.
(b) To verify the individual’s age when providing an age-restricted good or service.
(c) To prevent fraud or other criminal activity if an individual returns an item or requests a refund and the private entity uses a fraud prevention service company or system.
(d) To transmit information to a check services company for the purpose of approving negotiable instruments, electronic funds transfers, or similar methods of payment.
(e) To comply with a legal requirement to record, retain, or transmit the driver license information.
(3) A private entity that swipes an individual’s driver license or identification card under paragraph (2)(a) or paragraph (2)(b) may not store, sell, or share personal information collected from swiping the driver license or identification card.
(4) A private entity that swipes an individual’s driver license or identification card under paragraph (2)(c) or paragraph (2)(d) may store or share personal information collected from swiping an individual’s driver license or identification card for the purpose of preventing fraud or other criminal activity against the private entity.
(5)(a) A person other than an entity regulated by the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. 1681 et seq., who receives personal information from a private entity under subsection (4) may use the personal information received only to prevent fraud or other criminal activity against the private entity that provided the personal information.
(b) A person who is regulated by the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act and who receives personal information from a private entity under subsection (4) may use or provide the personal information received only to effect, administer, or enforce a transaction or prevent fraud or other criminal activity, if the person provides or receives personal information under contract from the private entity.
(6)(a) An individual may consent to allow the private entity to swipe the individual’s driver license or identification card to collect and store personal information. However, the individual must be informed what information is collected and the purpose or purposes for which it will be used.
(b) If the individual does not want the private entity to swipe the individual’s driver license or identification card, the private entity may manually collect personal information from the individual.
(7) The private entity may not withhold the provision of goods or services solely as a result of the individual requesting the collection of the data in subsection (6) from the individual through manual means.
(8) A private entity that violates this section may be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 per occurrence.
(9) This section does not apply to a financial institution as defined in s. 655.005(1)(i).
History.s. 51, ch. 2013-160; s. 59, ch. 2014-17.
322.15 License to be carried and exhibited on demand; fingerprint to be imprinted upon a citation.
(1) Every licensee shall have his or her driver license, which must be fully legible with no portion of such license faded, altered, mutilated, or defaced, in his or her immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle and shall present or submit the same upon the demand of a law enforcement officer or an authorized representative of the department. A licensee may present or submit a digital proof of driver license as provided in s. 322.032 in lieu of his or her printed driver license; however, if the law enforcement officer or authorized representative of the department is unable to immediately verify the digital proof of driver license, upon the demand of the law enforcement officer or authorized representative of the department, the licensee must present or submit his or her printed driver license.
(2) Upon the failure of any person to display a driver license as required by subsection (1), the law enforcement officer or authorized representative of the department stopping the person shall require the person to imprint his or her fingerprints upon any citation issued by the officer or authorized representative, or the officer or authorized representative shall collect the fingerprints electronically.
(3) In relation to violations of subsection (1) or s. 322.03(5), persons who cannot supply proof of a valid driver license for the reason that the license was suspended for failure to comply with that citation shall be issued a suspension clearance by the clerk of the court for that citation upon payment of the applicable penalty and fee for that citation. If proof of a valid driver license is not provided to the clerk of the court within 30 days, the person’s driver license shall again be suspended for failure to comply.
(4) A violation of subsection (1) is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a nonmoving violation as provided in chapter 318.
History.s. 27, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(641); s. 27, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 69-89; s. 24, ch. 73-334; s. 2, ch. 78-48; s. 17, ch. 84-359; s. 9, ch. 85-250; s. 11, ch. 86-185; s. 49, ch. 87-198; s. 38, ch. 89-282; ss. 2, 3, ch. 90-102; s. 1, ch. 94-199; s. 934, ch. 95-148; s. 54, ch. 96-350; s. 25, ch. 96-413; s. 286, ch. 99-248; s. 30, ch. 2008-176; s. 32, ch. 2014-216; s. 3, ch. 2021-235.
322.16 License restrictions.
(1)(a) The department, upon issuing a driver license, may, whenever good cause appears, impose restrictions suitable to the licensee’s driving ability with respect to the type of special mechanical control devices required on a motor vehicle that the licensee may operate, including, but not limited to, restricting the licensee to operating only vehicles equipped with air brakes, or imposing upon the licensee such other restrictions as the department determines are appropriate to assure the safe operation of a motor vehicle by the licensee.
(b) The department may further impose other suitable restrictions on use of the license with respect to time and purpose of use, including, but not limited to, a restriction providing for intrastate operation only, or may impose any other condition or restriction that the department considers necessary for driver improvement, safety, or control of drivers in this state.
(c) The department may further, at any time, impose other restrictions on the use of the license with respect to time and purpose of use or may impose any other condition or restriction upon recommendation of any court, of the Florida Commission on Offender Review, or of the Department of Corrections with respect to any individual who is under the jurisdiction, supervision, or control of the entity that made the recommendation.
(d) The department may impose a restriction upon the use of the license requiring that the licensee wear a medical identification bracelet when operating a motor vehicle. Medical identification bracelet restrictions must be coded on the license of the restricted operator. There is no penalty for violating this paragraph.
(2) A person who holds a driver license and who is under 17 years of age, when operating a motor vehicle after 11 p.m. and before 6 a.m., must be accompanied by a driver who holds a valid license to operate the type of vehicle being operated and is at least 21 years of age unless that person is driving directly to or from work.
(3) A person who holds a driver license who is 17 years of age, when operating a motor vehicle after 1 a.m. and before 5 a.m., must be accompanied by a driver who holds a valid license to operate the type of vehicle being operated, and is at least 21 years of age unless that person is driving directly to or from work.
(4) The department may, upon receiving satisfactory evidence of any violation of the restriction upon such a license, except a violation of paragraph (1)(d), subsection (2), or subsection (3), suspend or revoke the license, but the licensee is entitled to a hearing as upon a suspension or revocation under this chapter.
(5) It is a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083, for any person to operate a motor vehicle in any manner in violation of the restrictions imposed under paragraph (1)(c).
(6) Any person who operates a motor vehicle in violation of the restrictions imposed under paragraph (1)(a), paragraph (1)(b), subsection (2), or subsection (3) will be charged with a moving violation and fined in accordance with chapter 318.
History.s. 28, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(642), 8135(58); s. 28, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 29683, 1955; s. 1, ch. 57-757; s. 1, ch. 59-432; s. 2, ch. 67-174; s. 1, ch. 67-265; s. 1, ch. 69-81; s. 209, ch. 71-136; s. 1, ch. 71-144; s. 5, ch. 77-120; s. 14, ch. 77-121; s. 16, ch. 78-394; s. 10, ch. 79-3; s. 1, ch. 82-132; s. 1, ch. 85-121; s. 12, ch. 85-309; s. 20, ch. 87-161; s. 36, ch. 88-122; s. 5, ch. 88-405; s. 5, ch. 88-410; ss. 4, 7, ch. 89-112; s. 10, ch. 89-282; ss. 3, 4, ch. 93-144; s. 407, ch. 95-148; s. 4, ch. 96-414; s. 22, ch. 97-300; s. 28, ch. 2010-162; s. 9, ch. 2014-191.
322.161 High-risk drivers; restricted licenses.
(1)(a) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the department shall restrict the driving privilege of any Class E licensee who is age 15 through 17 and who has accumulated six or more points pursuant to s. 318.14, excluding parking violations, within a 12-month period.
(b) Upon determination that any person has accumulated six or more points, the department shall notify the licensee and issue the licensee a restricted license for business purposes only. The licensee must appear before the department within 10 days after notification to have this restriction applied. The period of restriction shall be for a period of no less than 1 year beginning on the date it is applied by the department.
(c) The restriction shall be automatically withdrawn by the department after 1 year if the licensee does not accumulate any additional points. If the licensee accumulates any additional points, then the period of restriction shall be extended 90 days for each point. The restriction shall also be automatically withdrawn upon the licensee’s 18th birthday if no other grounds for restriction exist. The licensee must appear before the department to have the restriction removed and a duplicate license issued.
(2) Any action taken by the department pursuant to this section shall not be subject to any formal or informal administrative hearing or similar administrative procedure.
History.s. 28, ch. 96-413; s. 12, ch. 2001-196; s. 77, ch. 2005-164; s. 29, ch. 2013-18.
322.1615 Learner’s driver license.
(1) The department may issue a learner’s driver license to a person who is at least 15 years of age and who:
(a) Has passed the written examination for a learner’s driver license;
(b) Has passed the vision and hearing examination administered under s. 322.12;
(c) Has completed the traffic law and substance abuse education course prescribed in s. 322.095; and
(d) Meets all other requirements set forth in law and by rule of the department.
(2) When operating a motor vehicle, the holder of a learner’s driver license must be accompanied at all times by a driver who:
(a) Holds a valid license to operate the type of vehicle being operated;
(b) Is at least 21 years of age; and
(c) Occupies the closest seat to the right of the driver of the motor vehicle.
(3) A person who holds a learner’s driver license may operate a vehicle only during daylight hours, except that the holder of a learner’s driver license may operate a vehicle until 10 p.m. after 3 months following the issuance of the learner’s driver license.
(4) A licensee who violates subsection (2) or subsection (3) is subject to the civil penalty imposed for a moving violation as set forth in chapter 318.
History.s. 5, ch. 96-414; s. 38, ch. 97-300; s. 42, ch. 99-248.
322.17 Replacement licenses and permits.
(1)(a) In the event that an instruction permit or driver license issued under the provisions of this chapter is lost or destroyed, the person to whom the same was issued may, upon payment of the appropriate fee pursuant to s. 322.21, obtain a replacement upon furnishing proof satisfactory to the department that such permit or license has been lost or destroyed, and further furnishing the full name, date of birth, sex, residence and mailing address, proof of birth satisfactory to the department, and proof of identity satisfactory to the department.
(b) In the event that an instruction permit or driver license issued under the provisions of this chapter is stolen, the person to whom the same was issued may, at no charge, obtain a replacement upon furnishing proof satisfactory to the department that such permit or license was stolen and further furnishing the full name, date of birth, sex, residence and mailing address, proof of birth satisfactory to the department, and proof of identity satisfactory to the department.
(2) Upon the surrender of the original license and the payment of the appropriate fees pursuant to s. 322.21, the department shall issue a replacement license to make a change in name, address, or restrictions.
(3) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, if a licensee establishes his or her identity for a driver license using an identification document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8., the licensee may not obtain a duplicate or replacement instruction permit or driver license except in person and upon submission of an identification document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8.
(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section or s. 322.21, the department shall, if necessary, issue or renew a replacement driver license at no charge to an inmate if the department determines that he or she has a valid driver license. If the replacement driver license is scheduled to expire within 6 months, the department may also issue a temporary permit valid for at least 6 months after the release date.
History.s. 29, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(643); s. 29, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 71-73; s. 2, ch. 75-228; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 5, ch. 85-98; s. 1, ch. 88-322; s. 39, ch. 89-282; ss. 52, 53, ch. 90-132; s. 74, ch. 93-120; s. 6, ch. 95-326; s. 38, ch. 95-333; s. 3, ch. 2002-259; s. 78, ch. 2005-164; s. 31, ch. 2008-176; s. 2, ch. 2014-193.
322.18 Original applications, licenses, and renewals; expiration of licenses; delinquent licenses.
(1)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the department may issue an original driver license only after the applicant successfully passes the required examinations and presents the application to the department.
(b) The department may waive the driver license examination requirement if the applicant is otherwise qualified and surrenders a valid license issued by another state, a province of Canada, or the United States Armed Forces which is of an equal or lesser classification as provided in s. 322.12.
(2) Each applicant who is entitled to the issuance of a driver license, as provided in this section, shall be issued a driver license, as follows:
(a) An applicant who has not attained 80 years of age applying for an original issuance shall be issued a driver license that expires at midnight on the licensee’s birthday which next occurs on or after the eighth anniversary of the date of issue. An applicant who is at least 80 years of age applying for an original issuance shall be issued a driver license that expires at midnight on the licensee’s birthday that next occurs on or after the sixth anniversary of the date of issue.
(b) An applicant who has not attained 80 years of age applying for a renewal issuance shall be issued a driver license that expires at midnight on the licensee’s birthday that next occurs 8 years after the month of expiration of the license being renewed. An applicant who is at least 80 years of age applying for a renewal issuance shall be issued a driver license that expires at midnight on the licensee’s birthday that next occurs 6 years after the month of expiration of the license being renewed.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, if an applicant establishes his or her identity for a driver license using a document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)5., the driver license shall expire in accordance with paragraph (b). After an initial showing of such documentation, he or she is exempted from having to renew or obtain a duplicate in person.
(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, if an applicant establishes his or her identity for a driver license using a document authorized in s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8., the driver license shall expire 1 year after the date of issuance or upon the expiration date cited on the United States Department of Homeland Security documents, whichever date first occurs.
(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, an applicant applying for an original or renewal issuance of a commercial driver license as defined in s. 322.01(7), with a hazardous-materials endorsement, pursuant to s. 322.57(1)(e), shall be issued a driver license that expires at midnight on the licensee’s birthday that next occurs 4 years after the month of expiration of the license being issued or renewed.
(f) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, an applicant applying for an original issuance of a commercial driver license as defined in s. 322.01(7) shall be issued a driver license that expires at midnight 8 years after the licensee’s last birthday prior to issuance of the license.
(3) If a license expires on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, it shall be valid until midnight of the next regular working day and may be renewed on that day without payment of a delinquent fee.
(4)(a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, all licenses shall be renewable every 8 years and shall be issued or renewed upon application, payment of the fees required by s. 322.21, and successful passage of any required examination, unless the department has reason to believe that the licensee is no longer qualified to receive a license.
(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, if an applicant establishes his or her identity for a driver license using a document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)5., the license, upon an initial showing of such documentation, is exempted from having to renew or obtain a duplicate in person, unless the renewal or duplication coincides with the periodic reexamination of a driver as required pursuant to s. 322.121.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, if a licensee establishes his or her identity for a driver license using an identification document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8., the licensee may not renew the driver license except in person and upon submission of an identification document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8. A driver license renewed under this paragraph expires 1 year after the date of issuance or upon the expiration date cited on the United States Department of Homeland Security documents, whichever date first occurs.
