An insurer may only assert a defense based on an insured's breach of a cooperation clause if the insurer proves it was substantially prejudiced by that breach.
Plaintiffs seek to compel an insurer to pay a default judgment obtained against its insured, who failed to cooperate with the insurer after a rear-end collision. The question is whether the insurer can deny coverage based on the insured's breach of the policy's cooperation clause without proving substantial prejudice. The court applies the rule that an insurer must demonstrate substantial prejudice resulting from the breach to validly assert a defense. Because the insurer failed to prove that the lack of cooperation prevented it from verifying the accident or determining liability, the court holds that the breach does not bar recovery. The judgment is reversed.
384 P.2d at 156 Establishing prejudice for breach of policy conditions17 citing cases“insurer may assert defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as a cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the insurer was substantially prejudiced thereby”
- Coop. Fire Ins. v. White Caps, Inc., 694 A.2d 34 (Vt. 1997).published Co., 384 P.2d 155, 157 (Cal. 1963) (“Although it may be difficult for an insurer to prove prejudice in some situations, it ordinarily would be at least as difficult for the injured person to prove a lack of prejudice, which involves proof…
- Mt. Hawley Ins. Co. v. East Perimeter Pointe Apts., 861 F. App'x 270 (11th Cir. 2021).unpublishedCo., 384 P.2d 155, 156 (Cal. 1963); Abrams v. Am.
- Everyday Disc., Inc. v. State Farm Gen. Ins. Co., No. 2:18-cv-00902 (C.D. Cal. Oct. 20, 2020).Co., 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 (1963).
- Everyday Disc., Inc. v. State Farm Gen. Ins. Co., No. 2:18-cv-00902 (C.D. Cal. Oct. 14, 2020).Co., 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 (1963).
- Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Renaissance Bliss, LLC, 823 F. App'x 815 (11th Cir. 2020).unpublishedCo., 384 P.2d 155, 156 (Cal. 1963).
- Travelers Prop. Cas. Co v. Taisei Constr. Corp, No. 17-55886 (9th Cir. Apr. 25, 2019).unpublishedCo., 384 P.2d 155, 156 (Cal. 1963).
- Travelers Prop. Cas. Co v. Taisei Constr. Corp, No. 17-55886 (9th Cir. Feb. 8, 2019).unpublishedCo., 384 P.2d 155, 156 (Cal. 1963).
- Indian Harbor Ins. v. City of San Diego, 972 F. Supp. 2d 634 (S.D.N.Y. 2013).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303 , 32 CahRptr. 827, 384 P.2d 155, 156 (1963) (en banc) (collecting cases).
- Fed. Deposit Ins. v. Fid. & Deposit Co. of Maryland, 132 F. App'x 139 (9th Cir. 2005).unpublishedCampbell’s holding, of clear import to this case, was that “[a]n insurer may assert defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as a cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the…
- State ex rel. Crawford v. Indem. Underwriters Ins. Co., 943 P.2d 1099 (Okla. Civ. App. 1997).published“insurer may assert defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as a cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the insurer was substantially prejudiced thereby”
Show 7 more citing cases
- T.H.E. Ins. v. P.T.P. Inc., 628 A.2d 223 (Md. 1993).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303 , 32 Cal.Rptr. 827, 828-29 , 384 P.2d 155, 156-57 (1963); Abrams v. American Fidelity & Casualty Co., 32 Cal.2d 233 , 195 P.2d 797, 799 (1948); Reed v. Pacific Indem.
- Ins. v. Ptp Inc., 628 A.2d 223 (Md. 1993).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303 , 32 Cal. Rptr. 827, 828-29 , 384 P.2d 155, 156-57 (1963); Abrams v. American Fidelity & Casualty Co., 32 Cal.2d 233 , 195 P.2d 797, 799 (1948); Reed v. Pacific Indem.
- Sequoia Ins. Co. v. Royal Ins. Co. of Am., 971 F.2d 1385 (9th Cir. 1992).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303 , 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155, 156-57 (1963)).
