Alaska Statutes
Alaska Stat. § 28.15.071 (2026)
Application of minors
✓ text as last checked Sept. 2026 (this copy records no edition or section history)
Find cases:
SyfertCases citing this section
AK-LEGakleg.gov
JustiaTitle on Justia
CornellLII Search
CasesGoogle Scholar
Sec. 28.15.071. Application of minors.
(a) The application of a person under the age of 18 years for an instruction permit or driver's license must be signed by the father, mother, guardian, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older, or if there is no parent, guardian, or spouse, then by another responsible adult who is willing to assume the obligation imposed under this section upon a person signing the application. The application must be signed and verified before a person authorized to administer oaths, or be signed in the presence of an authorized representative of the department.
(b) Any negligence or wilful misconduct of a person under the age of 18 years when driving a motor vehicle in this state is imputed to the person who signed the application of the person for a permit or license, and that person is jointly and severally liable for damage caused by the negligence or wilful misconduct of the person under the age of 18 years, except as provided in (c) of this section.
(c) If a minor deposits, or there is deposited on behalf of the minor, proof of financial responsibility for the minor's driving of a motor vehicle, in the form and amount required in AS 28.20, then the department may accept the application of the minor signed as required under (a) of this section, and, while proof of financial responsibility is maintained, the parent, guardian, spouse, or other responsible adult is not subject to the liability imposed under (b) of this section.
(d) A person who signs the application of a minor for a driver's license may file with the department a verified written request that the license of the minor be canceled. When the license is canceled, the person who signed the application is relieved from liability under (b) of this section.
(e) This section does not apply to a person under 18 years of age who is legally emancipated under AS 09.55.590 or a similar law in another jurisdiction.
(a) The application of a person under the age of 18 years for an instruction permit or driver's license must be signed by the father, mother, guardian, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older, or if there is no parent, guardian, or spouse, then by another responsible adult who is willing to assume the obligation imposed under this section upon a person signing the application. The application must be signed and verified before a person authorized to administer oaths, or be signed in the presence of an authorized representative of the department.
(b) Any negligence or wilful misconduct of a person under the age of 18 years when driving a motor vehicle in this state is imputed to the person who signed the application of the person for a permit or license, and that person is jointly and severally liable for damage caused by the negligence or wilful misconduct of the person under the age of 18 years, except as provided in (c) of this section.
(c) If a minor deposits, or there is deposited on behalf of the minor, proof of financial responsibility for the minor's driving of a motor vehicle, in the form and amount required in AS 28.20, then the department may accept the application of the minor signed as required under (a) of this section, and, while proof of financial responsibility is maintained, the parent, guardian, spouse, or other responsible adult is not subject to the liability imposed under (b) of this section.
(d) A person who signs the application of a minor for a driver's license may file with the department a verified written request that the license of the minor be canceled. When the license is canceled, the person who signed the application is relieved from liability under (b) of this section.
(e) This section does not apply to a person under 18 years of age who is legally emancipated under AS 09.55.590 or a similar law in another jurisdiction.
Notes of Decisions
Cited in 2
cases, 1988–1992 · leading case: Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988).
Thompson v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 815 (1988). “Code § 32-6-7 (1) (1983) Alaska Alaska Stat. Ann. § 28.15.071 (Supp. 1987) Ariz.”
Siemion v. Rumfelt, 825 P.2d 896 (Alaska 1992). “" [5] Vicky Rumfelt's alleged liability was predicated on AS 28.15.071(a) and (b), which provide: Application of minors.”
Alaska Stat. § 28.15.071(a): 1 case
Siemion v. Rumfelt, 825 P.2d 896 (Alaska 1992). “" [5] Vicky Rumfelt's alleged liability was predicated on AS 28.15.071(a) and (b), which provide: Application of minors.”
Alaska Stat. § 28.15.071(b): 1 case
Siemion v. Rumfelt, 825 P.2d 896 (Alaska 1992). “" [5] Vicky Rumfelt's alleged liability was predicated on AS 28.15.071(a) and (b), which provide: Application of minors.”
Annotations are extracted automatically from the opinions in the
Syfert caselaw corpus and ranked by authority, recency, and
treatment. Dots show Syfertize treatment of the citing case itself.