An insured may recover consequential damages in a tort action if the insurer acts with bad faith or unreasonable conduct when processing a claim.
An insured whose stolen vehicle was damaged filed a claim with the insurer, which refused full payment, causing significant repair delays. The insured sued for breach of contract and bad faith refusal to pay first-party benefits. The court addresses whether South Carolina recognizes a tort action for an insurer’s bad faith handling of first-party claims. Applying the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, the court holds that an insured may recover consequential damages in a tort action if the insurer acts in bad faith or unreasonably. Actual damages are not limited by the contract, and punitive damages are available for willful or reckless conduct. The court affirms the jury’s verdict on the tort claim but vacates the award of attorneys' fees because the statutory provision applies only to contract actions.
306 S.E.2d at 619 Insured's right to recover for insurer bad faith40 citing casescourt recognized bad faith action in processing of first party benefits, holding “if an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort action
- Auto-Owners Ins. Co. v. Bank, 624 F. Supp. 3d 603 (D.S.C. 2022).published Co., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983) (superseded by statute on other grounds)).
- Therese Hood v. USAA, No. 2019-001943 (S.C. Ct. App. Jan. 11, 2023).unpublished ([I]f an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort action.)
- Jeffrey Smith v. Allstate Indem. Co., No. 1:25-cv-12228 (D.S.C. July 23, 2026).(recognizing cause of action based on “bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim)
- Schlosser, No. 2:25-cv-10641 (D.S.C. July 13, 2026).Co., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1983)).
- Universal North Am. Ins. Co. v. Shuler, No. 2:23-cv-05713 (D.S.C. Sept. 30, 2025).(re-affirming that a cause of action exists for an insured that “can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim)
- Therese Hood v. USAA, No. 2023-000423 (S.C. Jan. 8, 2025).published Ins., 279 S.C. 336, 340 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- JW Aluminum Co. v. ACE Am. Ins. Co., 707 F. Supp. 3d 545 (D.S.C. 2023).publishedCo., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1996)) (emphasis in original).
- Portrait Homes v. Pennsylvania Nat'l Mut., 900 S.E.2d 245 (S.C. Ct. App. 2023).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336, 340 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Metanoia v. XL Ins. Am. Inc, No. 2:21-cv-01291 (D.S.C. Jan. 19, 2023).Co., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1983)) (emphasis in original).
- Snyder v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 634 F. Supp. 3d 252 (D.S.C. 2022).publishedCo., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1983).
Show 28 more citing cases
- Sanders v. Domingo, No. 3:21-cv-02415 (D.S.C. Jan. 18, 2022).(noting that “the public policy reasons for recognizing this cause of action are plentiful” and “an insured ordinarily possesses no bargaining power and no means of protecting himself” against unfair action by an insuran…)
- ContraVest Inc v. Mt Hawley Ins. Co., No. 9:15-cv-00304 (D.S.C. July 27, 2020).Co., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1983).
- Hicklin v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co., No. 5:17-cv-03463, 2020 WL 1244631 (D.S.C. Mar. 13, 2020).Co., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1983)).
- Mt. Hawley Ins. Co. v. Contravest Constr., 829 S.E.2d 707 (S.C. 2019).publishedNichols , 279 S.C. at 340 , 306 S.E.2d at 619 (internal citations omitted) (internal quotation and alteration marks omitted).
- Wickersham v. Ford Motor Co., 194 F. Supp. 3d 434 (D.S.C. 2016).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983)).
- Nancy Wactor v. Jackson Nat'l Life Ins. Co., 604 F. App'x 220 (4th Cir. 2015).unpublishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983). 5 .