- James K. Burns Patricia Ross Walter H. Ratcliff v. Int'l Ins. Co. Crum & Forster, 929 F.2d 1422 (9th Cir. 1991).published
- Slater v. Lawyers' Mut. Ins., 227 Cal. App. 3d 1415 (Cal. Ct. App. 1991).published
- Allstate Ins. Co. v. King, 252 Cal. App. 2d 698 (Cal. Ct. App. 1967).published
- Gobind Enter. v. Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's London, No. F089149 (Cal. Ct. App. June 18, 2026).unpublished
60 Cal. 2d at 305 Insurer's need for prejudice to enforce policy conditions15 citing cases“an insurer may assert defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as a cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the insurer was substantially prejudiced thereby.”
- Travelers Indem. Co. of Connecticut v. Newlin, No. 3:20-cv-00765 (S.D. Cal. Sept. 14, 2020).(An insurer may assert 10 defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as a 11 cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the insurer was 12 substantially prejud…)
- Aerojet Rocketdyne, Inc. v. Global Aerospace, Inc., No. 2:17-cv-01515 (E.D. Cal. Sept. 23, 2019).(An 17 insurer may assert defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as 18 a cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the insurer was substantially 19 prejud…)
- Stephens & Stephens XII, LLC v. Fireman's Fund Ins., 231 Cal. App. 4th 1131 (Cal. Ct. App. 2014).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) The doctrine is ordinarily applied to “procedural” provisions, such as timely notice requirements, rather than substantive provisions, like a repair obligation.
- Abdelhamid v. Fire Ins. Exch., 182 Cal. App. 4th 990 (Cal. Ct. App. 2010).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Allstate Ins.
- Brizuela v. Calfarm Ins., 116 Cal. App. 4th 578 (Cal. Ct. App. 2004).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ] (Campbell).
- Scottsdale Ins. v. Essex Ins., 98 Cal. App. 4th 86 (Cal. Ct. App. 2002).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305-306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ], argues that it is not enough for Essex to prove Conrad’s failure to comply with the special endorsement condition but also must prove it was substantially prejudiced by…
- Int'l Ins. v. Am. Empire Surplus Lines Ins., 2 P.3d 1 (Cal. 2000).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ] [breach of cooperation clause]; Pryor, Comparative Fault and Insurance Bad Faith (1994) 72 Tex. L.Rev. 1505, 1522-1525 [discussing contract defenses].) The insured’s breach…
- Truck Ins. Exch. v. Unigard Ins., 79 Cal. App. 4th 966 (Cal. Ct. App. 2000).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305-307 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Northwestern Title Security Co. v. Flack (1970) 6 Cal.App.3d 134, 140-142 [ 85 Cal.Rptr. 693 ].) Finally, we come to the provision prohibiting an insured from making vo…
- McKee v. Nat'l Union Fire Ins., 15 Cal. App. 4th 282 (Cal. Ct. App. 1993).published Co. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Hall v. Travelers Ins.
- Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins., 12 Cal. App. 4th 715 (Cal. Ct. App. 1993).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305-307 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Select Ins.
Show 5 more citing cases
- Select Ins. v. Superior Court, 226 Cal. App. 3d 631 (Cal. Ct. App. 1990).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305-307 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) In Clemmer the insured shot and killed his employer.
- Downey Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. Ohio Cas. Ins., 189 Cal. App. 3d 1072 (Cal. Ct. App. 1987).published (Campbell v. Allstate Insurance Co. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) Further, having denied liability, Ohio waived any claim of noncompliance with the provisions.
- Gruenberg v. Aetna Ins., 510 P.2d 1032 (Cal. 1973).published Co. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Northwestern Title Security Co. v. Flack (1970) 6 Cal.App.3d 134, 141 [ 85 Cal.Rptr. 693 ], These cases hold that an insurer may not rely on the insured’s violation of a “c…
- Moe v. Transamerica Title Ins., 21 Cal. App. 3d 289 (Cal. Ct. App. 1971).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 305-307 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) Moreover, the facts of the case are such that prejudice could not possibly have resulted.