(5) All renewal driver licenses may be issued after the applicant licensee has been determined to be eligible by the department.
(a) A licensee who is otherwise eligible for renewal and who is at least 80 years of age:
1. Must submit to and pass a vision test administered at any driver license office; or
2. If the licensee applies for a renewal using a convenience service as provided in subsection (8), he or she must submit to a vision test administered by a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459, an optometrist licensed under chapter 463, or a licensed physician at a federally established veterans’ hospital; must send the results of that test to the department on a form obtained from the department and signed by such health care practitioner; and must meet vision standards that are equivalent to the standards for passing the departmental vision test. The physician or optometrist may submit the results of a vision test by a department-approved electronic means.
(b) A licensee who is at least 80 years of age may not submit an application for renewal under subsection (8) by a convenience service unless the results of a vision test have been electronically submitted in advance by the physician or optometrist.
(c) The department shall issue an identification card under s. 322.051 at no charge to a licensee who is at least 80 years of age and whose driving privilege is denied due to failure to pass a vision test pursuant to this subsection.
(6) If the licensee does not receive a renewal notice, the licensee or applicant may apply to the department, under oath, at any driver license examining office. Such application shall be on a form prepared and furnished by the department. The department shall make such forms available to the various examining offices throughout the state. Upon receipt of such application, the department shall issue a license or temporary permit to the applicant or shall advise the applicant that no license or temporary permit will be issued and advise the applicant of the reason for his or her ineligibility.
(7) An expired Florida driver license may be renewed any time within 12 months after the expiration date, with reexamination, if required, upon payment of the required delinquent fee or taking and passing the written examination. If the final date upon which a license may be renewed under this section falls upon a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the renewal period shall be extended to midnight of the next regular working day. The department may refuse to issue any license if:
(a) It has reason to believe the licensee is no longer qualified to receive a license.
(b) Its records reflect that the applicant’s driving privilege is under suspension or revocation.
(8) The department shall issue 8-year renewals using a convenience service without reexamination to drivers who have not attained 80 years of age. The department shall issue 6-year renewals using a convenience service when the applicant has satisfied the requirements of subsection (5).
(a) If the department determines from its records that the holder of a license about to expire is eligible for renewal, the department shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee at his or her last known address, not less than 30 days prior to the licensee’s birthday. The renewal notice shall direct the licensee to appear at a driver license office for in-person renewal or to transmit the completed renewal notice and the fees required by s. 322.21 to the department using a convenience service.
(b) Upon receipt of a properly completed renewal notice, payment of the required fees, and upon determining that the licensee is still eligible for renewal, the department shall send a new license to the licensee as evidence that the license term has been extended.
(c) The department shall issue one renewal using a convenience service. A person who is out of this state when his or her license expires may be issued a 90-day temporary driving permit without reexamination. At the end of the 90-day period, the person must either return to this state or apply for a license where the person is located, except for a member of the Armed Forces as provided in s. 322.121(5).
(d) Any person who knowingly possesses any forged, stolen, fictitious, counterfeit, or unlawfully issued license extension sticker, unless possession by such person has been duly authorized by the department, commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(e) The department shall develop a plan for the equitable distribution of license renewals and the orderly implementation of this section.
(9) The application form for a renewal issuance or renewal extension shall include language permitting a voluntary contribution of $1 per applicant to aid the homeless. Contributions made pursuant to this subsection shall be deposited into the Grants and Donations Trust Fund of the Department of Children and Families and used by the State Office on Homelessness to supplement grants made under s. 420.622(4) and (5), provide information to the public about homelessness in the state, and provide literature for homeless persons seeking assistance. For the purpose of applying the service charge provided in s. 215.20, contributions received under this subsection are not income of a revenue nature.
History.s. 30, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(644); s. 30, 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 24346, 1947; s. 1, ch. 26911, 1951; s. 1, ch. 61-13; s. 2, ch. 67-242; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 72-211; ss. 3, 5, ch. 75-228; s. 17, ch. 78-394; s. 2, ch. 82-132; s. 22, ch. 84-359; s. 6, ch. 85-98; s. 40, ch. 89-282; s. 9, ch. 91-243; s. 31, ch. 95-143; s. 408, ch. 95-148; s. 7, ch. 95-326; ss. 39, 66, ch. 95-333; s. 6, ch. 96-414; s. 36, ch. 97-96; s. 4, ch. 2002-259; s. 1, ch. 2003-273; s. 30, ch. 2004-5; s. 79, ch. 2005-164; s. 3, ch. 2008-102; s. 32, ch. 2008-176; s. 3, ch. 2010-82; s. 34, ch. 2010-223; s. 3, ch. 2013-74; s. 12, ch. 2021-187; s. 23, ch. 2022-4; s. 2, ch. 2022-206.
322.19 Change of address or name.
(1) Except as provided in ss. 775.21, 775.261, 943.0435, 944.607, and 985.4815, whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a driver license or identification card, changes his or her legal name, that person must within 30 days thereafter obtain a replacement license or card that reflects the change.
(2) If a person, after applying for or receiving a driver license or identification card, changes the legal residence or mailing address in the application, license, or card, the person must, within 30 calendar days after making the change, obtain a replacement license or card that reflects the change. A written request to the department must include the old and new addresses and the driver license or identification card number. Any person who has a valid, current student identification card issued by an educational institution in this state is presumed not to have changed his or her legal residence or mailing address. This subsection does not affect any person required to register a permanent or temporary address change pursuant to s. 775.13, s. 775.21, s. 775.25, or s. 943.0435.
(3) A violation of this section is a nonmoving violation with a penalty as provided in s. 318.18(2).
(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, if a licensee established his or her identity for a driver license using an identification document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8., the licensee may not change his or her name or address except in person and upon submission of an identification document authorized under s. 322.08(2)(c)7. or 8.
History.s. 31, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(645); s. 31, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 18, ch. 84-359; s. 41, ch. 89-282; s. 409, ch. 95-148; s. 8, ch. 95-326; s. 40, ch. 95-333; s. 5, ch. 2002-259; s. 80, ch. 2005-164; s. 34, ch. 2008-176; s. 55, ch. 2012-181; s. 60, ch. 2016-239; s. 8, ch. 2021-156.
322.20 Records of the department; fees; destruction of records.
(1) The department shall maintain a record of every application for license received by it. The possession of such an application form, whether filled out or in blank, or of a counterfeit thereof, not authorized by the department or its personnel constitutes a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(2) The department shall also maintain a record of all crash reports, abstracts of court records of convictions, and notices of revocation or suspension of a person’s driver license or driving privilege. Records of convictions of a person holding a foreign license shall be maintained by the department if the uniform traffic citation indicates an address located in this state.
(3) The department shall maintain convenient records or make suitable notations, in order that the individual driver history record of each licensee is readily available for the consideration of the department upon application for renewal of a license and at other suitable times. The release by the department of the driver history record, with respect to crashes involving a licensee, shall not include any notation or record of the occurrence of a motor vehicle crash unless the licensee received a traffic citation as a direct result of the crash, and to this extent such notation or record is exempt from the provisions of s. 119.07(1).
(4) It is unlawful for any person to falsify, alter, erase, remove, or destroy, or cause to be altered, erased, removed, or destroyed, any record maintained by the department unless the alteration, erasure, removal, or destruction has been duly authorized.
(5) The department shall promulgate rules and procedures to ensure adequate safeguards and auditing capabilities to enable records of uniform traffic dispositions to be reported to the department in an automated fashion, through cooperative arrangements which may be entered into between court clerks and the department, in order to enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of dispositions reported on the uniform traffic citation. Automated procedures must be subjected to tests to ensure that the integrity of the driver file is enhanced or maintained and that the intent of this chapter, as stated in s. 322.263, is given priority consideration with respect to either online data entry activities between the courts and the department or the forwarding of electronically recorded data. Departmental rules shall require that data verification be accompanied by comparison with data from uniform traffic disposition reports.
(6) The department shall tabulate and publish statistics of traffic citation dispositions and provide records to court clerks for the purpose of verifying that the data was properly received and recorded.
(7) The requirement for the department to keep records shall terminate upon the death of an individual licensed by the department upon notification by the Department of Health of such death. The department shall make such notification as is proper of the deletions from their records to the court clerks of the state.
(8) Except as provided in chapter 119, the department may release records as provided in this section.
(9) The department may, upon application, furnish to any person, from its records, a list of the names, addresses, and birth dates of the licensed drivers of the entire state or any portion thereof by age group. In addition, the department may furnish to the courts, for the purpose of establishing jury selection lists, the names, addresses, and birth dates of the persons of the entire state or any portion thereof by age group having identification cards issued by the department. Each person who requests such information shall pay a fee, set by the department, of 1 cent per name listed, except that the department shall furnish such information without charge to the courts for the purpose of jury selection or to any state agency or to any state attorney, sheriff, or chief of police. Such court, state agency, state attorney, or law enforcement agency may not sell, give away, or allow the copying of such information. Noncompliance with this prohibition shall authorize the department to charge the noncomplying court, state agency, state attorney, or law enforcement agency the appropriate fee for any subsequent lists requested. The department may adopt rules necessary to implement this subsection.
(10) The department is authorized, upon application of any person and payment of the proper fees, to search and to assist such person in the search of the records of the department and make reports thereof and to make photographic copies of the departmental records and attestations thereof.
(11)(a) The department may charge the following fees for the following services and documents:
1. For providing a transcript of any one individual’s driver history record or any portion thereof for the past 3 years..........$8
2. For providing a transcript of any one individual’s driver history record or any portion thereof for the past 7 years..........$10
3. For providing a certified copy of a transcript of the driver history record or any portion thereof for any one individual..........$10
4. For providing a certified photographic copy of a document, per page..........$1
5. For providing an exemplified record..........$15
6. For providing photocopies of documents, papers, letters, clearances, or license or insurance status reports, per page..........$0.50
7. For assisting persons in searching any one individual’s driver record at a terminal located at the department’s general headquarters in Tallahassee..........$2
8. For searching for any one individual’s driver history record when no record is found on file..........$2
9. For electronically searching for any one individual’s driver history record to determine if the record meets requested criteria..........$0.01
(b) The department shall furnish such information without charge to any local, state, or federal law enforcement agency or court upon proof satisfactory to the department as to the purpose of the investigation.
(c) The clerks of court and tax collectors authorized under s. 322.135, may provide 3-year, 7-year, or complete driver records to any person requesting such records upon payment of the appropriate fees. In addition to the fees authorized under paragraph (a), clerks of court and tax collectors may assess the fee listed in s. 322.135(1)(c) for this service. The applicable record fees listed in paragraph (a) must be remitted to the department no later than 5 days after payment is received, unless a shorter remittance period is required by law.
(12) The fees collected under this section shall be placed in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
(13) The department shall implement a system that allows either parent of a minor, or a guardian, or other responsible adult who signed a minor’s application for a driver license to have Internet access through a secure website to inspect the minor’s driver history record. Internet access to driver history records granted to a minor’s parents, guardian, or other responsible adult shall be furnished by the department at no fee and shall terminate when the minor attains 18 years of age.
(14) The department is authorized in accordance with chapter 257 to destroy reports, records, documents, papers, and correspondence which are considered obsolete.
(15) The department is authorized to photograph, microphotograph, or reproduce on film such documents, records, and reports as it may select. The photographs or microphotographs in the form of film or print of any records made in compliance with the provisions of this section shall have the same force and effect as the originals thereof and shall be treated as originals for the purpose of their admissibility in evidence. Duly certified or authenticated reproductions of such photographs or microphotographs shall be admitted in evidence equally with the original photographs or microphotographs.
(16) The creation and maintenance of records by the Division of Motorist Services within the department pursuant to this chapter shall not be regarded as law enforcement functions of agency recordkeeping.
History.s. 32, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(646); s. 32, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 57-758; s. 210, ch. 71-136; s. 18, ch. 78-394; s. 3, ch. 79-99; s. 2, ch. 81-181; s. 5, ch. 82-130; s. 19, ch. 83-218; s. 11, ch. 83-228; s. 1, ch. 85-78; s. 3, ch. 89-90; s. 5, ch. 91-235; s. 75, ch. 93-120; s. 32, ch. 95-143; s. 157, ch. 96-406; s. 5, ch. 97-185; s. 61, ch. 99-8; s. 287, ch. 99-248; s. 2, ch. 2002-215; s. 1, ch. 2004-275; s. 40, ch. 2004-335; s. 47, ch. 2005-251; s. 2, ch. 2006-226; s. 34, ch. 2009-71; s. 5, ch. 2010-163; s. 24, ch. 2011-66.
322.201 Records as evidence.A copy, computer copy, or transcript of all abstracts of crash reports and all abstracts of court records of convictions received by the department and the complete driving record of any individual certified by the department or by the clerk of a court shall be received as evidence in all courts of this state without further authentication, if the same is otherwise admissible in evidence. Further, any court or the office of the clerk of any court of this state which is electronically connected by a terminal device to the computer data center of the department may use as evidence in any case the information obtained by this device from the records of the department without need of such certification; however, if a genuine issue as to the authenticity of such information is raised by a party or by the court, the court may require that a record certified by the department be submitted for admission into evidence. For computer copies generated by a terminal device of a court or clerk of court, entry in a driver’s record that the notice required by s. 322.251 was given constitutes sufficient evidence that such notice was given.
History.s. 2, ch. 63-371; s. 1, ch. 67-305; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 2, ch. 81-34; s. 20, ch. 83-218; s. 30, ch. 91-221; s. 288, ch. 99-248; s. 35, ch. 2009-71.
322.202 Admission of evidence obtained from the Division of Motorist Services.
(1) The Legislature finds that the Division of Motorist Services of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is not a law enforcement agency. The Legislature also finds that the division is not an adjunct of any law enforcement agency in that employees have no stake in particular prosecutions. The Legislature further finds that errors in records maintained by the division are not within the collective knowledge of any law enforcement agency. The Legislature also finds that the missions of the division and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles provide a sufficient incentive to maintain records in a current and correct fashion.