- Liberty Mut. Fire Ins. v. JT Walker Indus., Inc., 554 F. App'x 176 (4th Cir. 2014).unpublished Co., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Calvin Collins v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 438 F. App'x 247 (4th Cir. 2011).unpublishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Collins v. Auto-owners Ins. Co., 759 F. Supp. 2d 728 (D.S.C. 2010).published Co., 279 S.C. 336, 340 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Snyder v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins., 586 F. Supp. 2d 453 (D.S.C. 2008).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336, 340 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Halmon v. Am. Intern. Grp., Inc., 586 F. Supp. 2d 401 (D.S.C. 2007).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336, 340 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Jimmy Myrick v. Prime Ins. Syndicate, Inc., 395 F.3d 485 (4th Cir. 2005).published Co., 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (S.C. 1983).
- Univ. Med. Assocs. of the Med. Univ. of South Carolina v. UNUMProvident Corp., 335 F. Supp. 2d 702 (D.S.C. 2004).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Univ. Med. Assocs. of the Med. Univ. of South Carolina v. UNUMProvident Corp., 333 F. Supp. 2d 479 (D.S.C. 2004).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Fabri v. Hartford, 69 F. App'x 187 (4th Cir. 2003).unpublishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983). 1 To establish such a claim, a plaintiff must prove that “there was no reasonable basis to support the *190 decision of the insurance company.” Varnadore v. Nationwide Mut.
- Collins Music v. Lambrou, No. 2003-UP-460 (S.C. Ct. App. July 8, 2003).unpublished(holding the circuit court acted properly by reforming the verdict and striking the damages award for one cause of action to avoid a double recovery)
- Peterson ex rel. Walker v. West Am. Ins., 518 S.E.2d 608 (S.C. Ct. App. 1999).published(court recognized bad faith action in processing of first party benefits, holding “if an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insuranc…)
- Kleckley v. Nw. Nat'l Cas. Co., 498 S.E.2d 669 (S.C. Ct. App. 1998).publishedId. at 340 , 306 S.E.2d at 619 (emphasis added).
- Tadlock Painting Co. v. Maryland Cas. Co., 473 S.E.2d 52 (S.C. 1996).published We further stated, "We hold today that if an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort acti…
- Roberts v. Am. Gen., No. 94-2565 (4th Cir. Apr. 17, 1996).unpublishedNichols v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 276 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Loyd Tony Roberts v. Am. Gen. Prop. Ins. Co., 81 F.3d 151 (4th Cir. 1996).unpublishedFurther, if he can demonstrate the insurer's actions were willful or in reckless disregard of the insured's rights, he can recover punitive damages. 20 Nichols v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 276 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 6…
- Erika D. Cropf v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., Erika D. Cropf v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 918 F.2d 955 (4th Cir. 1990).unpublishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Inman v. Imperial Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 397 S.E.2d 774 (S.C. Ct. App. 1990).published “plaintiffs may only recover once for their actual damages”
- State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Douglas C. Barton, State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Douglas C. Barton, 897 F.2d 729 (4th Cir. 1990).published Co., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Skinner v. Horace Mann Ins. Co., 369 F. Supp. 3d 649 (D.S.C. 2019).published(The cause of action we consider today and that which is commonly known as the 'Tyger River Doctrine,' are merely two different aspects of the same duty ." (emphasis added))
- Duncan v. Provident Mut. Life Ins., 427 S.E.2d 657 (S.C. 1993).published
- Am. Fire & Cas. Co. v. Johnson, 504 S.E.2d 356 (S.C. Ct. App. 1998).published
- Myers v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins., 950 F. Supp. 148 (D.S.C. 1997).published
306 S.E.2d at 618 Insurer's liability for unreasonable settlement refusal7 citing casesstating "an insurer's unreasonable refusal to settle within policy limits subjects the insurer to tort liability" (citing Tyger River Pine Co. v. Maryland Cas. Co., 170 S.C. 286, 290-91 , 170 S.E. 346, 348 (1933))
- Reeves v. South Carolina Mun. Ins., 862 S.E.2d 248 (S.C. 2021).published(stating "an insurer's unreasonable refusal to settle within policy limits subjects the insurer to tort liability" (citing Tyger River Pine Co. v. Maryland Cas. Co., 170 S.C. 286, 290-91 , 170 S.E. 346, 348 (1933)))
- Sentry Select Ins. Co. v. Maybank Law Firm LLC, No. 5:15-cv-04984 (D.S.C. Sept. 5, 2020).Feb. 26, 2019) (quoting Nichols v. State Farm, 306 S.E.2d 616, 618 (S.C. 1983)). 3 Similarly to the insurance policy discussed above, there does not appear to be any specific document establishing the existence of the settlement in the rec…
- Liberty Mut. Fire Ins. v. JT Walker Indus., Inc., 554 F. App'x 176 (4th Cir. 2014).unpublished Co., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Episcopal Church v. Church Ins., 993 F. Supp. 2d 581 (D.S.C. 2014).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 618 (1983).