- State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Miller, 5 Cal. App. 3d 837 (Cal. Ct. App. 1970).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303, 305 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Hynding v. Home Acc. Ins.
60 Cal. 2d at 306 Showing prejudice for breach of notice clause13 citing cases“prejudice must be shown with respect to breach of a notice clause.”
- Everyday Disc., Inc. v. State Farm Gen. Ins. Co., No. 2:18-cv-00902 (C.D. Cal. Oct. 20, 2020).Co., 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 (1963).
- Everyday Disc., Inc. v. State Farm Gen. Ins. Co., No. 2:18-cv-00902 (C.D. Cal. Oct. 14, 2020).Co., 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 (1963).
- Lat v. Farmers New World Life Ins. Co., 29 Cal. App. 5th 191 (Cal. Ct. App. 2018).published Co., supra, 60 Cal.2d at p. 306), and prejudice is not presumed by delay alone (Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Ins.
- Safeco Ins. Co. of Am. v. Parks, 170 Cal. App. 4th 992 (Cal. Ct. App. 2009).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) “Prejudice is not presumed from delayed notice alone. [Citations.] The insurer must show actual prejudice, not the mere possibility of prejudice.” (Shell Oil Co. v. Winter…
- Doheny Park Terrace Home-owners Ass'n., Inc. v. Truck Ins. Exch., 132 Cal. App. 4th 1076 (Cal. Ct. App. 2005).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ] [even if notice first received after a judgment, an insurer must still show actual prejudice from the delay].) This is the so-called notice-prejudice rule.
- Rosen v. State Farm Gen. Ins., 70 P.3d 351 (Cal. 2003).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) The argument in favor of the Court of Appeal’s and the insured’s position takes the above principles as a point of departure.
- Helfand v. Nationall Union Fire Ins., 10 Cal. App. 4th 869 (Cal. Ct. App. 1992).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 L.Ed.2d 155 ].) This rule developed in the context of “occurrence” policies such as the automobile liability policy at issue in Campbell.
- Pac. Employers Ins. v. Superior Court, 221 Cal. App. 3d 1348 (Cal. Ct. App. 1990).published(automobile liability policy)
- Downey Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. Ohio Cas. Ins., 189 Cal. App. 3d 1072 (Cal. Ct. App. 1987).published (Campbell v. Allstate Insurance Co. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) Further, having denied liability, Ohio waived any claim of noncompliance with the provisions.
- Gruenberg v. Aetna Ins., 510 P.2d 1032 (Cal. 1973).published Co. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ]; Northwestern Title Security Co. v. Flack (1970) 6 Cal.App.3d 134, 141 [ 85 Cal.Rptr. 693 ], These cases hold that an insurer may not rely on the insured’s violation of a “c…
Show 3 more citing cases
- Belz v. Clarendon Am. Ins., 158 Cal. App. 4th 615 (Cal. Ct. App. 2007).published“[i]n each of those cases the court found that prejudice had been established by the facts proved and that it was therefore unnecessary to determine whether a showing of prejudice should be required”
- Jones v. St. Paul Travelers, 496 F. Supp. 2d 1079 (N.D. Cal. 2007).published (to excuse obligation to indemnify, insurer must show prejudice “with respect to breach of a notice clause)
- Viani v. Aetna Ins. Co., 501 P.2d 706 (Idaho 1972).published
384 P.2d at 157 Disapproving judicial presumption of prejudice in insurance cases9 citing casesAlthough it may be difficult for an insurer to prove prejudice in some situations, it ordinarily would be at least as difficult for the injured person to prove a lack of prejudice, which involves proof of a negative.
