Virginia Code

Va. Code Ann. § 46.2-653 (2026)

Temporary registration or permit for transportation of manufactured homes exceeding the size permitted by law

✓ laws through the 2026 session (checked Sept. 2026)
Find cases: SyfertCases citing this section VA-LISlaw.lis.virginia.gov JustiaTitle on Justia CornellLII Search CasesGoogle Scholar

The Commissioner may grant a temporary registration or permit for the transportation of manufactured homes, which exceed the size permitted by law, on the highways in the Commonwealth from one point to another within the Commonwealth, or from the Commonwealth to a point or points outside the Commonwealth, or from outside the Commonwealth to a point or points within the Commonwealth. Such temporary registration or permit shall show the registration or permit number, the date of issue, the date of expiration, and the route to be traveled or other restrictions and shall be displayed in a prominent place on the vehicle. The owner of every manufactured home of this sort purchased in the Commonwealth for use within the Commonwealth or brought into the Commonwealth for use within the Commonwealth shall apply within 30 days to the Department for title in the name of the owner. This requirement shall not apply to inventory held by licensed Virginia dealers for the purpose of resale.

The authorities in cities and towns regulating the movement of traffic may prescribe the route or routes over which these manufactured homes may be transported, and no manufactured home of this sort shall be transported through any city or town except along a prescribed route or routes.

For each temporary single-trip registration or permit issued hereunder, the applicant shall pay a fee of $1, in addition to any administrative fee required by the Department. In lieu of a single-trip permit, an annual multi-trip permit may be issued for a fee of $40, in addition to any administrative fee required by the Department.

No permit, as provided in this section, shall be issued covering any manufactured home that is subject to a license plate.

Code 1950, § 46-44.1; 1956, c. 85; 1958, c. 541, § 46.1-44; 1973, c. 207; 1977, c. 587; 1989, c. 727; 1997, c. 283; 1999, c. 77; 2003, c. 314; 2006, c. 202; 2008, c. 178; 2014, c. 624.

Notes of Decisions
Cited in 4 cases, 1999–2013 · leading case: Forster v. Hall, 576 S.E.2d 746 (Va. 2003).
Forster v. Hall, 576 S.E.2d 746 (Va. 2003). · cites it 2× “See Code § 46.2-653; former Code § 46.1-44 (referenced by the chancellor and effective at time the subdivision was created).”
Altegra Credit Co. v. Banks (In re Banks), 259 B.R. 848 (Bankr. E.D. Va. 2001). · cites it 7× “Va.Code § 46.2-653 (emphasis added). Without a certificate of title, the owner may not legally transport the mobile home on highways of the Commonwealth.”
McConnell v. Ware, 89 Va. Cir. 501 (Amherst Cir. Ct. 2013). · cites it 4× “Seawell could not testify that the motor vehicle title to the mobile home was returned to the Department of Motor Vehicles and cancelled as provided in Va. Code § 46.2-653. Alex McConnell acknowledged that he would have allowed Ms.”
Alford v. Vandevander, 49 Va. Cir. 65 (Augusta Cir. Ct. 1999). “By statute, § 46.2-653 of the Code of Virginia, the owner is required to apply within thirty days to the Division of Motor Vehicles for a title certificate in the name of the owner.”
Annotations are extracted automatically from the opinions in the Syfert caselaw corpus and ranked by authority, recency, and treatment. Dots show Syfertize treatment of the citing case itself.