(2) The Legislature finds that the purpose of the exclusionary rule is to deter misconduct on the part of law enforcement officers and law enforcement agencies.
(3) The Legislature finds that the application of the exclusionary rule to cases where a law enforcement officer effects an arrest based on objectively reasonable reliance on information obtained from the division is repugnant to the purposes of the exclusionary rule and contrary to the decisions of the United States Supreme Court in Arizona v. Evans, 514 U.S. 1 (1995) and United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984).
(4) In any case where a law enforcement officer effects an arrest based on objectively reasonable reliance on information obtained from the division, evidence found pursuant to such an arrest shall not be suppressed by application of the exclusionary rule on the grounds that the arrest is subsequently determined to be unlawful due to erroneous information obtained from the division.
History.s. 1, ch. 2002-215; s. 25, ch. 2011-66.
322.21 License fees; procedure for handling and collecting fees.
(1) Except as otherwise provided herein, the fee for:
(a) An original or renewal commercial driver license is $75, which shall include the fee for driver education provided by s. 1003.48. However, if an applicant has completed training and is applying for employment or is currently employed in a public or nonpublic school system that requires the commercial license, the fee is the same as for a Class E driver license. A delinquent fee of $15 shall be added for a renewal within 12 months after the license expiration date.
(b) An original Class E driver license is $48, which includes the fee for driver education provided by s. 1003.48. However, if an applicant has completed training and is applying for employment or is currently employed in a public or nonpublic school system that requires a commercial driver license, the fee is the same as for a Class E license.
(c) The renewal or extension of a Class E driver license or of a license restricted to motorcycle use only is $48, except that a delinquent fee of $15 shall be added for a renewal or extension made within 12 months after the license expiration date. The fee provided in this paragraph includes the fee for driver education provided by s. 1003.48.
(d) An original driver license restricted to motorcycle use only is $48, which includes the fee for driver education provided by s. 1003.48.
(e) A replacement driver license issued pursuant to s. 322.17 is $25. Of this amount $7 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund and $18 shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund. Beginning July 1, 2015, or upon completion of the transition of driver license issuance services, if the replacement driver license is issued by the tax collector, the tax collector shall retain the $7 that would otherwise be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund and the remaining revenues shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
(f) An original, renewal, or replacement identification card issued pursuant to s. 322.051 is $25.
1. An applicant who meets any of the following criteria is exempt from the fee under this paragraph for an original, renewal, or replacement identification card:
a. The applicant presents a valid Florida voter’s registration card to the department and attests that he or she is experiencing a financial hardship.
b. The applicant presents evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she is homeless as defined in s. 414.0252(7).
c. The applicant presents evidence satisfactory to the department that his or her annual income is at or below 100 percent of the federal poverty level.
d. The applicant is a juvenile offender who is in the custody or under the supervision of the Department of Juvenile Justice, who is receiving services pursuant to s. 985.461, and whose identification card is issued by the department’s mobile issuing units.
2. Pursuant to s. 322.051(10), an applicant who is 80 years of age or older and whose driving privilege is denied due to failure to pass a vision test administered pursuant to s. 322.18(5) is exempt from the fee under this paragraph for an original identification card.
3. Funds collected from fees for original, renewal, or replacement identification cards shall be distributed as follows:
a. For an original identification card issued pursuant to s. 322.051, the fee shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
b. For a renewal identification card issued pursuant to s. 322.051, $6 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and $19 shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
c. For a replacement identification card issued pursuant to s. 322.051, $9 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and $16 shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund. Beginning July 1, 2015, or upon completion of the transition of the driver license issuance services, if the replacement identification card is issued by the tax collector, the tax collector shall retain the $9 that would otherwise be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund and the remaining revenues shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
(g) Each endorsement required by s. 322.57 is $7.
(h) A hazardous-materials endorsement, as required by s. 322.57(1)(e), shall be set by the department by rule and must reflect the cost of the required criminal history check, including the cost of the state and federal fingerprint check, and the cost to the department of providing and issuing the license. The fee shall not exceed $100. This fee shall be deposited in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. The department may adopt rules to administer this section.
(2) It is the duty of the director of the Division of Motorist Services to set up a division in the department with the necessary personnel to perform the necessary clerical and routine work for the department in issuing and recording applications, licenses, and certificates of eligibility, including the receiving and accounting of all license funds and their payment into the State Treasury, and other incidental clerical work connected with the administration of this chapter. The department may use such electronic, mechanical, or other devices as necessary to accomplish the purposes of this chapter.
(3) The department shall prepare sufficient forms for certificates of eligibility, applications, notices, and license materials to supply all applicants for driver licenses and all renewal licenses.
(4) If the department determines from its records or is otherwise satisfied that the holder of a license about to expire is entitled to have it renewed, the department shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee at his or her last known address, within 30 days before the licensee’s birthday. The licensee shall be issued a renewal license, after reexamination, if required, during the 30 days immediately preceding his or her birthday upon presenting a renewal notice, his or her current license, and the fee for renewal to the department at any driver license examining office.
(5) The department shall collect and transmit all fees received by it under this section to the Chief Financial Officer to be deposited into the General Revenue Fund, and sufficient funds for the necessary expenses of the department shall be included in the appropriations act. The fees shall be used for the maintenance and operation of the department.
(6) Any member of the Armed Forces or his or her spouse, daughter, son, stepdaughter, or stepson, who holds a Florida driver license and who presents an affidavit showing that he or she was out of the state due to service in the Armed Forces of the United States at the time of license expiration is exempt from paying the delinquent fee if the application for renewal is made within 15 months after the expiration of his or her license and within 90 days after the date of discharge or transfer to a military or naval establishment in this state as shown in the affidavit. However, such a person is not exempt from any reexamination requirement.
(7) Any veteran honorably discharged from the Armed Forces who has been issued a valid identification card by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs in accordance with s. 295.17, has been determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor to have a 100-percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating for compensation, or has been determined to have a service-connected total and permanent disability rating of 100 percent, is in receipt of disability retirement pay from any branch of the United States Armed Services, and who is qualified to obtain a driver license under this chapter is exempt from all fees required by this section.
(8) A person who applies for reinstatement following the suspension or revocation of the person’s driver license must pay a service fee of $45 following a suspension, and $75 following a revocation, which is in addition to the fee for a license. A person who applies for reinstatement of a commercial driver license following the disqualification of the person’s privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle shall pay a service fee of $75, which is in addition to the fee for a license. The department shall collect all of these fees at the time of reinstatement. The department shall issue proper receipts for such fees and shall promptly transmit all funds received by it as follows:
(a) Of the $45 fee received from a licensee for reinstatement following a suspension:
1. If the reinstatement is processed by the department, the department shall deposit $15 in the General Revenue Fund and $30 in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
2. If the reinstatement is processed by the tax collector, $15, less the general revenue service charge set forth in s. 215.20(1), shall be retained by the tax collector, $15 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and $15 shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
(b) Of the $75 fee received from a licensee for reinstatement following a revocation or disqualification:
1. If the reinstatement is processed by the department, the department shall deposit $35 in the General Revenue Fund and $40 in the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
2. If the reinstatement is processed by the tax collector, $20, less the general revenue service charge set forth in s. 215.20(1), shall be retained by the tax collector, $20 shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and $35 shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.

If the revocation or suspension of the driver license was for a violation of s. 316.193, or for refusal to submit to a lawful breath, blood, or urine test, an additional fee of $130 must be charged. However, only one $130 fee may be collected from one person convicted of violations arising out of the same incident. The department shall collect the $130 fee and deposit the fee into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund at the time of reinstatement of the person’s driver license, but the fee may not be collected if the suspension or revocation is overturned. If the revocation or suspension of the driver license was for a conviction for a violation of s. 817.234(8) or (9) or s. 817.505, an additional fee of $180 is imposed for each offense. The department shall collect and deposit the additional fee into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund at the time of reinstatement of the person’s driver license.

(9) An applicant:
(a) Requesting a review authorized in s. 322.222, s. 322.2615, s. 322.2616, s. 322.27, or s. 322.64 must pay a filing fee of $25 to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
(b) Petitioning the department for a hearing authorized in s. 322.271 must pay a filing fee of $12 to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.
History.s. 33, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(647); s. 33, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 22838, s. 7, ch. 22858, 1945; ss. 2, 3, ch. 24346, 1947; s. 51, ch. 26869, 1951; s. 1, ch. 59-314; s. 2, ch. 61-13; s. 3, ch. 67-242; s. 1, ch. 67-306; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 2, ch. 72-211; s. 1, ch. 73-305; s. 4, ch. 75-228; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 202, ch. 81-259; s. 6, ch. 83-71; s. 7, ch. 83-228; s. 3, ch. 84-314; s. 9, ch. 85-81; s. 7, ch. 85-98; s. 15, ch. 87-356; s. 28, ch. 88-290; s. 12, ch. 89-282; ss. 10, 12, ch. 91-243; s. 13, ch. 93-268; s. 80, ch. 94-306; s. 935, ch. 95-148; s. 970, ch. 2002-387; s. 363, ch. 2003-261; s. 4, ch. 2003-410; s. 81, ch. 2005-164; s. 2, ch. 2006-305; s. 35, ch. 2008-176; s. 36, ch. 2009-71; s. 26, ch. 2011-66; s. 56, ch. 2012-181; s. 47, ch. 2013-15; s. 52, ch. 2013-160; s. 60, ch. 2014-17; s. 33, ch. 2014-216; s. 61, ch. 2016-239; s. 14, ch. 2017-4; s. 2, ch. 2018-129; s. 7, ch. 2019-10; s. 3, ch. 2022-206; s. 66, ch. 2023-8.
322.212 Unauthorized possession of, and other unlawful acts in relation to, driver license or identification card.
(1) It is unlawful for any person to:
(a) Knowingly have in his or her possession or to display any blank, forged, stolen, fictitious, counterfeit, or unlawfully issued driver license or identification card or any instrument in the similitude of a driver license or identification card unless possession by such person has been duly authorized by the department;
(b) Knowingly have in his or her possession any instrument in the similitude of a driver license issued by the department or its duly authorized agents or those of any state or jurisdiction issuing licenses recognized in this state for the operation of a motor vehicle;
(c) Knowingly have in his or her possession any instrument in the similitude of an identification card issued by the department or its duly authorized agents or those of any state or jurisdiction issuing identification cards recognized in this state for the purpose of indicating a person’s true name and age; or
(d) Knowingly sell, manufacture, or deliver, or knowingly offer to sell, manufacture, or deliver, a blank, forged, stolen, fictitious, counterfeit, or unlawfully issued driver license or identification card, or an instrument in the similitude of a driver license or identification card, unless that person is authorized to do so by the department. A violation of this section may be investigated by any law enforcement agency, including the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco.

The term “driver license” includes a driver license issued by the department or its agents or a driver license issued by any state or jurisdiction that issues licenses recognized in this state for the operation of a motor vehicle. The term “identification card” includes any identification card issued by the department or its agents or any identification card issued by any state or jurisdiction that issues identification cards recognized in this state for the purpose of indicating a person’s true name and age. This subsection does not prohibit a person from possessing or displaying another person’s driver license or identification card for a lawful purpose.

(2) It is unlawful for any person to barter, trade, sell, or give away any driver license or identification card or to perpetrate a conspiracy to barter, trade, sell, or give away any such license or identification card unless such person has been duly authorized to issue the license or identification card by the department as provided in this chapter or in the adopted rules of the department.
(3) It is unlawful for any employee of the department to allow or permit the issuance of a driver license or identification card when he or she knows that the applicant has not lawfully fulfilled the requirements of this chapter for the issuance of such license or identification card.
(4) It is unlawful for any person to agree to supply or to aid in supplying any person with a driver license or identification card by any means whatsoever not in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.
(5)(a) It is unlawful for any person to use a false or fictitious name in any application for a driver license or identification card or knowingly to make a false statement, knowingly conceal a material fact, or otherwise commit a fraud in any such application.
(b) It is unlawful for any person to have in his or her possession a driver license or identification card upon which the date of birth has been altered.
(c) It is unlawful for any person designated as a sexual predator or sexual offender to have in his or her possession a driver license or identification card upon which the sexual predator or sexual offender markings required by s. 322.141 are not displayed or have been altered.
(6) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any person who violates any of the provisions of this section is guilty of a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. Any person who violates paragraph (5)(a) by giving a false age in any application for a driver license or identification card or who violates paragraph (5)(b) by possessing a driver license, identification card, or any instrument in the similitude thereof, on which the date of birth has been altered is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. Any person who violates paragraph (1)(d) commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
(7) In addition to any other penalties provided by this section, any person who provides false information when applying for a commercial driver license or commercial learner’s permit or is convicted of fraud in connection with testing for a commercial driver license or commercial learner’s permit shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of 1 year.
(8) The provisions of this section are in addition and supplemental to all other provisions of this chapter and of the laws of this state relating to driver licenses and identification cards.
History.s. 1, ch. 65-167; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 212, ch. 71-136; s. 24, ch. 73-334; s. 19, ch. 78-394; s. 1, ch. 84-91; s. 410, ch. 95-148; s. 4, ch. 97-206; s. 1, ch. 2002-178; s. 6, ch. 2002-259; s. 2, ch. 2003-286; s. 82, ch. 2005-164; s. 2, ch. 2007-207; s. 53, ch. 2013-160.
322.22 Authority of department to cancel or refuse to issue or renew license.
(1) The department may cancel or withhold issuance or renewal of any driver license, upon determining that the licensee was not entitled to the issuance thereof, or that the licensee failed to give the required or correct information in his or her application or committed any fraud in making such application, or that the licensee has two or more licenses on file with the department, each in a different name but bearing the photograph of the licensee, unless the licensee has complied with the requirements of this chapter in obtaining the licenses. The department may cancel or withhold issuance or renewal of any driver license, identification card, vehicle or vessel registration, or fuel-use decal if the licensee fails to pay the correct fee or pays for any driver license, identification card, vehicle or vessel registration, or fuel-use decal; pays any tax liability, penalty, or interest specified in chapter 207; or pays any administrative, delinquency, or reinstatement fee by a dishonored check.