- Charleston Dry Cleaners & Laundry, Inc. v. Zurich Am. Ins., 586 S.E.2d 586 (S.C. 2003).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616 *618 (1983), 2 this duty of good faith arising under the contract does not extend to a person who is not a party to the insurance contract.
- Mid-South Ins. v. Doe, 274 F. Supp. 2d 757 (D.S.C. 2003).publishedCo., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 618 (1983)).
- Snider v. Nautical Mgmt. Reciprocal Insurers, 946 F.2d 886 (4th Cir. 1991).unpublishedCo., 306 S.E.2d 616, 618-19 (S.C.1983).
306 S.E.2d at 620 Determining bad faith in policy nonrenewal actions4 citing casesexplaining that the finder of fact may consider negligence of the insurance company as part of a bad faith claim
- Therese Hood v. USAA, No. 2023-000423 (S.C. Jan. 8, 2025).published Ins., 279 S.C. 336, 340 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 619 (1983).
- Jacobs v. Zurich Am. Ins. Co., No. 5:21-cv-02617 (D.S.C. Nov. 15, 2022).(explaining that the finder of fact may consider negligence of the insurance company as part of a bad faith claim)
- Tadlock Painting Co. v. Maryland Cas. Co., 473 S.E.2d 52 (S.C. 1996).published We further stated, "We hold today that if an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort acti…
- Opperman v. Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins., 515 So. 2d 263 (Fla. 5th DCA 1987).published See also Nichols v. State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co., 279 S.C. 336 , 306 S.E.2d 616, 620 (1983) (in bad faith action, issue is not whether insurance company has a right to refuse to renew policy, but whether nonrenewal showed bad faith…
279 S.C. at 340 “if an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort action.”2 citing cases
- Therese Hood v. USAA, No. 2019-001943 (S.C. Ct. App. Jan. 11, 2023).unpublished “[I]f an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort action.”
- Best Place, Inc. v. Penn Am. Ins. Co., 920 P.2d 334 (Haw. 1996).published ([I]f an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he [or she] can recover consequential damages in a tort action.)
279 S.C. at 342 “under our view of the bad faith cause of action, above stated, the jury is entitled to consider negligence on the issue of unreasonable refusal to pay benefits.”1 citing case
- Givens v. Erie Ins. Grp., No. 6:22-cv-00842 (D.S.C. July 14, 2022).
Other citing cases
- Boldt Co. v. Thomason Elec., 820 F. Supp. 2d 703 (D.S.C. 2007).published
- Crossley v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins., 415 S.E.2d 393 (S.C. 1992).published
- Powell v. Ins. Co. of North Am., 330 S.E.2d 550 (S.C. Ct. App. 1985).published
- Harper v. Ethridge, 348 S.E.2d 374 (S.C. Ct. App. 1986).published
v.
STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY, Appellant
This is a tort action for bad faith refusal to pay first party benefits under an insurance policy. The jury awarded Nichols (Respondent) ten thousand ($10,000.00) dollars actual damages and ten thousand ($10,000.00) dollars punitive damages. We affirm.