- Las Vegas Metro. Police Dep't v. Coregis Ins. Co., 256 P.3d 958 (Nev. 2011).published(Although it may be difficult for an insurer to prove prejudice in some situations, it ordinarily would be at least as difficult for the injured person to prove a lack of prejudice, which involves the proof of a negativ…)
- Coop. Fire Ins. v. White Caps, Inc., 694 A.2d 34 (Vt. 1997).published (Although it may be difficult for an insurer to prove prejudice in some situations, it ordinarily would be at least as difficult for the injured person to prove a lack of prejudice, which involves proof of a negative.)
- Pitzer Coll. v. Indian Harbor Ins. Co., 845 F.3d 993 (9th Cir. 2017).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303 , 32 Cal.Rptr, 827, 384 P.2d 155, 157 (1963).
- Serv. Mgmt. Sys., Inc. v. Steadfast Ins., 216 F. App'x 662 (9th Cir. 2007).unpublished(rejecting a presumption of prejudice as against the “public policy of this state to provide compensation for” the insured)
- Alcazar v. Hayes, 982 S.W.2d 845 (Tenn. 1998).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303 , 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155, 157 (Cal.1963); 32 A.L.R. 4th § 5.
- Cincinnati Ins. v. Irvin, 19 F. Supp. 2d 906 (S.D. Ind. 1998).published(rejecting presumption of prejudice where insured fails to cooperate)
- Mt. Hawley Ins. v. Fed. Sav. & Loan Ins., 695 F. Supp. 469 (C.D. Cal. 1987).publishedCo., 60 Cal.2d 303, 307 , 32 Cal.Rptr. 827, 829 , 384 P.2d 155, 157 (1963).
- Farley v. Farmers Ins. Exch., 415 P.2d 680 (Idaho 1966).published The presumption would not be in keeping with the public policy of this state to provide compensation for those negligently injured in automobile accidents through no fault of their own [citations], and we are of the view that a judicially…
- Hendrix v. Jones, 580 S.W.2d 740 (Mo. 1979).published
60 Cal. 2d at 307 Disapproving judicial presumption of prejudice from cooperation clause breach1 citing case“although it may be difficult for the insurer to prove prejudice in some situations, it ordinarily would be at least as difficult for the injured person to prove a lack of prejudice, which involves proof of a negative.”
- Fireman's Fund Ins. v. Maryland Cas. Co., 65 Cal. App. 4th 1279 (Cal. Ct. App. 1998).publishedCo. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303, 307 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ].) The references to subrogation in each of these opinions are actually dicta unnecessary to the decisions in the cases themselves, which in fact turn on classic principles o…
32 Cal. Rptr. at 828 cited at this page1 citing case
- Ins. Co. of the State of Pennsylvania v. Associated Int'l Ins. Co., 922 F.2d 516 (9th Cir. 1991).published Co., 60 Cal.2d 303, 305-06 , 384 P.2d 155, 156-57 , 32 Cal.Rptr. 827, 828-29 (1963); see Clemmer v. Hartford Ins.
32 Cal. Rptr. at 829 Supporting public policy for no-fault automobile accident compensation1 citing case
- Farley v. Farmers Ins. Exch., 415 P.2d 680 (Idaho 1966).published The presumption would not be in keeping with the public policy of this state to provide compensation for those negligently injured in automobile accidents through no fault of their own [citations], and we are of the view that a judicially…
Other citing cases
- Chowning, No. 2:22-cv-00798 (D. Nev. Nov. 4, 2025).
- Martinez v. Infinity Ins., 714 F. Supp. 2d 1057 (C.D. Cal. 2010).published
- Fox ex rel. Fox v. Nat'l Sav. Ins. Co., 424 P.2d 19 (Okla. 1967).published
- Johnson v. Doughty, 385 P.2d 760 (Or. 1963).published
v.
ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant and Respondent
Plaintiffs brought this action to compel defendant insurer to pay a default judgment they had obtained against its insured, Marvin Hammer. The court, sitting without a jury, denied recovery, and plaintiffs have appealed.