(2) Upon such cancellation, the licensee must surrender to the department the license so canceled.
History.s. 34, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 4151(648); s. 34, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 20, ch. 78-394; s. 42, ch. 89-282; s. 81, ch. 94-306; s. 936, ch. 95-148; s. 83, ch. 2005-164; s. 54, ch. 2013-160.
322.221 Department may require reexamination.
(1) The department, having good cause to believe that a licensed driver is incompetent or otherwise not qualified to be licensed, may, at any time upon written notice of at least 5 days to the licensee, require him or her to submit to an examination or reexamination. Good cause as used herein shall be construed to mean that a licensee’s driving record, a report as provided in s. 322.126, or other evidence is sufficient to indicate that his or her driving privilege is detrimental to public safety.
(2)(a) The department may require an examination or reexamination to determine the competence and driving ability of any driver causing or contributing to the cause of any crash resulting in death, personal injury, or property damage.
(b) The department may, in its discretion, require any licensed driver to submit to an examination or reexamination prior to his or her normal renewal date upon receipt of a recommendation from a court having jurisdiction of traffic offenses, a law enforcement agency, or a physician stating that the driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely is questionable. At the time of renewal of his or her license a driver may be required to submit to an examination or reexamination at the discretion of the examiner if the physical appearance or actions of the licensee give rise to serious doubt as to his or her ability to operate a vehicle safely.
(c) If the department has reason to believe that a licensee is physically or mentally unqualified to operate a motor vehicle, it may require the licensee to submit medical reports regarding his or her physical or mental condition to the department’s medical advisory board for its review and recommendation. The submission of medical reports shall be made without expense to the state.
(3) Upon the conclusion of such examination or reexamination the department shall take action as may be appropriate and may suspend or revoke the license of such person or permit him or her to retain such license, or may issue a license subject to restrictions as permitted under s. 322.16. Refusal or neglect of the licensee to submit to such examination or reexamination shall be ground for suspension or revocation of his or her license.
History.ss. 1-3, ch. 28120, 1953; s. 1, ch. 59-443; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 70-366; s. 21, ch. 78-394; s. 43, ch. 89-282; s. 78, ch. 94-306; s. 937, ch. 95-148; s. 289, ch. 99-248.
322.222 Right to review.A driver may request an administrative hearing to review a revocation under s. 322.221(3). The hearing must be held in accordance with the department’s administrative rules adopted under chapter 120.
History.s. 13, ch. 2001-196.
322.23 Suspending privileges of nonresidents and reporting convictions.
(1) The privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the highways of this state, given to a nonresident, shall be subject to suspension or revocation by the department in the same manner and for the same cause as a license issued by the department may be suspended or revoked.
(2) The department is authorized, upon receiving a record of the conviction in this state of a nonresident driver, of any offense under the motor vehicle laws of this state, to forward a certified copy of such record to the motor vehicle administrator in the state wherein the person so convicted is a resident.
History.s. 35, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(649); s. 35, ch. 20451, 1941.
322.24 Suspending resident’s license upon conviction in another state.The department is authorized to suspend or revoke the license of any resident of the state, upon receiving notice of the conviction of such person in another state or foreign country of an offense therein which, if committed in this state, would be grounds for the suspension or revocation of his or her license.
History.s. 36, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(650); s. 36, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 82, ch. 94-306; s. 938, ch. 95-148.
322.245 Suspension of license upon failure of person charged with specified offense under chapter 316, chapter 320, or this chapter to comply with directives ordered by traffic court or upon failure to pay child support in non-IV-D cases as provided in chapter 61 or failure to pay any financial obligation in any other criminal case.
(1) If a person charged with a violation of any of the criminal offenses enumerated in s. 318.17 or with the commission of any offense constituting a misdemeanor under chapter 320 or this chapter fails to comply with all of the directives of the court within the time allotted by the court, the clerk of the court must provide the person, either electronically or by mail sent to the address specified on the uniform traffic citation, a notice of such failure, notifying him or her that, if he or she does not comply with the directives of the court within 30 days after the date of the notice and pay a delinquency fee of up to $25 to the clerk, from which the clerk shall remit $10 to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the General Revenue Fund, his or her driver license will be suspended. The notice must be sent no later than 5 days after such failure. The delinquency fee may be retained by the office of the clerk to defray the operating costs of the office.
(2) In non-IV-D cases, if a person fails to pay child support under chapter 61 and the obligee so requests, the depository or the clerk of the court shall mail in accordance with s. 61.13016 the notice specified in that section, notifying him or her that if he or she does not comply with the requirements of that section and pay a delinquency fee of $25 to the depository or the clerk, his or her driver license and motor vehicle registration will be suspended. The delinquency fee may be retained by the depository or the office of the clerk to defray the operating costs of the office after the clerk remits $15 to the Department of Revenue for deposit into the General Revenue Fund.
(3) If the person fails to comply with the directives of the court within the 30-day period, or, in non-IV-D cases, fails to comply with the requirements of s. 61.13016 within the period specified in that statute, the depository or the clerk of the court must electronically notify the department of such failure within 10 days. Upon electronic receipt of the notice, the department shall immediately issue an order suspending the person’s driver license and privilege to drive effective 20 days after the date the order of suspension is mailed in accordance with s. 322.251(1), (2), and (6). The order of suspension must also contain information specifying that the person may contact the clerk of the court to establish a payment plan pursuant to s. 28.246(4) to make partial payments for fines, fees, service charges, and court costs.
(4) After suspension of the driver license of a person pursuant to subsection (1), subsection (2), or subsection (3), the license may not be reinstated until the person complies with all court directives imposed upon him or her, including payment of the delinquency fee imposed by subsection (1), and presents certification of such compliance to a driver licensing office and complies with the requirements of this chapter or, in the case of a license suspended for nonpayment of child support in non-IV-D cases, until the person complies with the reinstatement provisions of s. 322.058 and makes payment of the delinquency fee imposed by subsection (2).
(5)(a) When the department receives notice from a clerk of the court that a person licensed to operate a motor vehicle in this state under the provisions of this chapter has failed to pay financial obligations for any criminal offense other than those specified in subsection (1), in full or in part under a payment plan pursuant to s. 28.246(4), the department must suspend the license of the person named in the notice. The department shall mail an order of suspension in accordance with s. 322.251(1), (2), and (6), which must also contain information specifying that the person may contact the clerk of the court to establish a payment plan pursuant to s. 28.246(4) to make partial payments for fines, fees, service charges, and court costs.
(b) The department must reinstate the driving privilege when the clerk of the court provides an affidavit to the department stating that:
1. The person has satisfied the financial obligation in full or made all payments currently due under a payment plan;
2. The person has entered into a written agreement for payment of the financial obligation if not presently enrolled in a payment plan; or
3. A court has entered an order granting relief to the person ordering the reinstatement of the license.
(c) The department shall not be held liable for any license suspension resulting from the discharge of its duties under this section.
History.s. 20, ch. 84-359; s. 411, ch. 95-148; s. 9, ch. 95-222; s. 55, ch. 96-350; s. 50, ch. 96-413; s. 37, ch. 97-96; s. 2, ch. 97-206; s. 44, ch. 99-248; s. 102, ch. 2003-402; s. 64, ch. 2004-265; s. 34, ch. 2008-111; s. 55, ch. 2013-160; s. 19, ch. 2019-58; s. 12, ch. 2021-116.
322.25 When court to forward license to department and report convictions.
(1) Whenever any person is convicted of any offense for which this chapter makes mandatory the revocation of the driver license of such person by the department, the court in which such conviction is had shall require the surrender to it of all driver licenses then held by the person so convicted, and the court shall thereupon forward the same, together with a record of such conviction, to the department.
(2) Every court having jurisdiction over offenses committed under this chapter, or any other law of this state regulating the operation of motor vehicles on highways, shall forward to the department a record of the conviction of any person in said court for a violation of any said laws, and shall suspend or revoke in accordance with the provisions of this chapter the driver license of the person so convicted.
(3) There shall be no notation made upon a license of either an arrest or warning until the holder of the license has been duly convicted or has forfeited bond.
(4) For the purpose of this chapter, a forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure a defendant’s appearance in court, which forfeiture has not been vacated, shall be equivalent to a conviction.
(5) For the purpose of this chapter, the entrance of a plea of nolo contendere by the defendant to a charge of driving while intoxicated, driving under the influence, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, or any other alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense similar to the offenses specified in s. 316.193, accepted by the court and under which plea the court has entered a fine or sentence, whether in this state or any other state or country, shall be equivalent to a conviction.
(6) The report of a judicial disposition of an offense committed under this chapter or of any traffic violation, including parking on a roadway outside the limits of a municipality, or of a violation of any law of this state regulating the operation of motor vehicles on highways shall be made by the court to the department on a standard form prescribed by the department. In addition, the court shall so report to the department any conviction of a person for felony possession of a controlled substance if such person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle at the time of such possession. The form shall be a copy of the uniform traffic citation and complaint as prescribed by s. 316.650 and shall include a place for the court to indicate clearly whether it recommends suspension or revocation of the offender’s driving privilege. The report shall be signed by the judge or by facsimile signature. The clerks of the court may submit disposition data to the department in an automated fashion, in a form prescribed by the department.
(7) Each clerk of court shall promptly report to the department each conviction, regardless of whether adjudication was withheld, for human trafficking which involves the use of a commercial motor vehicle.
History.s. 37, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(651); s. 37, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 59-313; s. 3, ch. 61-457; s. 8, ch. 72-175; ss. 1, 3, ch. 74-248; s. 40, ch. 76-31; s. 1, ch. 77-119; s. 22, ch. 78-394; s. 2, ch. 79-99; s. 5, ch. 80-316; s. 2, ch. 81-118; s. 203, ch. 81-259; s. 5, ch. 86-296; s. 44, ch. 89-282; s. 412, ch. 95-148; s. 41, ch. 95-333; s. 56, ch. 2013-160; s. 13, ch. 2021-187.
322.2505 Court to forward license of person adjudicated incapacitated to department.Whenever a person is adjudicated to be mentally or physically incapacitated pursuant to s. 744.331, the court shall require such person to surrender to it all driver licenses held by such person, and the court shall forward the same, together with a record of the adjudication, to the department.
History.s. 1, ch. 78-204; s. 108, ch. 89-96; s. 45, ch. 89-282.
322.251 Notice of cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification of license.
(1) All orders of cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification issued under the provisions of this chapter, chapter 318, chapter 324, or ss. 627.732-627.734 shall be given either by personal delivery thereof to the licensee whose license is being canceled, suspended, revoked, or disqualified or by deposit in the United States mail in an envelope, first class, postage prepaid, addressed to the licensee at his or her last known mailing address furnished to the department. Such mailing by the department constitutes notification, and any failure by the person to receive the mailed order will not affect or stay the effective date or term of the cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification of the licensee’s driving privilege.
(2) The giving of notice and an order of cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification by mail is complete upon expiration of 20 days after deposit in the United States mail for all notices except those issued under chapter 324 or ss. 627.732–627.734, which are complete 15 days after deposit in the United States mail. Proof of the giving of notice and an order of cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification in either manner shall be made by entry in the records of the department that such notice was given. The entry is admissible in the courts of this state and constitutes sufficient proof that such notice was given.
(3) Whenever the driving privilege is suspended, revoked, or disqualified under the provisions of this chapter, the period of such suspension, revocation, or disqualification shall be indicated on the order of suspension, revocation, or disqualification, and the department shall require the licensee whose driving privilege is suspended, revoked, or disqualified to surrender all licenses then held by him or her to the department. However, should the person fail to surrender such licenses, the suspension, revocation, or disqualification period shall not expire until a period identical to the period for which the driving privilege was suspended, revoked, or disqualified has expired after the date of surrender of the licenses, or the date an affidavit swearing such licenses are lost has been filed with the department. In any instance where the suspension, revocation, or disqualification order is mailed as provided herein, and the license is not surrendered to the department, and such license thereafter expires, the department shall not renew that license until a period of time identical to the period of such suspension, revocation, or disqualification imposed has expired.
(4) A person whose privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle is temporarily disqualified may, upon surrendering his or her commercial driver license, be issued a Class E driver license, valid for the length of his or her unexpired commercial driver license, at no cost. Such person may, upon the completion of his or her disqualification, be issued a commercial driver license, of the type disqualified, for the remainder of his or her unexpired license period. Any such person shall pay the reinstatement fee provided in s. 322.21 before being issued a commercial driver license.
(5) A person whose privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle is permanently disqualified may, upon surrendering his or her commercial driver license, be issued a Class E driver license, if he or she is otherwise qualified to receive such license. Any such person shall be issued a Class E license, valid for the remainder of his or her unexpired license period, at no cost.
(6) Whenever a cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification occurs, the department shall enter the cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualification order on the licensee’s driver file 20 days after the notice was actually placed in the mail. Any inquiry into the file after the 20-day period shall reveal that the license is canceled, suspended, revoked, or disqualified and whether the license has been received by the department.
(7)(a) A person whose driving privilege is suspended or revoked pursuant to s. 832.09 shall be notified, pursuant to this section, and the notification shall direct the person to surrender himself or herself to the sheriff who entered the warrant to satisfy the conditions of the warrant. A person whose driving privilege is suspended or revoked under this subsection shall not have his or her driving privilege reinstated for any reason other than:
1. Full payment of any restitution, court costs, and fees incurred as a result of a warrant or capias being issued pursuant to s. 832.09;
2. The cancellation of the warrant or capias from the Department of Law Enforcement recorded by the entering agency; and
3. The payment of an additional fee of $10 to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to be paid into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund; or
4. The department has modified the suspension or revocation of the license pursuant to s. 322.271 restoring the driving privilege solely for business or employment purposes.
(b) The Department of Law Enforcement shall provide electronic access to the department for the purpose of identifying any person who is the subject of an outstanding warrant or capias for passing worthless bank checks.