Resondent’s 1969 Chevrolet Corvette automobile was stolen from a parking lot. When the car was recovered it had sustained substantial damage to the exterior and to its high performance engine. The car was insured against theft loss[*339] through appellant State Farm (Insurer). Respondent filed claims for reimbursement of repair costs with his insurance carrier and Insurer refused to pay the full claim. Respondent then brought suit alleging two causes of action; the first for breach of contract and the second for bad faith refusal to pay first party benefits. Respondent further alleged that actions of the Insurer caused delays in having the car repaired for over seven (7) months. A jury returned verdicts in favor of Respondent on both causes of action.
Insurer moved to have the verdict reformed. Reasoning that actual damages were the same under both causes of action, and that Respondent was not entitled to double recovery of his actual damages, the trial judge struck the damages under the first cause of action and sustained the jury’s verdict as to the second. Insurer appeals alleging several grounds of error.
The first issue raised is whether this State should recognize an action for bad faith in an insurer’s handling of a claim for first party benefits. This cause of action was first recognized in Gruenberg v. Aetna Insurance Co., 9 Cal. (3d) 566, 108 Cal. Rptr. 480, 510 P. (2d) 1032 (1973) and has since been adopted in over twenty-five states.
The Gruenberg decision is premised on an implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing that neither party will do anything to impair the other’s rights to receive benefits under the contract. Breach of this duty by an insurer’s bad faith refusal to settle the claims of its insured renders the insurer liable in tort for all consequential damages; actual damages are not limited by the contract. See also, Robertsen v. State Farm, 464 F. Supp. 876, 879 (D.C.S.C. 1979); and Trimper v. Nationwide Ins. Co., 540 F. Supp. 1188 (D.C.S.C. 1982).
While we have never ruled on this precise question, we held in Tyger River Pine Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co., 170 S. C. 286, 170 S. E. 346 (1933) that an insurer’s unreasonable refusal to settle within policy limits subjects the insurer to tort liability. We have held also that unreasonable refusal on the insurer’s part to accept an offer of compromise settlement will render it liable in tort to the insured for the amount of the judgment against the insured in excess of policy limits. Miles v. State Farm Mutual Ins. Co., 238 S. C. 374, 120 S. E. (2d) 217 (1961). The cause of action we consider today and that which is[*340] commonly known as the “Tyger River Doctrine”, are merely two different aspects of the same duty.
The public policy reasons for recognizing this cause of action are plentiful. The insurance business is affected with a public interest. Hinds v. United Ins. Co. of America, 248 S. C. 285, 149 S. E. (2d) 771 (1966). An insured ordinarily possesses no bargaining power and no means of protecting himself from the kind of treatment of which Respondent complained. “An insured does not contract to obtain any kind of commercial advantage or leverage but only to protect himself against the spectre of accidental [or unavoidable] loss.” Trimper v. Nationwide Ins. Co., 540 F. Supp. 1188, 1193 (D.C.S.C. 1982.)
Absent the threat of a tort action, the insurance company can, with complete impunity, deny any claim they wish, whether vaild or not. During the ensuing period of litigation following such a denial, the insurance company has the benefit of profiting on the use of the insured’s money. Heretofore, the only compensation a successful insured could expect through litigation was the belated payment of his claim and the possibility of recovering attorney fees up to two thousand five hundred ($2,500.00) dollars. See, S. C. Code Ann. § 39-9-320 (1976).
We hold today that if an insured can demonstrate bad faith or unreasonable action by the insurer in processing a claim under their mutually binding insurance contract, he can recover consequential damages in a tort action. Actual damages are not limited by the contract. Further, if he can demonstrate the insurer’s actions were willful or in reckless disregard of the insured’s rights, he can recover punitive damages.
Insurer next argues that even if a tort action exists, the only reasonable inference from the evidence is that the insurance company did not act in bad faith. We have reviewed the record and find that sufficient conflicting evidence was presented to create a jury issue. We therefore rule that the trial judge properly denied Insurer’s direct verdict motion.