In November 1954 plaintiffs stopped their automobile at a stoplight and were struck from the rear by an automobile driven by Hammer. The police report of the accident states that Hammer was cited for following too closely and for driving with an expired license, that he admitted he had been drinking, and that he refused to give a written statement. He told plaintiffs that he was insured and that “everything would be taken care of.”
On the day of the accident Hammer notified defendant by telegram that he had been involved in a collision and that his car had been towed to a certain garage. The telegram contained Hammer’s address and policy number, and defendant thereafter tried to contact him at his home and business addresses without success. Messages for him were left with his daughter and estranged wife, but he did not reply. Defendant wrote Hammer two letters stating that a serious personal injury had resulted from the accident, that under a cooperation clause in the policy he was required to give defendant a statement as to his version of the accident, and that[*305] defendant was not waiving any of its rights under the policy. The first letter was apparently returned to defendant. Defendant got a signed return receipt for the second letter, but Hammer did not reply.
Plaintiffs filed an action against Hammer for damages resulting from injuries sustained in the accident and notified defendant. They, too, had difficulty in locating Hammer, and their investigation indicated that he had left the state and resided for short periods in Oregon and Illinois. In 1958 plaintiffs learned that Hammer had returned to California and by a “fortuitous circumstance” located him in Salinas. He was served with process in March of that year, and plaintiffs forwarded a copy of the summons and complaint to defendant. Hammer did not communicate with defendant or answer the complaint, and a default judgment was secured which awarded damages of $33,329.91 to one of the plaintiffs and $2,500 to the other.
The policy, under which the insurance for liability to any one person is limited to $10,000, provides that in the event of an accident written notice containing all particulars shall be given “by or for the insured” to defendant as soon as practicable, that, if claim is made or suit is brought against the insured, he shall forward the summons, and that the insured shall cooperate with defendant, disclosing all pertinent facts, and upon defendant’s request shall assist in effecting settlements, securing and giving evidence, obtaining the attendance of witnesses, and conducting suits. The policy also provides that no action will lie against defendant until all of its terms are complied with. These provisions are made conditions of the coverage for personal injury and property damage liability.
The evidence is clearly sufficient to support the finding of the trial court that Hammer breached the contract of insurance by failing to cooperate with defendant. Plaintiffs contend, however, that the record does not support the further finding that defendant was prejudiced by the breach.
The right of an injured party to sue an insurer on the policy after obtaining judgment against the. insured is established by statute. (Ins. Code, § 11580.) An insurer may assert defenses based upon a breach by the insured of a condition of the policy such as a cooperation clause, but the breach cannot be a valid defense unless the insurer was substantially prejudiced thereby. (Hynding v. Home Acc. Ins. Co. (1932) 214 Cal. 743, 746 et seq. [7 P.2d 999, 85 A.L.R.[*306] 13]; Wormington v. Associated Indem. Corp., 13 Cal.App.2d 321, 325 [56 P.2d 1254] ; Norton v. Central Surety & Ins. Co., 9 Cal.App.2d 598, 601 [51 P.2d 113]; Panhans v. Associated Indemnity Corp., 8 Cal.App.2d 532, 533 et seq. [47 P.2d 791] ; see Jensen v. Eureka Casualty Co., 10 Cal.App.2d 706, 708 [52 P.2d 540] ; 29A Am.Jur. 584.) Similarly, it has been held that prejudice must be shown with respect to breach of a notice clause. (Abrams v. American Fidelity & Cas. Co., 32 Cal.2d 233, 237, 239 [195 P.2d 797]; Reed v. Pacific Indemnity Co., 101 Cal.App.2d 151, 161 [225 P.2d 255]; Gibson v. Colonial Ins. Co., 92 Cal.App.2d 33, 35-36 [206 P.2d 387] ; see National Auto. & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Brown, 197 Cal.App.2d 605, 608 [17 Cal.Rptr. 347].) We are satisfied that the requirement of prejudice set forth in these decisions is proper. The eases of Valladao v. Fireman’s Fund Indem. Co., 13 Cal.2d 322, 331 [89 P.2d 643], and Purefoy v. Pacific Automobile Indem. Exchange, 5 Cal.2d 81, 87 [53 P.2d 155], relied upon by defendant, are not contrary to the views expressed herein. In each of those eases the court found that prejudice had been established by the facts proved and that it was therefore unnecessary to determine whether a showing of prejudice should be required.