History.s. 5, ch. 59-278; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 78-37; s. 1, ch. 80-158; s. 1, ch. 82-20; s. 561, ch. 82-243; s. 1, ch. 84-265; s. 20, ch. 89-282; s. 413, ch. 95-148; s. 3, ch. 98-223; s. 5, ch. 2003-410; s. 84, ch. 2005-164; s. 81, ch. 2010-102; s. 57, ch. 2012-181.
322.26 Mandatory revocation of license by department.The department shall forthwith revoke the license or driving privilege of any person upon receiving a record of such person’s conviction of any of the following offenses:
(1)(a) Murder resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle, DUI manslaughter where the conviction represents a subsequent DUI-related conviction, or a fourth violation of s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931. For such cases, the revocation of the driver license or driving privilege shall be permanent.
(b) Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
(2) Driving a motor vehicle or being in actual physical control thereof, or entering a plea of nolo contendere, said plea being accepted by the court and said court entering a fine or sentence to a charge of driving, while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or a substance controlled under chapter 893, or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or a substance controlled under chapter 893. In any case where DUI manslaughter occurs and the person has no prior convictions for DUI-related offenses, the revocation of the license or driving privilege shall be permanent, except as provided for in s. 322.271(4).
(3) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
(4) Failure to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another.
(5) Perjury or the making of a false affidavit or statement under oath to the department under this law, or under any other law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles.
(6) Conviction, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, upon three charges of reckless driving committed within a period of 12 months.
(7) Any violation of the law against lewdness, assignation, and prostitution where such violation has been effected through the use of a motor vehicle.
(8) Conviction in any court having jurisdiction over offenses committed under this chapter or any other law of this state regulating the operation of a motor vehicle on the highways, upon direction of the court, when the court feels that the seriousness of the offense and the circumstances surrounding the conviction warrant the revocation of the licensee’s driving privilege.
(9) Conviction in any court having jurisdiction over offenses committed under s. 817.234(8) or (9) or s. 817.505.
History.s. 38, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(652); s. 38, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 1, ch. 21764, 1943; s. 4, ch. 61-457; s. 2, ch. 65-124; s. 20, ch. 73-331; s. 1, ch. 77-119; s. 2, ch. 78-204; s. 46, ch. 89-282; s. 6, ch. 96-330; s. 8, ch. 98-223; s. 290, ch. 99-248; s. 3, ch. 2006-305.
322.2615 Suspension of license; right to review.
(1)(a) A law enforcement officer or correctional officer shall, on behalf of the department, suspend the driving privilege of a person who is driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and who has an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher, or of a person who has refused to submit to a urine test or a test of his or her breath-alcohol or blood-alcohol level. The officer shall take the person’s driver license and issue the person a 10-day temporary permit if the person is otherwise eligible for the driving privilege and shall issue the person a notice of suspension. If a blood test has been administered, the officer or the agency employing the officer shall transmit such results to the department within 5 days after receipt of the results. If the department then determines that the person had a blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher, the department shall suspend the person’s driver license pursuant to subsection (3).
(b) The suspension under paragraph (a) shall be pursuant to, and the notice of suspension shall inform the driver of, the following:
1.a. The driver refused to submit to a lawful breath, blood, or urine test and his or her driving privilege is suspended for a period of 1 year for a first refusal or for a period of 18 months if his or her driving privilege has been previously suspended as a result of a refusal to submit to such a test; or
b. The driver was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and had an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher and his or her driving privilege is suspended for a period of 6 months for a first offense or for a period of 1 year if his or her driving privilege has been previously suspended under this section.
2. The suspension period shall commence on the date of issuance of the notice of suspension.
3. The driver may request a formal or informal review of the suspension by the department within 10 days after the date of issuance of the notice of suspension or may request a review of eligibility for a restricted driving privilege under s. 322.271(7).
4. The temporary permit issued at the time of suspension expires at midnight of the 10th day following the date of issuance of the notice of suspension.
5. The driver may submit to the department any materials relevant to the suspension.
(2)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (1)(a), the law enforcement officer shall forward to the department, within 5 days after issuing the notice of suspension, the driver license; an affidavit stating the officer’s grounds for belief that the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or chemical or controlled substances; the results of any breath or blood test or an affidavit stating that a breath, blood, or urine test was requested by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer and that the person refused to submit; the officer’s description of the person’s field sobriety test, if any; and the notice of suspension. The failure of the officer to submit materials within the 5-day period specified in this subsection and in subsection (1) does not affect the department’s ability to consider any evidence submitted at or prior to the hearing.
(b) The officer may also submit a copy of the crash report and a copy of a video recording of the field sobriety test or the attempt to administer such test. Materials submitted to the department by a law enforcement agency or correctional agency shall be considered self-authenticating and shall be in the record for consideration by the hearing officer. Notwithstanding s. 316.066(4), the crash report shall be considered by the hearing officer.
(3) If the department determines that the license should be suspended pursuant to this section and if the notice of suspension has not already been served upon the person by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer as provided in subsection (1), the department shall issue a notice of suspension and, unless the notice is mailed pursuant to s. 322.251, a temporary permit that expires 10 days after the date of issuance if the driver is otherwise eligible.
(4) If the person whose license was suspended requests an informal review pursuant to subparagraph (1)(b)3., the department shall conduct the informal review by a hearing officer designated by the department. Such informal review hearing shall consist solely of an examination by the department of the materials submitted by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer and by the person whose license was suspended, and the presence of an officer or witness is not required.
(5) After completion of the informal review, notice of the department’s decision sustaining, amending, or invalidating the suspension of the driver license of the person whose license was suspended must be provided to such person. Such notice must be mailed to the person at the last known address shown on the department’s records, or to the address provided in the law enforcement officer’s report if such address differs from the address of record, within 21 days after the expiration of the temporary permit issued pursuant to subsection (1) or subsection (3).
(6)(a) If the person whose license was suspended requests a formal review, the department must schedule a hearing within 30 days after such request is received by the department and must notify the person of the date, time, and place of the hearing.
(b) Such formal review hearing shall be held before a hearing officer designated by the department, and the hearing officer shall be authorized to administer oaths, examine witnesses and take testimony, receive relevant evidence, issue subpoenas for the officers and witnesses identified in documents provided under paragraph (2)(a), regulate the course and conduct of the hearing, question witnesses, and make a ruling on the suspension. The hearing officer may conduct hearings using communications technology. The party requesting the presence of a witness shall be responsible for the payment of any witness fees and for notifying in writing the state attorney’s office in the appropriate circuit of the issuance of the subpoena. If the person who requests a formal review hearing fails to appear and the hearing officer finds such failure to be without just cause, the right to a formal hearing is waived and the suspension shall be sustained.
(c) The failure of a subpoenaed witness to appear at the formal review hearing is not grounds to invalidate the suspension. If a witness fails to appear, a party may seek enforcement of a subpoena under paragraph (b) by filing a petition for enforcement in the circuit court of the judicial circuit in which the person failing to comply with the subpoena resides or by filing a motion for enforcement in any criminal court case resulting from the driving or actual physical control of a motor vehicle that gave rise to the suspension under this section. A failure to comply with an order of the court shall result in a finding of contempt of court. However, a person is not in contempt while a subpoena is being challenged.
(d) The department must, within 7 working days after a formal review hearing, send notice to the person of the hearing officer’s decision as to whether sufficient cause exists to sustain, amend, or invalidate the suspension.
(7) In a formal review hearing under subsection (6) or an informal review hearing under subsection (4), the hearing officer shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence whether sufficient cause exists to sustain, amend, or invalidate the suspension. The scope of the review shall be limited to the following issues:
(a) If the license was suspended for driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher:
1. Whether the law enforcement officer had probable cause to believe that the person whose license was suspended was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or chemical or controlled substances.
2. Whether the person whose license was suspended had an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher as provided in s. 316.193.
(b) If the license was suspended for refusal to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test:
1. Whether the law enforcement officer had probable cause to believe that the person whose license was suspended was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or chemical or controlled substances.
2. Whether the person whose license was suspended refused to submit to any such test after being requested to do so by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer.
3. Whether the person whose license was suspended was told that if he or she refused to submit to such test his or her privilege to operate a motor vehicle would be suspended for a period of 1 year or, in the case of a second or subsequent refusal, for a period of 18 months.
(8) Based on the determination of the hearing officer pursuant to subsection (7) for both informal hearings under subsection (4) and formal hearings under subsection (6), the department shall:
(a) Sustain the suspension of the person’s driving privilege for a period of 1 year for a first refusal, or for a period of 18 months if the driving privilege of such person has been previously suspended as a result of a refusal to submit to such tests, if the person refused to submit to a lawful breath, blood, or urine test. The suspension period commences on the date of issuance of the notice of suspension.
(b) Sustain the suspension of the person’s driving privilege for a period of 6 months for a blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher, or for a period of 1 year if the driving privilege of such person has been previously suspended under this section as a result of driving with an unlawful alcohol level. The suspension period commences on the date of issuance of the notice of suspension.
(9) A request for a formal review hearing or an informal review hearing shall not stay the suspension of the person’s driver license. If the department fails to schedule the formal review hearing within 30 days after receipt of the request therefor, the department shall invalidate the suspension. If the scheduled hearing is continued at the department’s initiative or the driver enforces the subpoena as provided in subsection (6), the department shall issue a temporary driving permit that shall be valid until the hearing is conducted if the person is otherwise eligible for the driving privilege. Such permit may not be issued to a person who sought and obtained a continuance of the hearing. The permit issued under this subsection shall authorize driving for business or employment use only.
(10) A person whose driver license is suspended under subsection (1) or subsection (3) may apply for issuance of a license for business or employment purposes only if the person is otherwise eligible for the driving privilege pursuant to s. 322.271.
(a) If the suspension of the driver license of the person for failure to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test is sustained, the person is not eligible to receive a license for business or employment purposes only, pursuant to s. 322.271, until 90 days have elapsed after the expiration of the last temporary permit issued. If the driver is not issued a 10-day permit pursuant to this section or s. 322.64 because he or she is ineligible for the permit and the suspension for failure to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test is not invalidated by the department, the driver is not eligible to receive a business or employment license pursuant to s. 322.271 until 90 days have elapsed from the date of the suspension.
(b) If the suspension of the driver license of the person relating to unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher is sustained, the person is not eligible to receive a license for business or employment purposes only pursuant to s. 322.271 until 30 days have elapsed after the expiration of the last temporary permit issued. If the driver is not issued a 10-day permit pursuant to this section or s. 322.64 because he or she is ineligible for the permit and the suspension relating to unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher is not invalidated by the department, the driver is not eligible to receive a business or employment license pursuant to s. 322.271 until 30 days have elapsed from the date of the suspension.
(11) The formal review hearing may be conducted upon a review of the reports of a law enforcement officer or a correctional officer, including documents relating to the administration of a breath test or blood test or the refusal to take either test or the refusal to take a urine test. However, as provided in subsection (6), the driver may subpoena the officer or any person who administered or analyzed a breath or blood test. If the arresting officer or the breath technician fails to appear pursuant to a subpoena as provided in subsection (6), the department shall invalidate the suspension.
(12) The formal review hearing and the informal review hearing are exempt from the provisions of chapter 120. The department may adopt rules for the conduct of reviews under this section.
(13) A person may appeal any decision of the department sustaining a suspension of his or her driver license by a petition for writ of certiorari to the circuit court in the county wherein such person resides or wherein a formal or informal review was conducted pursuant to s. 322.31. However, an appeal shall not stay the suspension. A law enforcement agency may appeal any decision of the department invalidating a suspension by a petition for writ of certiorari to the circuit court in the county wherein a formal or informal review was conducted. This subsection shall not be construed to provide for a de novo review.
(14)(a) The decision of the department under this section or any circuit court review thereof may not be considered in any trial for a violation of s. 316.193, and a written statement submitted by a person in his or her request for departmental review under this section may not be admitted into evidence against him or her in any such trial.
(b) The disposition of any related criminal proceedings does not affect a suspension for refusal to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test imposed under this section.
(15) If the department suspends a person’s license under s. 322.2616, it may not also suspend the person’s license under this section for the same episode that was the basis for the suspension under s. 322.2616.
(16) The department shall invalidate a suspension for driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level imposed under this section if the suspended person is found not guilty at trial of an underlying violation of s. 316.193.
History.s. 1, ch. 89-525; s. 4, ch. 90-329; s. 20, ch. 91-255; s. 5, ch. 93-124; s. 414, ch. 95-148; s. 2, ch. 95-186; s. 2, ch. 96-272; s. 11, ch. 96-330; s. 38, ch. 97-96; s. 43, ch. 99-248; s. 14, ch. 2001-196; ss. 20, 85, ch. 2005-164; s. 45, ch. 2006-290; s. 45, ch. 2007-5; s. 6, ch. 2010-163; s. 35, ch. 2010-223; s. 48, ch. 2013-15; s. 57, ch. 2013-160.
322.26151 Review of materials submitted by law enforcement officer.The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall review the materials submitted by the law enforcement officer to determine whether the materials comply with applicable statutes, rules, and policies, and the department shall inform the law enforcement officer when a deficiency exists so that the deficiency may be corrected prior to the hearing.
History.s. 2, ch. 2004-379.
322.2616 Suspension of license; persons under 21 years of age; right to review.
(1)(a) Notwithstanding s. 316.193, it is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 who has a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher to drive or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle.
(b) A law enforcement officer who has probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle is being driven by or is in the actual physical control of a person who is under the age of 21 while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or who has any blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level may lawfully detain such a person and may request that person to submit to a test to determine his or her blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level.
(2)(a) A law enforcement officer or correctional officer shall, on behalf of the department, suspend the driving privilege of such person if the person has a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher. The officer shall also suspend, on behalf of the department, the driving privilege of a person who has refused to submit to a test as provided by paragraph (b). The officer shall take the person’s driver license and issue the person a 10-day temporary driving permit if the person is otherwise eligible for the driving privilege and shall issue the person a notice of suspension.
