Nebraska Revised Statutes

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-496 (2026)

Violation of law; revocation of operator's license; duties of director and Nebraska State Patrol

✓ text as last checked Oct. 2026 (this copy records no edition or section history)
Find cases: SyfertCases citing this section NE-LEGnebraskalegislature.gov JustiaChapter on Justia CornellLII Search CasesGoogle Scholar

Upon conviction of any person in any court within this state of any violation of (1) any law of this state pertaining to the operation of motor vehicles or (2) any city or village ordinance pertaining to the operation of a motor vehicle in such a manner as to endanger life, limb, or property, except for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic liquor or any drug, the judge of such court may, in his or her discretion, order the revocation of the operator's license of such convicted person to operate a motor vehicle for any purpose for a period of time not less than ten days nor more than one year, unless a greater period of revocation is made mandatory by other provisions of law, or may impound the license for a period of not more than ninety days and order that such person not operate a motor vehicle during the period such license is impounded. Such judge shall immediately notify in detail the director of the action and findings of the court as provided for in sections 60-497.01 to 60-497.04. If the judgment of conviction provides for the revocation of the person's operator's license, the director shall immediately revoke the license and make available to the Superintendent of Law Enforcement and Public Safety an updated record of such revocation. It shall then be the duty of the Nebraska State Patrol to enforce the conditions of such revocation recited in any judgment of conviction.

Notes of Decisions
Cited in 4 cases, 1991–2020 · leading case: State v. Green, 471 N.W.2d 402 (Neb. 1991).
State v. Green, 471 N.W.2d 402 (Neb. 1991). · cites it 2× “§ 60-427 (Reissue 1988) (now codified at Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-496 (Cum. Supp. 1990)), which provides that a court may, in its discretion, suspend for not less than 10 days nor more than 1 year the driver’s license of a defendant convicted of certain motor vehicle violations.”
State v. Hisey, 723 N.W.2d 99 (Neb. Ct. App. 2006). · cites it 2× “” Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-496 (Reissue 2004). Another states that a peace officer may revoke a party’s operator’s license for refusal to submit to a chemical test to determine whether the party is under the influence of alcohol or for a positive test of being under the influence of…”
State v. Planck, 856 N.W.2d 112 (Neb. 2014). · cites it 2× “12 Here, the county court determined that the evidence did not warrant an instruction on entrapment by estoppel and the district court agreed.”
State v. Eaton, No. A-19-796 (Neb. Ct. App. Aug. 11, 2020). · cites it 2× “Also, Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-496 (Reissue 2010) authorizes the revocation of a motor vehicle operator’s license for up to 1 year based on a conviction of a violation of any Nebraska law pertaining to the operation of motor vehicles.”
Annotations are extracted automatically from the opinions in the Syfert caselaw corpus and ranked by authority, recency, and treatment. Dots show Syfertize treatment of the citing case itself.