Next, Insurer asserts the trial judge erred in failing to require Respondent to elect between his tort and contract causes of action. This exception is without merit. In Respondent’s suit for breach of contract he must only show[*341] that his claim is valid. In the tort action, Respondent must show bad faith or unreasonable conduct. Therefore, the jury could have found for Respondent on the contract and in favor of the Insurer in tort. Where a jury finds in favor of plaintiff on both causes of action as here, the verdict then must be reformed as plaintiffs may only recover once for their actual damages. The trial judge acted properly in presenting both causes of action to the jury and in striking the damages portion of the contract cause of action.
Insurer next argues the trial judge abused his discretion in ordering the parties to proceed to trial, despite the pendency of an appeal from an order overruling Insurer’s demurrer to the tort action.
First, S. C. Code Ann. § 18-9-220 (1976) gives the trial judge discretion to order the parties to proceed to trial if he finds it will serve the ends of justice. Second, the trial judge was justified in overruling the demurrer based on this court’s ruling in Vaden v. College Heights Subdivision, 261 S. C. 509, 201 S. E. (2d) 113 (1973) (holding that questions of novel impression should not be decided on demurrer) and Baldwin v. Sanders, 266 S. C. 394, 223 S. E. (2d) 602 (1976) (following Vaden and additionally holding that a complaint is sufficient if it states any cause of action or when the plaintiff is entitled to any relief whatever).
Additionally, if the judge had not ordered the parties to proceed on the tort action, the contract action could still have been tried. To obtain the statutory attorney’s fees, Respondent would have to prove bad faith or refusal to pay without reasonable cause, the same set of facts required for the tort action. By ordering the parties to proceed to trial on all causes of action, the trial judge avoided the administrative waste of a second trial and the possibility of two appeals involving the same parties and the same facts. This was a proper exercise of discretion under § 18-9-220.
Next, Insurer alleges the trial judge erred in failing to charge the j ury that “if the action of a party was within its legal rights, such action cannot.be a legal wrong, and cannot be the basis of an action for damages.”
Insurer states in their brief that this charge “related to the entire matter of bad faith, but had particular reference to [respondent’s] claim that [Insurer] committed bad faith by[*342] notifying the [respondent’s] homeowners insurance company, State Farm Fire and Casualty Insurance Company, that [respondent] had a possible claim pending for theft coverage under his automobile policy.” Insurer then argues that State Farm Fire and Casualty Insurance Company was within its legal rights in failing to renew Respondent’s policy. However, whether the company had the right to renew the policy was not in issue; rather, the issue was whether the non-renewal showed bad faith. This exception is overruled.
Insurer next argues the trial judge erred in instructing the jury that an insured can recover in a “bad faith” cause of action for negligence of the insurer in handling the claim. Under our view of the bad faith cause of action, above stated, the jury is entitled to consider negligence on the issue of unreasonable refusal to pay benefits. See generally, Tyger River Pine Co., supra; and Robertsen, supra.
Next, appellant contends the trial judge erred in failing to strike punitive damages. This exception is contingent on the disposition of the first exception. Since we have chosen to recognize the tort cause of action, this exception is accordingly overruled.
Finally, Insurer argues the trial judge erred in awarding attorneys’ fees under S. C. Code Ann. § 38-9-320(1) (1976). This section provides:
“In the event of a claim... which is covered by a policy of insurance... and the refusal of the insurer... to pay such claim ... and a finding on suit of such contract made by the trial judge ... that such refusal was without reasonable cause or in bad faith, the insurer... shall be liable to pay ... attorneys’ fees.” (Emphasis added.)
We hold that this provision applies only to a breach of contract cause of action and is therefore inapplicable to a tort action. Since the contract action was, in effect, vacated, the award of attorneys’ fees should have been vacated with it and we so hold.
The verdict of the lower court is affirmed with the exception that the award of attorneys’ fees is vacated.
Lewis, C. J., and Ness, Gregory and Harwell, JJ., concur.