(b) The suspension under paragraph (a) must be pursuant to, and the notice of suspension must inform the driver of, the following:
1.a. The driver refused to submit to a lawful breath test and his or her driving privilege is suspended for a period of 1 year for a first refusal or for a period of 18 months if his or her driving privilege has been previously suspended as provided in this section as a result of a refusal to submit to a test; or
b. The driver was under the age of 21 and was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while having a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher; and the person’s driving privilege is suspended for a period of 6 months for a first violation, or for a period of 1 year if his or her driving privilege has been previously suspended as provided in this section for driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher.
2. The suspension period commences on the date of issuance of the notice of suspension.
3. The driver may request a formal or informal review of the suspension by the department within 10 days after the issuance of the notice of suspension.
4. A temporary permit issued at the time of the issuance of the notice of suspension shall not become effective until after 12 hours have elapsed and will expire at midnight of the 10th day following the date of issuance.
5. The driver may submit to the department any materials relevant to the suspension of his or her license.
(c) When a driver subject to this section has a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.05 or higher, the suspension shall remain in effect until such time as the driver has completed a substance abuse course offered by a DUI program licensed by the department. The driver shall assume the reasonable costs for the substance abuse course. As part of the substance abuse course, the program shall conduct a substance abuse evaluation of the driver, and notify the parents or legal guardians of drivers under the age of 19 years of the results of the evaluation. The term “substance abuse” means the abuse of alcohol or any substance named or described in Schedules I through V of s. 893.03. If a driver fails to complete the substance abuse education course and evaluation, the driver license shall not be reinstated by the department.
(d) A minor under the age of 18 years proven to be driving with a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher may be taken by a law enforcement officer to the addictions receiving facility in the county in which the minor is found to be so driving, if the county makes the addictions receiving facility available for such purpose.
(3) The law enforcement officer shall forward to the department, within 5 days after the date of the issuance of the notice of suspension, a copy of the notice of suspension, the driver license of the person receiving the notice of suspension, and an affidavit stating the officer’s grounds for belief that the person was under the age of 21 and was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with any blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level, and the results of any blood or breath test or an affidavit stating that a breath test was requested by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer and that the person refused to submit to such test. The failure of the officer to submit materials within the 5-day period specified in this subsection does not bar the department from considering any materials submitted at or before the hearing.
(4) If the department finds that the license of the person should be suspended under this section and if the notice of suspension has not already been served upon the person by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer as provided in subsection (2), the department shall issue a notice of suspension and, unless the notice is mailed under s. 322.251, a temporary driving permit that expires 10 days after the date of issuance if the driver is otherwise eligible.
(5) If the person whose license is suspended requests an informal review under subparagraph (2)(b)3., the department shall conduct the informal review by a hearing officer designated by the department within 30 days after the request is received by the department and shall issue such person a temporary driving permit for business purposes only to expire on the date that such review is scheduled to be conducted if the person is otherwise eligible. The informal review hearing must consist solely of an examination by the department of the materials submitted by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer and by the person whose license is suspended, and the presence of an officer or witness is not required.
(6) After completion of the informal review, notice of the department’s decision sustaining, amending, or invalidating the suspension of the driver license must be provided to the person. The notice must be mailed to the person at the last known address shown on the department’s records, or to the address provided in the law enforcement officer’s report if such address differs from the address of record, within 7 days after completing the review.
(7)(a) If the person whose license is suspended requests a formal review, the department must schedule a hearing to be held within 30 days after the request is received by the department and must notify the person of the date, time, and place of the hearing and shall issue such person a temporary driving permit for business purposes only to expire on the date that such review is scheduled to be conducted if the person is otherwise eligible.
(b) The formal review hearing must be held before a hearing officer designated by the department, and the hearing officer may administer oaths, examine witnesses and take testimony, receive relevant evidence, issue subpoenas, regulate the course and conduct of the hearing, and make a ruling on the suspension. The hearing officer may conduct hearings using communications technology. The department and the person whose license was suspended may subpoena witnesses, and the party requesting the presence of a witness is responsible for paying any witness fees and for notifying in writing the state attorney’s office in the appropriate circuit of the issuance of the subpoena. If the person who requests a formal review hearing fails to appear and the hearing officer finds the failure to be without just cause, the right to a formal hearing is waived and the suspension is sustained.
(c) The failure of a subpoenaed witness to appear at the formal review hearing shall not be grounds to invalidate the suspension. If a witness fails to appear, a party may seek enforcement of a subpoena under paragraph (b) by filing a petition for enforcement in the circuit court of the judicial circuit in which the person failing to comply with the subpoena resides. A failure to comply with an order of the court constitutes contempt of court. However, a person may not be held in contempt while a subpoena is being challenged.
(d) The department must, within 7 working days after a formal review hearing, send notice to the person of the hearing officer’s decision as to whether sufficient cause exists to sustain, amend, or invalidate the suspension.
(8) In a formal review hearing under subsection (7) or an informal review hearing under subsection (5), the hearing officer shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence whether sufficient cause exists to sustain, amend, or invalidate the suspension. The scope of the review is limited to the following issues:
(a) If the license was suspended because the individual, then under the age of 21, drove with a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher:
1. Whether the law enforcement officer had probable cause to believe that the person was under the age of 21 and was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state with any blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level or while under the influence of alcoholic beverages.
2. Whether the person was under the age of 21.
3. Whether the person had a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher.
(b) If the license was suspended because of the individual’s refusal to submit to a breath test:
1. Whether the law enforcement officer had probable cause to believe that the person was under the age of 21 and was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state with any blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level or while under the influence of alcoholic beverages.
2. Whether the person was under the age of 21.
3. Whether the person refused to submit to a breath test after being requested to do so by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer.
4. Whether the person was told that if he or she refused to submit to a breath test his or her privilege to operate a motor vehicle would be suspended for a period of 1 year or, in the case of a second or subsequent refusal, for a period of 18 months.
(9) Based on the determination of the hearing officer under subsection (8) for both informal hearings under subsection (5) and formal hearings under subsection (7), the department shall:
(a) Sustain the suspension of the person’s driving privilege for a period of 1 year for a first refusal, or for a period of 18 months if the driving privilege of the person has been previously suspended, as provided in this section, as a result of a refusal to submit to a test. The suspension period commences on the date of the issuance of the notice of suspension.
(b) Sustain the suspension of the person’s driving privilege for a period of 6 months for driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the age of 21 with a blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher, or for a period of 1 year if the driving privilege of such person has been previously suspended under this section. The suspension period commences on the date of the issuance of the notice of suspension.
(10) A request for a formal review hearing or an informal review hearing shall not stay the suspension of the person’s driver license. If the department fails to schedule the formal review hearing within 30 days after receipt of the request therefor, the department shall invalidate the suspension. If the scheduled hearing is continued at the department’s initiative or the driver enforces the subpoena as provided in subsection (7), the department shall issue a temporary driving permit that is valid until the hearing is conducted if the person is otherwise eligible for the driving privilege. The permit shall not be issued to a person who requested a continuance of the hearing. The permit issued under this subsection authorizes driving for business or employment use only.
(11) A person whose driver license is suspended under subsection (2) or subsection (4) may apply for issuance of a license for business or employment purposes only, pursuant to s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise eligible for the driving privilege. However, such a license may not be issued until 30 days have elapsed after the expiration of the last temporary driving permit issued under this section.
(12) The formal review hearing may be conducted upon a review of the reports of a law enforcement officer or correctional officer, including documents relating to the administration of a breath test or the refusal to take a test. However, as provided in subsection (7), the driver may subpoena the officer or any person who administered a breath or blood test. If the officer who suspended the driving privilege fails to appear pursuant to a subpoena as provided in subsection (7), the department shall invalidate the suspension.
(13) The formal review hearing and the informal review hearing are exempt from chapter 120. The department may adopt rules for conducting reviews under this section.
(14) A person may appeal any decision of the department sustaining a suspension of his or her driver license by a petition for writ of certiorari to the circuit court in the county wherein such person resides or wherein a formal or informal review was conducted under s. 322.31. However, an appeal does not stay the suspension. This subsection does not provide for a de novo review.
(15) The decision of the department under this section shall not be considered in any trial for a violation of s. 316.193, nor shall any written statement submitted by a person in his or her request for departmental review under this section be admissible into evidence against him or her in any such trial. The disposition of any related criminal proceedings shall not affect a suspension imposed under this section.
(16) By applying for and accepting and using a driver license, a person under the age of 21 years who holds the driver license is deemed to have expressed his or her consent to the provisions of this section.
(17) A breath test to determine breath-alcohol level pursuant to this section may be conducted as authorized by s. 316.1932 or by a breath-alcohol test device listed in the United States Department of Transportation’s conforming-product list of evidential breath-measurement devices. The reading from such a device is presumed accurate and is admissible in evidence in any administrative hearing conducted under this section.
(18) The result of a blood test obtained during an investigation conducted under s. 316.1932 or s. 316.1933 may be used to suspend the driving privilege of a person under this section.
(19) A violation of this section is neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being detained pursuant to this section constitute an arrest. A violation of this section is subject to the administrative action provisions of this section, which are administered by the department through its administrative processes. Administrative actions taken pursuant to this section shall be recorded in the motor vehicle records maintained by the department. This section does not bar prosecution under s. 316.193. However, if the department suspends a person’s license under s. 322.2615 for a violation of s. 316.193, it may not also suspend the person’s license under this section for the same episode that was the basis for the suspension under s. 322.2615.
History.s. 1, ch. 96-272; s. 39, ch. 97-96; s. 54, ch. 97-100; s. 1, ch. 2001-144; s. 3, ch. 2002-78; s. 58, ch. 2013-160; s. 4, ch. 2015-34; s. 13, ch. 2016-105.
322.263 Legislative intent.It is declared to be the legislative intent to:
(1) Provide maximum safety for all persons who travel or otherwise use the public highways of the state.
(2) Deny the privilege of operating motor vehicles on public highways to persons who, by their conduct and record, have demonstrated their indifference for the safety and welfare of others and their disrespect for the laws of the state and the orders of the state courts and administrative agencies.
(3) Discourage repetition of criminal action by individuals against the peace and dignity of the state, its political subdivisions, and its municipalities and impose increased and added deprivation of the privilege of operating motor vehicles upon habitual offenders who have been convicted repeatedly of violations of traffic laws.
History.s. 1, ch. 72-175.
322.264 “Habitual traffic offender” defined.A “habitual traffic offender” is any person whose record, as maintained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, shows that such person has accumulated the specified number of convictions for offenses described in subsection (1) or subsection (2) within a 5-year period:
(1) Three or more convictions of any one or more of the following offenses arising out of separate acts:
(a) Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
(b) Any violation of s. 316.193, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01;
(c) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
(d) Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
(e) Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
(f) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified.
(2) Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in s. 322.27, including those offenses in subsection (1).

Any violation of any federal law, any law of another state or country, or any valid ordinance of a municipality or county of another state similar to a statutory prohibition specified in subsection (1) or subsection (2) shall be counted as a violation of such prohibition. In computing the number of convictions, all convictions during the 5 years previous to July 1, 1972, will be used, provided at least one conviction occurs after that date. The fact that previous convictions may have resulted in suspension, revocation, or disqualification under another section does not exempt them from being used for suspension or revocation under this section as a habitual offender.

History.s. 2, ch. 72-175; s. 21, ch. 73-331; s. 4, ch. 74-384; s. 8, ch. 84-359; s. 21, ch. 86-296; s. 21, ch. 89-282; ss. 11, 21, ch. 91-255; s. 13, ch. 97-96; s. 291, ch. 99-248.
322.27 Authority of department to suspend or revoke driver license or identification card.
(1) Notwithstanding any provisions to the contrary in chapter 120, the department may suspend the license or identification card of any person without preliminary hearing upon a showing of its records or other sufficient evidence that the licensee or cardholder:
(a) Has committed an offense for which mandatory revocation of license is required upon conviction. A law enforcement agency must provide information to the department within 24 hours after any traffic fatality or when the law enforcement agency initiates action pursuant to s. 316.1933;
(b) Has been convicted of a violation of any traffic law which resulted in a crash that caused the death or personal injury of another or property damage in excess of $500;
(c) Is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle;
(d) Has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of the license or identification card or has knowingly been a party to the obtaining of a license or identification card by fraud or misrepresentation or to the display, or representation as one’s own, of a driver license or identification card not issued to him or her. This section does not include the provisions of s. 322.32(1);
(e) Has committed an offense in another state which, if committed in this state, would be grounds for suspension or revocation; or
(f) Has committed a second or subsequent violation of s. 316.172(1) within a 5-year period of any previous violation.
(2) The department shall suspend the license of any person without preliminary hearing upon a showing of its records that the licensee has been convicted in any court having jurisdiction over offenses committed under this chapter or any other law of this state regulating the operation of a motor vehicle on the highways, upon direction of the court, when the court feels that the seriousness of the offense and the circumstances surrounding the conviction warrant the suspension of the licensee’s driving privilege.
(3) There is established a point system for evaluation of convictions of violations of motor vehicle laws or ordinances, and violations of applicable provisions of s. 403.413(6)(b) when such violations involve the use of motor vehicles, for the determination of the continuing qualification of any person to operate a motor vehicle. The department is authorized to suspend the license of any person upon showing of its records or other good and sufficient evidence that the licensee has been convicted of violation of motor vehicle laws or ordinances, or applicable provisions of s. 403.413(6)(b), amounting to 12 or more points as determined by the point system. The suspension shall be for a period of not more than 1 year.
(a) When a licensee accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period, the period of suspension shall be for not more than 30 days.
(b) When a licensee accumulates 18 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraph (a), within an 18-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 3 months.
(c) When a licensee accumulates 24 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraphs (a) and (b), within a 36-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 1 year.
(d) The point system shall have as its basic element a graduated scale of points assigning relative values to convictions of the following violations:
1. Reckless driving, willful and wanton4 points.
2. Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $506 points.
3. Unlawful speed, or unlawful use of a wireless communications device, resulting in a crash6 points.
4. Passing a stopped school bus:
a. Not causing or resulting in serious bodily injury to or death of another4 points.
b. Causing or resulting in serious bodily injury to or death of another6 points.
c. Points may not be imposed for a violation of passing a stopped school bus as provided in s. 316.172(1)(a) or (b) when enforced by a school bus infraction detection system pursuant s. 316.173. In addition, a violation of s. 316.172(1)(a) or (b) when enforced by a school bus infraction detection system pursuant 1to s. 316.173 may not be used for purposes of setting motor vehicle insurance rates.