The burden of proving that a breach of a cooperation clause resulted in prejudice is on the insurer. (Norton v. Central Surety & Ins. Co., 9 Cal.App.2d 598, 601 [51 P.2d 113]; Panhans v. Associated Indemnity Corp., 8 Cal.App.2d 532, 533-535 [47 P.2d 791] ; Griffin v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York (5th Cir.) 273 F.2d 45, 48; Western Casualty & Surety Co. v. Weimar (9th Cir.) 96 F.2d 635, 636; Jameson v. Farmers Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., 181 Kan. 120 [309 P.2d 394, 400]; Allen v. Cheatum, 351 Mich. 585 [88 N.W.2d 306, 311]; see 29A Am.Jur. 584; Note 60 A.L.R.2d 1146, 1154.) The only evidence introduced by defendant to show prejudice was the testimony of defendant’s regional claim manager that a report by the insured is required to guard against false claims, verify that there has been an accident, and determine liability. Defendant had access to the police report and also knew the location of Hammer’s automobile. This gave defendant sufficient opportunity to verify that there had been an accident. The facts indicate that plaintiffs were innocent of fault, that Hammer was negligent, and that defendant would have been liable on its policy even if Hammer had cooperated with it. The evidence is not sufficient to show prejudice and the finding that defendant[*307] was prejudiced is without support unless, as urged by defendant, a presumption of prejudice arises from a violation of the cooperation clause.
In reaching its decision, the trial court properly determined that it was bound by Margellini v. Pacific Automobile Ins. Co., 33 Cal.App.2d 93, 99-100 [91 P.2d 136], where it was reasoned that prejudice “must be presumed” as a matter of law from the breach of a cooperation clause by conduct similar to that involved here. We have concluded, however, that this reasoning is unsound and that Margellini should be disapproved. No statutory basis for the presumption of prejudice has been cited or found, and presumptions should not be created judicially unless there are compelling reasons for doing so. Although it may be difficult for an insurer to prove prejudice in some situations, it ordinarily would be at least as difficult for the injured person to prove a lack of prejudice, which involves proof of a negative. The presumption would not be in keeping with the public policy of this state to provide compensation for those negligently injured in automobile accidents through no fault of their own (Inter-insurance Exchange v. Ohio Cas. Ins. Co., 58 Cal.2d 142, 153-154 [23 Cal.Rptr. 592, 373 P.2d 640] ; Wildman v. Government Employees Ins. Co., 48 Cal.2d 31, 39 [307 P.2d 359]), and we are of the view that a judicially created presumption of prejudice, whether conclusive or rebuttable, is unwarranted (in accord: Allen v. Cheatum, supra, 351 Mich. 585 [88 N.W. 2d 306, 311-312]).
Margellini v. Pacific Automobile Ins. Co., 33 Cal.App.2d 93, is disapproved insofar as it is inconsistent with the views we have expressed regarding the impropriety of a presumption of prejudice. Statements contrary to our views appearing in Wasson v. Atlantic National Ins. Co., 207 Cal.App.2d 464, 467 [24 Cal.Rptr. 665], National Auto. & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Brown, 197 Cal.App.2d 605, 609-610 [17 Cal.Rptr. 347], Security Ins. Co. v. Snyder-Lynch Motors, Inc., 183 Cal.App.2d 574, 581 [7 Cal.Rptr. 28], and Gibson v. Colonial Ins. Co., 92 Cal.App.2d 33, 36 [206 P.2d 387], are also disapproved.
The judgment is reversed.
Traynor, J., Schauer, J., McComb, J., Peters, J., Tobriner, J., and Peek, J., concurred.