5. Unlawful speed:
a. Not in excess of 15 miles per hour of lawful or posted speed3 points.
b. In excess of 15 miles per hour of lawful or posted speed4 points.
c. Points may not be imposed for a violation of unlawful speed as provided in s. 316.1895 or s. 316.183 when enforced by a traffic infraction enforcement officer pursuant to s. 316.1896. In addition, a violation of s. 316.1895 or s. 316.183 when enforced by a traffic infraction enforcement officer pursuant to s. 316.1896 may not be used for purposes of setting motor vehicle insurance rates.
6. A violation of a traffic control signal device as provided in s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1.4 points. However, points may not be imposed for a violation of s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1. when a driver has failed to stop at a traffic signal and when enforced by a traffic infraction enforcement officer. In addition, a violation of s. 316.074(1) or s. 316.075(1)(c)1. when a driver has failed to stop at a traffic signal and when enforced by a traffic infraction enforcement officer may not be used for purposes of setting motor vehicle insurance rates.
7. All other moving violations (including parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality)3 points. However, points may not be imposed for a violation of s. 316.0741 or s. 316.2065(11); and points may be imposed for a violation of s. 316.1001 only when imposed by the court after a hearing pursuant to s. 318.14(5).
8. Any moving violation covered in this paragraph, excluding unlawful speed and unlawful use of a wireless communications device, resulting in a crash4 points.
9. Any conviction under s. 403.413(6)(b)3 points.
10. Any conviction under s. 316.0775(2)4 points.
11. A moving violation covered in this paragraph which is committed in conjunction with the unlawful use of a wireless communications device within a school safety zone2 points, in addition to the points assigned for the moving violation.
(e) A conviction in another state of a violation therein which, if committed in this state, would be a violation of the traffic laws of this state, or a conviction of an offense under any federal law substantially conforming to the traffic laws of this state, except a violation of s. 322.26, may be recorded against a driver on the basis of the same number of points received had the conviction been made in a court of this state.
(f) In computing the total number of points, when the licensee reaches the danger zone, the department is authorized to send the licensee a warning letter advising that any further convictions may result in suspension of his or her driving privilege.
(g) The department shall administer and enforce the provisions of this law and may make rules and regulations necessary for its administration.
(h) Three points shall be deducted from the driver history record of any person whose driving privilege has been suspended only once pursuant to this subsection and has been reinstated, if such person has complied with all other requirements of this chapter.
(i) This subsection does not apply to persons operating a nonmotorized vehicle for which a driver license is not required.
(4) The department, in computing the points and period of time for suspensions under this section, shall use the offense date of all convictions.
(5)(a) The department shall revoke the license of any person designated a habitual offender, as set forth in s. 322.264, and such person is not eligible to be relicensed for a minimum of 5 years from the date of revocation, except as provided for in s. 322.271. Any person whose license is revoked may, by petition to the department, show cause why his or her license should not be revoked.
(b) If a person whose driver license has been revoked under paragraph (a) as a result of a third violation of driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked provides proof of compliance for an offense listed in s. 318.14(10)(a)1.-5., the clerk of court shall submit an amended disposition to remove the habitual traffic offender designation.
(6) The department shall revoke the driving privilege of any person who is convicted of a felony for the possession of a controlled substance if, at the time of such possession, the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. A person whose driving privilege has been revoked pursuant to this subsection is not eligible to receive a limited business or employment purpose license during the term of such revocation.
(7) Review of an order of suspension or revocation shall be by writ of certiorari as provided in s. 322.31.
History.s. 39, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(653); s. 39, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 7, ch. 22858, 1945; ss. 1, 2, ch. 57-756; s. 1, ch. 57-759; s. 1, ch. 59-278; s. 1, ch. 61-42; s. 1, ch. 61-53; s. 1, ch. 65-175; s. 1, ch. 67-86; s. 26, ch. 69-353; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 1, ch. 70-115; s. 3, ch. 72-175; s. 1, ch. 74-36; s. 5, ch. 74-384; s. 5, ch. 76-153; s. 1, ch. 77-119; s. 20, ch. 78-95; s. 3, ch. 78-204; s. 1, ch. 78-226; ss. 23, 27, ch. 78-394; s. 2, ch. 81-3; s. 3, ch. 81-118; s. 2, ch. 85-184; s. 7, ch. 85-309; s. 4, ch. 86-260; s. 3, ch. 87-167; s. 6, ch. 88-50; s. 57, ch. 88-130; s. 47, ch. 89-282; s. 4, ch. 91-136; s. 22, ch. 93-164; s. 83, ch. 94-306; s. 939, ch. 95-148; s. 29, ch. 95-257; s. 56, ch. 96-350; s. 292, ch. 99-248; s. 2, ch. 2004-275; ss. 22, 86, ch. 2005-164; s. 6, ch. 2005-194; s. 14, ch. 2010-80; s. 18, ch. 2010-225; s. 12, ch. 2012-27; s. 58, ch. 2012-181; s. 2, ch. 2013-58; s. 34, ch. 2014-216; s. 4, ch. 2017-189; s. 5, ch. 2023-171; s. 8, ch. 2023-174.
1Note.The word “to” was inserted by the editors.
322.271 Authority to modify revocation, cancellation, or suspension order.
(1)(a) Upon the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of the driver license of any person as authorized or required in this chapter, except a person whose license is revoked as a habitual traffic offender under s. 322.27(5) or a person who is ineligible to be granted the privilege of driving on a limited or restricted basis under subsection (2), the department shall immediately notify the licensee and, upon his or her request, shall afford him or her an opportunity for a hearing pursuant to chapter 120, as early as practicable within not more than 30 days after receipt of such request, in the county wherein the licensee resides, unless the department and the licensee agree that such hearing may be held in some other county.
(b) A person whose driving privilege has been revoked under s. 322.27(5) may, upon expiration of 12 months from the date of such revocation, petition the department for reinstatement of his or her driving privilege. Upon such petition and after investigation of the person’s qualification, fitness, and need to drive, the department shall hold a hearing pursuant to chapter 120 to determine whether the driving privilege shall be reinstated on a restricted basis solely for business or employment purposes.
(c) For the purposes of this section, the term:
1. “A driving privilege restricted to business purposes only” means a driving privilege that is limited to any driving necessary to maintain livelihood, including driving to and from work, necessary on-the-job driving, driving for educational purposes, and driving for church and for medical purposes.
2. “A driving privilege restricted to employment purposes only” means a driving privilege that is limited to driving to and from work and any necessary on-the-job driving required by an employer or occupation.

Driving for any purpose other than as provided by this paragraph is not permitted by a person whose driving privilege has been restricted to employment or business purposes. In addition, a person whose driving privilege is restricted to employment or business purposes remains subject to any restriction that applied to the type of license which the person held at the time of the order of suspension, cancellation, or revocation.

(2) At such hearing, the person whose license has been suspended, canceled, or revoked may show that such suspension, cancellation, or revocation causes a serious hardship and precludes the person from carrying out his or her normal business occupation, trade, or employment and that the use of the person’s license in the normal course of his or her business is necessary to the proper support of the person or his or her family.
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the department shall require proof of the successful completion of the applicable department-approved driver training course operating pursuant to s. 318.1451 or DUI program substance abuse education course and evaluation as provided in s. 316.193(5). Letters of recommendation from respected business persons in the community, law enforcement officers, or judicial officers may also be required to determine whether the person should be permitted to operate a motor vehicle on a restricted basis for business or employment use only and in determining whether such person can be trusted to so operate a motor vehicle. If a driver license has been suspended under the point system or under s. 322.2615, the department shall require proof of enrollment in the applicable department-approved driver training course or licensed DUI program substance abuse education course, including evaluation and treatment, if referred, and may require letters of recommendation described in this paragraph to determine if the driver should be reinstated on a restricted basis. If the person fails to complete the approved course within 90 days after reinstatement or subsequently fails to complete treatment, the department shall cancel his or her driver license until the course and treatment, if applicable, is successfully completed, notwithstanding the terms of the court order or any suspension or revocation of the driving privilege. The department may temporarily reinstate the driving privilege on a restricted basis upon verification from the DUI program that the offender has reentered and is currently participating in treatment and has completed the DUI education course and evaluation requirement. If the DUI program notifies the department of the second failure to complete treatment, the department shall reinstate the driving privilege only after notice of completion of treatment from the DUI program. The privilege of driving on a limited or restricted basis for business or employment use may not be granted to a person who has been convicted of a violation of s. 316.193 until completion of the DUI program substance abuse education course and evaluations as provided in s. 316.193(5). Except as provided in paragraph (c), the privilege of driving on a limited or restricted basis for business or employment use may not be granted to a person whose license is revoked pursuant to s. 322.28 or suspended pursuant to s. 322.2615 and who has been convicted of a violation of s. 316.193 two or more times or whose license has been suspended two or more times for refusal to submit to a test pursuant to s. 322.2615 or former s. 322.261.
(b) The department may waive the hearing process for suspensions and revocations upon request by the driver if the driver has enrolled in or completed the applicable driver training course approved under s. 318.1451 or the DUI program substance abuse education course and evaluation provided in s. 316.193(5). However, the department may not waive the hearing for suspensions or revocations that involve death or serious bodily injury, multiple convictions for violations of s. 316.193 pursuant to s. 322.27(5), or a second or subsequent suspension or revocation pursuant to the same provision of this chapter. This paragraph does not preclude the department from requiring a hearing for any suspension or revocation that it determines is warranted based on the severity of the offense.
(c) A person whose license has been revoked for a period of 5 years or less pursuant to s. 322.28(2)(a) may, 12 months after the date the revocation was imposed, petition the department for reinstatement of his or her driving privilege on a restricted basis. A person whose license has been revoked for more than 5 years under s. 322.28(2)(a) may, 24 months after the date the revocation was imposed, petition the department for reinstatement of his or her driving privilege on a restricted basis. Reinstatement under this subsection is restricted to business or employment purposes only. In addition, the department shall require such persons upon reinstatement to have not driven and to have been drug free for at least 12 months immediately before the reinstatement, to be supervised by a DUI program licensed by the department, and to report to the program at least three times a year as required by the program for the duration of the revocation period for supervision. Such supervision includes evaluation, education, referral into treatment, and other activities required by the department. Such persons shall assume reasonable costs of supervision. If the person fails to comply with the required supervision, the program shall report the failure to the department, and the department shall cancel the person’s driving privilege. This paragraph does not apply to any person whose driving privilege has been permanently revoked.
(d) For the purpose of this section, a previous conviction of driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, or any other similar alcohol-related or drug-related offense outside this state or a previous conviction of former s. 316.1931, former s. 316.028, or former s. 860.01 is considered a previous conviction for violation of s. 316.193.
(e) The department, based upon review of the licensee’s application for reinstatement, may require use of an ignition interlock device pursuant to s. 322.2715.
(3) Upon such hearing, the department shall either suspend, affirm, or modify its order and may restore to the licensee the privilege of driving on a limited or restricted basis for business or employment use only.
(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 322.28(2)(d), a person whose driving privilege has been permanently revoked because he or she has been convicted of DUI manslaughter in violation of s. 316.193 and has no prior convictions for DUI-related offenses may, upon the expiration of 5 years after the date of such revocation or the expiration of 5 years after the termination of any term of incarceration under s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931, whichever date is later, petition the department for reinstatement of his or her driving privilege.
(a) Within 30 days after the receipt of such a petition, the department shall afford the petitioner an opportunity for a hearing. At the hearing, the petitioner must demonstrate to the department that he or she:
1. Has not been arrested for a drug-related offense during the 5 years preceding the filing of the petition;
2. Has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;
3. Has been drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; and
4. Has completed a DUI program licensed by the department.
(b) At such hearing, the department shall determine the petitioner’s qualification, fitness, and need to drive. Upon such determination, the department may, in its discretion, reinstate the driver license of the petitioner. Such reinstatement must be made subject to the following qualifications:
1. The license must be restricted for employment purposes for at least 1 year; and
2. Such person must be supervised by a DUI program licensed by the department and report to the program for such supervision and education at least four times a year or additionally as required by the program for the remainder of the revocation period. Such supervision shall include evaluation, education, referral into treatment, and other activities required by the department.
(c) Such person must assume the reasonable costs of supervision. If such person fails to comply with the required supervision, the program shall report the failure to the department, and the department shall cancel such person’s driving privilege.
(d) If, after reinstatement, such person is convicted of an offense for which mandatory revocation of his or her license is required, the department shall revoke his or her driving privilege.
(e) The department shall adopt rules regulating the providing of services by DUI programs pursuant to this section.
(5) Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 322.28(2)(d), a person whose driving privilege has been permanently revoked because he or she has been convicted four or more times of violating s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931 may, upon the expiration of 5 years after the date of the last conviction or the expiration of 5 years after the termination of any incarceration under s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931, whichever is later, petition the department for reinstatement of his or her driving privilege.
(a) Within 30 days after receipt of a petition, the department shall provide for a hearing, at which the petitioner must demonstrate that he or she:
1. Has not been arrested for a drug-related offense for at least 5 years prior to filing the petition;
2. Has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;
3. Has been drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; and
4. Has completed a DUI program licensed by the department.
(b) At the hearing, the department shall determine the petitioner’s qualification, fitness, and need to drive, and may, after such determination, reinstate the petitioner’s driver license. The reinstatement shall be subject to the following qualifications:
1. The petitioner’s license must be restricted for employment purposes for at least 1 year; and
2. The petitioner must be supervised by a DUI program licensed by the department and must report to the program for supervision and education at least four times a year or more, as required by the program, for the remainder of the revocation period. The supervision shall include evaluation, education, referral into treatment, and other activities required by the department.
(c) The petitioner must assume the reasonable costs of supervision. If the petitioner does not comply with the required supervision, the program shall report the failure to the department, and the department shall cancel such person’s driving privilege.
(d) If, after reinstatement, the petitioner is convicted of an offense for which mandatory license revocation is required, the department shall revoke his or her driving privilege.
(e) The department shall adopt rules regulating the services provided by DUI programs pursuant to this section.
(6) A person may not be issued a commercial driver license during a period in which such person is disqualified from operating commercial motor vehicles or in which the driving privilege of such person is suspended, revoked, or canceled.
(7) Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 322.2615(10)(a) and (b), a person who has never previously had a driver license suspended under s. 322.2615, has never been disqualified under s. 322.64, has never been convicted of a violation of s. 316.193, and whose driving privilege is now suspended under s. 322.2615 is eligible for a restricted driving privilege pursuant to a hearing under subsection (2).
(a) For purposes of this subsection, a previous conviction outside of this state for driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, or any other alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense similar to the offense of driving under the influence as provided in s. 316.193 will be considered a previous conviction for a violation of s. 316.193, and a conviction for violation of former s. 316.028, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01 is considered a conviction for a violation of s. 316.193.
(b) The reinstatement shall be restricted to business purposes only, as defined in this section, for the duration of the suspension imposed under s. 322.2615.
(c) Acceptance of the reinstated driving privilege as provided in this subsection is deemed a waiver of the right to formal and informal review under s. 322.2615. The waiver may not be used as evidence in any other proceeding.
History.s. 6, ch. 59-278; s. 4, ch. 72-175; s. 6, ch. 74-384; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 20, ch. 78-95; s. 8, ch. 82-155; s. 9, ch. 84-359; s. 7, ch. 86-296; s. 2, ch. 89-525; s. 1, ch. 90-102; s. 3, ch. 90-253; ss. 11, 22, ch. 91-255; s. 5, ch. 93-246; s. 84, ch. 94-306; s. 940, ch. 95-148; s. 9, ch. 95-326; s. 42, ch. 95-333; s. 7, ch. 96-330; s. 11, ch. 96-414; s. 9, ch. 98-223; s. 7, ch. 99-234; s. 1, ch. 2005-138; s. 13, ch. 2009-183; s. 62, ch. 2010-5; ss. 36, 37, ch. 2010-223; s. 59, ch. 2013-160.
322.2715 Ignition interlock device.
(1) Before issuing a permanent or restricted driver license under this chapter, the department shall require the placement of a department-approved ignition interlock device for any person convicted of committing an offense of driving under the influence as specified in subsection (3), except that consideration may be given to those individuals having a documented medical condition that would prohibit the device from functioning normally. If a medical waiver has been granted for a convicted person seeking a restricted license, the convicted person shall not be entitled to a restricted license until the required ignition interlock device installation period under subsection (3) expires, in addition to the time requirements under s. 322.271. If a medical waiver has been approved for a convicted person seeking permanent reinstatement of the driver license, the convicted person must be restricted to an employment-purposes-only license and be supervised by a licensed DUI program until the required ignition interlock device installation period under subsection (3) expires. An interlock device shall be placed on all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person.
(2) For purposes of this section, any conviction for a violation of s. 316.193, a previous conviction for a violation of former s. 316.1931, or a conviction outside this state for driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, or any other similar alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense is a conviction of driving under the influence.
(3) If the person is convicted of:
(a) A first offense of driving under the influence under s. 316.193 and has an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level as specified in s. 316.193(1), the ignition interlock device may be installed for at least 6 continuous months.
(b) A first offense of driving under the influence under s. 316.193 and has an unlawful blood-alcohol level or breath-alcohol level as specified in s. 316.193(4), or if a person is convicted of a violation of s. 316.193 and was at the time of the offense accompanied in the vehicle by a person younger than 18 years of age, the person shall have the ignition interlock device installed for at least 6 continuous months for the first offense and for at least 2 continuous years for a second offense.
(c) A second offense of driving under the influence, the ignition interlock device shall be installed for a period of at least 1 continuous year.
(d) A third offense of driving under the influence which occurs within 10 years after a prior conviction for a violation of s. 316.193, the ignition interlock device shall be installed for a period of at least 2 continuous years.
(e) A third offense of driving under the influence which occurs more than 10 years after the date of a prior conviction, the ignition interlock device shall be installed for a period of at least 2 continuous years.
(f) A fourth or subsequent offense of driving under the influence, the ignition interlock device shall be installed for a period of at least 5 years.
(4) If the court fails to order the mandatory placement of the ignition interlock device or fails to order for the applicable period the mandatory placement of an ignition interlock device under s. 316.193 or s. 316.1937 at the time of imposing sentence or within 30 days thereafter, the department shall immediately require that the ignition interlock device be installed as provided in this section, except that consideration may be given to those individuals having a documented medical condition that would prohibit the device from functioning normally. This subsection applies to the reinstatement of the driving privilege following a revocation, suspension, or cancellation that is based upon a conviction for the offense of driving under the influence which occurs on or after July 1, 2005.
(5) In addition to any fees authorized by rule for the installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device, the authorized installer of the device shall collect and remit $12 for each installation to the department, which shall be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund to be used for the operation of the Ignition Interlock Device Program.
History.s. 2, ch. 2005-138; s. 36, ch. 2008-176; s. 37, ch. 2009-71; s. 38, ch. 2010-223; s. 60, ch. 2013-160; s. 35, ch. 2014-216.
322.272 Supersedeas.The filing of a petition for certiorari to the circuit court does not itself stay the enforcement of the suspension, revocation, or cancellation of license. The department may order a stay of enforcement upon appropriate terms and conditions.
History.s. 7, ch. 59-278; s. 5, ch. 61-457; s. 2, ch. 76-153.
322.273 Penalty.The penalty for violation of the terms or conditions of a license so restricted by the department shall be the same as the penalty for driving while such license is revoked, canceled or suspended.
History.s. 8, ch. 59-278; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106.
322.274 Automatic revocation of driver license.
(1) The driver license of any person convicted hereunder of theft of any motor vehicle or parts or components of a motor vehicle shall be revoked. If such revocation shall not be ordered by the court, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall forthwith revoke the same. The department shall not consider the convicted person’s application for reinstatement of such revoked license until the expiration of the full term of the sentence imposed, whether served during actual imprisonment, probation, parole, or suspension.
(2) It shall be grounds for the revocation of any person’s parole or probation if he or she operates a motor vehicle while his or her license is revoked pursuant to this chapter. However, it shall be within the discretion of the trial judge who imposes sentence upon the person convicted hereunder to direct the reinstatement of the person’s driver license on a limited basis after a reasonable time.
History.s. 1, ch. 70-19; s. 1, ch. 70-439; s. 4, ch. 71-342; s. 65, ch. 74-383; s. 415, ch. 95-148.
Note.Former s. 814.05.
322.276 Out-of-state sanctions; issuance of license.The department may, in its discretion, issue a driver license, with any required restrictions, if the applicant’s driving privilege or driver license is suspended or revoked in another state for an offense committed in that state which would not have been grounds for suspension or revocation of the person’s driving privilege or driver license in this state.
History.s. 36, ch. 2014-216.
322.28 Period of suspension or revocation.
(1) Unless otherwise provided by this section, the department shall not suspend a license for a period of more than 1 year and, upon revoking a license, in any case except in a prosecution for the offense of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances as set forth in s. 877.111, or controlled substances, shall not in any event grant a new license until the expiration of 1 year after such revocation.
(2) In a prosecution for a violation of s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931, the following provisions apply:
(a) Upon conviction of the driver, the court, along with imposing sentence, shall revoke the driver license or driving privilege of the person so convicted, effective on the date of conviction, and shall prescribe the period of such revocation in accordance with the following provisions:
1. Upon a first conviction for a violation of the provisions of s. 316.193, except a violation resulting in death, the driver license or driving privilege shall be revoked for at least 180 days but not more than 1 year.
2. Upon a second conviction for an offense that occurs within a period of 5 years after the date of a prior conviction for a violation of the provisions of s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931 or a combination of such sections, the driver license or driving privilege shall be revoked for at least 5 years.
3. Upon a third conviction for an offense that occurs within a period of 10 years after the date of a prior conviction for the violation of the provisions of s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931 or a combination of such sections, the driver license or driving privilege shall be revoked for at least 10 years.

For the purposes of this paragraph, a previous conviction outside this state for driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, or any other alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense similar to the offense of driving under the influence as proscribed by s. 316.193 will be considered a previous conviction for violation of s. 316.193, and a conviction for violation of former s. 316.028, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01 is considered a conviction for violation of s. 316.193.

(b) If the period of revocation was not specified by the court at the time of imposing sentence or within 30 days thereafter, and is not otherwise specified by law, the department shall forthwith revoke the driver license or driving privilege for the maximum period applicable under paragraph (a) for a first conviction and for the minimum period applicable under paragraph (a) for any subsequent convictions. The driver may, within 30 days after such revocation by the department, petition the court for further hearing on the period of revocation, and the court may reopen the case and determine the period of revocation within the limits specified in paragraph (a).
(c) The forfeiture of bail bond, not vacated within 20 days, in any prosecution for the offense of driving while under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances to the extent of depriving the defendant of his or her normal faculties shall be deemed equivalent to a conviction for the purposes of this paragraph, and the department shall forthwith revoke the defendant’s driver license or driving privilege for the maximum period applicable under paragraph (a) for a first conviction and for the minimum period applicable under paragraph (a) for a second or subsequent conviction; however, if the defendant is later convicted of the charge, the period of revocation imposed by the department for such conviction shall not exceed the difference between the applicable maximum for a first conviction or minimum for a second or subsequent conviction and the revocation period under this subsection that has actually elapsed; upon conviction of such charge, the court may impose revocation for a period of time as specified in paragraph (a). This paragraph does not apply if an appropriate motion contesting the forfeiture is filed within the 20-day period.
(d) The court shall permanently revoke the driver license or driving privilege of a person who has been convicted four times for violation of s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931 or a combination of such sections. The court shall permanently revoke the driver license or driving privilege of any person who has been convicted of DUI manslaughter in violation of s. 316.193. If the court has not permanently revoked such driver license or driving privilege within 30 days after imposing sentence, the department shall permanently revoke the driver license or driving privilege pursuant to this paragraph. No driver license or driving privilege may be issued or granted to any such person. This paragraph applies only if at least one of the convictions for violation of s. 316.193 or former s. 316.1931 was for a violation that occurred after July 1, 1982. For the purposes of this paragraph, a conviction for violation of former s. 316.028, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01 is also considered a conviction for violation of s. 316.193. Also, a conviction of driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, driving with an unlawful blood-alcohol level, or any other similar alcohol-related or drug-related traffic offense outside this state is considered a conviction for the purposes of this paragraph.
(e) Convictions that occur on the same date resulting from separate offense dates shall be treated as separate convictions, and the offense that occurred earlier will be deemed a prior conviction for the purposes of this section.
(3) The court shall permanently revoke the driver license or driving privilege of a person who has been convicted of murder resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle. No driver license or driving privilege may be issued or granted to any such person.
(4)(a) Upon a conviction for a violation of s. 316.193(3)(c)2., involving serious bodily injury, a conviction of manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle, or a conviction of vehicular homicide, the court shall revoke the driver license of the person convicted for a minimum period of 3 years. If a conviction under s. 316.193(3)(c)2., involving serious bodily injury, is also a subsequent conviction as described under paragraph (2)(a), the court shall revoke the driver license or driving privilege of the person convicted for the period applicable as provided in paragraph (2)(a) or paragraph (2)(d).
(b) Upon a conviction for a violation of s. 316.027(2)(a), (b), or (c) involving injury, serious bodily injury, or death, the court shall revoke the driver license of the person convicted for a minimum period of 3 years.
(c) If the period of revocation was not specified by the court at the time of imposing sentence or within 30 days thereafter, the department shall revoke the driver license for the minimum period applicable under paragraph (a) or paragraph (b) or, for a subsequent conviction, for the minimum period applicable under paragraph (2)(a) or paragraph (2)(d).
(5) A court may not stay the administrative suspension of a driving privilege under s. 322.2615 or s. 322.2616 during judicial review of the departmental order that resulted in such suspension, and a suspension or revocation of a driving privilege may not be stayed upon an appeal of the conviction or order that resulted in the suspension or revocation.
(6) In a prosecution for a violation of s. 316.172(1), and upon a showing of the department’s records that the licensee has received a second conviction within 5 years following the date of a prior conviction of s. 316.172(1), the department shall, upon direction of the court, suspend the driver license of the person convicted for a period of at least 90 days but not more than 6 months.
(7) Following a second or subsequent violation of s. 796.07(2)(f) which involves a motor vehicle and which results in any judicial disposition other than acquittal or dismissal, in addition to any other sentence imposed, the court shall revoke the person’s driver license or driving privilege, effective upon the date of the disposition, for a period of at least 1 year. A person sentenced under this subsection may request a hearing under s. 322.271.
(8) The court shall permanently revoke the commercial driver license of a person who is convicted of, or has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of whether adjudication is withheld, any felony involving human trafficking under state or federal law which involves the use of a commercial motor vehicle. If the court has not permanently revoked such driver license or driving privilege within 30 days after imposing a sentence, the department must permanently revoke the driver license or driving privilege pursuant to this section.
History.s. 40, ch. 19551, 1939; CGL 1940 Supp. 4151(654); s. 40, ch. 20451, 1941; s. 2, ch. 59-95; ss. 24, 35, ch. 69-106; s. 5, ch. 72-175; s. 94, ch. 73-333; ss. 2, 3, ch. 74-248; s. 7, ch. 74-384; s. 1, ch. 75-113; s. 43, ch. 76-31; s. 3, ch. 76-153; s. 1, ch. 77-174; s. 20, ch. 80-290; s. 9, ch. 82-155; s. 4, ch. 82-403; s. 9, ch. 83-228; s. 10, ch. 84-359; s. 8, ch. 86-296; s. 4, ch. 87-167; s. 3, ch. 89-525; s. 31, ch. 91-221; s. 2, ch. 91-243; ss. 11, 24, ch. 91-255; s. 416, ch.